We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge but AWFUL service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge Hostel
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The Alpine Lodge WOULD be a perfect place to stay in Whistler on a budget, it is a little ways out of the village but is easy to get to by bus. I was very excited to be staying there this past February until I met the owner. When my friend and I arrived at the Lodge the owner Jeff asked for identification and a method of payment, we were only staying for one night and so had already paid for our accommodation through the deposit he had taken. When we told him this he said he did not charge our credit card and that we were wrong since he is the sole operator of the lodge. We were able to bring up our credit card statement on an itouch and show him that he had indeed charged the card, he abruptly went into his office and began searching through his records for the charge. He wasn't able to find his record of charging the card and said to us he would refund us the charge and were not permitted to stay with him unless he found his record... we were absolutely shocked and had nothing to say... he did find it and abruptly told us we were in room 2 and to choose which ever 2 beds were not occupied. We felt so uncomfortable and unwelcome we put our things away and decided to head into the village and stayed away from the lodge until we returned to sleep, we left early the next morning.
I thought the lodge was beautiful but would never recommend the place to family or friends as I would never want someone to feel as uncomfortable as we did. Alpine Lodge is an open concept theme, as if you are staying in somebody's home, a place where you would want to feel completely comfortable to be walking around and leaving your things unattended (we had locks on our luggage).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineLodgeWhistler, General Manager at Alpine Lodge Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

I see this is a very old review, but I just thought I'd mention that we have an entirely new system installed and there is no longer 'booking' problems or payment problems. Payment were not supposed to be charged from online services, but occasionally they did charge the customer and never told us! That is well solved now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Lodge Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

What a lovely place to be in Whistler!
Very good location with just one bus away (bus stop right outside lodge) to Whistler Village. Super good value with a simple, but good continental breakfast included. Owner and staff gave an awesome service, they were ready to give tips on everything from good runs to restaurants. Common area includes a huge table for dining, many comfy couches, and a lovely REAL wood fireplace! Hot tub and steam room are also on site and so good after a long day of skiing.
It's by far the best and most comfortable lodge I've stayed in Whistler!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristoffer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 year old boy and we have such good memories. The resort was quiet and the owner was so hospitable, even bringing some of his childrens toys across from his home for our little boy to play with. I can't wait to save up so return to whistler so we can return to the lodge. There is a great cozy social area with a huge table and the lodge and it's location provided us with great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Hey ya'll,

Imagine sitting on a really comfy couch in front of a toasty warm fire watching a movie or just casually chatting with some fellow travelers over a beer or glass of wine.... Hellooo Alpine Lodge!

If you are looking for a great place to stay with a tone of facilities, a relaxed atmosphere and super friendly people, this is definitely the place to stay. A short 5 minute bus ride on the number 1 or 4 drops you at the door step.... The value for your money is incomparable to anything else in town. You can enjoy a hardy breakfast before you venture out for the day and return to a hot tub and steam room after a long day of skiing or boarding... The beds are super comfortable, everything is clean neat and tidy, there are plenty of games and books to keep you occupied or you can just enjoy a comical conversation with the owner who is well traveled, knowledgeable about the local area, speaks Japanese and is just an absolute hoot!

This place is a well kept secret!

Enjoy!

A traveler from Brisbane, Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brissyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We booked our stay on a recommendation from someone at the 2010 Olympics, knowing this was a cheap hosteling location.

The Alpine Lodge turned out to be such an incredible stay, its hard to decide where to start.

Pros;
1- The price was awesome for Whistler (~$60)
2- The owner, (previously?) Geoff Carr was knowledgeable, kind and actually hung out casually!
3- The staff, mostly Japanese, couldn't be more curtious
4- An INCREDIBLE 25 foot-long wooden table to sit at (True Lodge fashion!)
5- Common room Satellite TV provided
6- Breakfast was simple, but enough to get you to lunch time in the Village
7- Shopping in the Village for dinner and being able to self-cater is a cost effective plus!
8- Guests from around the world travel here, and with the common room setting, meeting and talking is great after a day of skiing
9- Geoff's dog is adorable (and huge!)
10- $2.00 bus ride into the village (or $11.00 cab), buses ran until 1:30am

Cons:
1- During our stay, only two stove burners worked
2- This is a hostel (Dormitory setting) privacy is limited unless you book an entire room.
3- More of non-family location, better suited for middle-aged group of friends.
4- Located outside the Village
5- The impressive wooden table is accompanied by wooden bench seating. This is no restaurant table, It is true lodge.
6- There is NO restaurant, nor am I aware of one near by. We spent our nights in the Whistler Village after returning 'home' to clean up. The buses are frequent to and from Town, see the Village info for full bus schedule details and assistance!
7- Cabs can be difficult to get at certain times during the day/night (Such as after lass call, or at the mountain shutdown time.

For anyone that is looking for an affordable location to stay, you cannot get much better than the Alpine Lodge. I was so impressed with Geoff and his traditional Lodge.

Room Tip: http://www.alpinelodge.com/rates.html
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OntarioCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My family and another stayed the weekend of June 4th. Couldn't have asked for a better accomodation. Great room and lots of space for 4 kids to spread out. A great deal in a pricey vacation destination.Thanks to Geoff and Staff!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank Ben154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed up here in May for some spring skiing. The skiing was phenomenal, it's amazing how long the snow lasts. The place is a quick bus/taxi/drive from the village. Service is great, staff speak english and japanese and are very friendly. Owner is great, looks after guests and gives great advice on which parts of the mountain are the best to go to. He is a long time local and knows his stuff. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is simple and a nice touch. Place has free wifi, coffee and a pretty reasonable jaccuzzi and steam room. Rooms are simple, comfortable and include a bathroom/shower.

We had a group of 8 and the place was just perfect for us, the shared dinning room table is gigantic, great for cooking big meals at night and having a few drinks. (the thing can probably seat 20) Relaxing atmosphere, other guests were from all over, other Canadians, plus Japanese, Germans, British, Australians, French. It was a real international flavor. Some of the Japanese skiers were actually pros in town to compete!

If you are looking for a fancy hotel, this probably won't be your thing, but I couldn't think of a better place for a group gettaway with my friends, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aottho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
3.8 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,931 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
2.4 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
2.4 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#18 of 49 in Whistler
654 reviews
5.9 mi away
HI-Whistler
HI-Whistler
#5 of 55 in Whistler
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Hostel

Address: 8135 Alpine Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range: £33 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Lodge Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Lodge offers all the amenities that one would expect of a true ski lodge. Situated on the edge of Whistler Village, Alpine Lodge boasts large, well appointed bedrooms - most with private bath and all with mountain views. Includes sauna area with steam bath, jetted Jacuzzi. Large dining area great for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing