We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hut”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge Hostel
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Perfect place to stay with friends for a ski holiday in Whistler. Jeff the owner personally greeted us and made sure everything was fine during our stay. He is a nice friendly guy. As I've never been in a lodge or hostel type place before it was a bit weard to leave my shoes at the main door and walk in socks or slippers in the whole house... But I got used to it - felt like home:-) - and the floor heating makes it nice and warm. It is ideally located about 5 mins drive from the busy and noisy Village. There is a bus stop as well nearby, never tried though, since a huge parking area next to Olympic Plaza is free. Takes only a couple of mins to walk to the Whistler and Blackcomb gondolas from here. You can leave your rental skis in a storage for free, so don't bother carrying them. Also rented a locker at the ski storage for 7 bucks a day to keep our shoes there and not to shuffle in ski boots from and back to the parking lot. The Lodge has a large communal room where you can eat, drink and/or meet and chat with all kind of lads from all around of the globe - if you're that kind of a person. Luckily they all obeyed to the rule and went quiet at 11pm. The breakfast is also served here: juice, tea&coffe, toast, butter, jam, boiled egg, which is a nice gesture to have included in the roomrate. You can additionally use the kitchen and put some more serious staff together, as well, just like we did so:-) Free wi-fi worked fine for us, could use Skype with no problem. Hot tub is really hot, have spent some quality time there after the day on the slope.

Tips: There's a place called Nesters half way to the Willage with a large supermarket other shops and a liqueur store with the widest beer selection I've ever seen. And a free professional tutorial on them is given by the clerks:-) The little bar on the corner of the Alpine way has an awesome burger on the menu called Mexican, served with salad and pan fries for something like 15 bucks.

I definitely recommend the Lodge for anyone who is looking for a reasonable priced excellent place with it's own athmosphere. If I'm ever back to Whistler, no question where to stay. Thanks Jeff!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petesza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

The lodge is clean and has very friendly staff. The lodge has a great common dinning area with large couches and a fire place. Alpine is about a 15min bus trip from the lifts at whistler and busses run quite regularly through the day. I would recommend a stay here for anyone looking for a hostel with a great relaxed vibe.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mitch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hostel is in a great location, peaceful and accessible. There is plenty of parking, and the hostel has a sauna and hot tub, and a great deck with a communal barbecue. Unfortunately the place is generally grimy, with the bathroom being the worst. There are areas (easily visible when standing at the sink) that look to have at least a few weeks if not months of dust accumulation. Having paid for the night and used the shower I will stay here tonight, but I will not be back and will not be recommending this place to others.

Room Tip: Private rooms might be better than the dorm rooms but I didn't see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countszero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I want to start by saying a big Thank you to Geoff. Superior service and did not feel like a hostel at all. The Jacuzzi and steam room were a really nice touch and very clean. The whole place was warm and cozy. The couches are so comfy you can't help but fall asleep even through an exciting hockey game! I would recommend this place to anyone. Why pay huge dollars in the village when you can get the same service and quality of amenities uncrowded for a fraction of the cost. Can't wait to stay there again soon. Thanks everyone for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isak_Meissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Jeff was very welcoming to our group. The common area was really comfortable, exactly what you need after a great day of skiing! Breakfast was good and simple and the price could not be beaten!! Thanks Jeff, you made our stay that much better!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cariley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I am so happy we stayed at the Alpine Lodge for its comfort, cleanliness, amenities and amazing staff. The owner and staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. We will definitely be back and look forward to enjoying Whistler, without having to worry about the quality of our accommodations. My favourite touches were the heated floors, steam room and wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AylinU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My guy and I had a wonderful stay at the Alpine Lodge. We were able to catch the bus right outside to get to Whistler Village... and dropped off on our door step on our way home. Rooms were clean and nice. Had our own on suite bathroom. Great stay!

Would recommend it! Good bang for your buck! Also had a nice soaker tub and sauna after a hard day of skiing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy_t04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,461 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,796 reviews
2.4 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
3.8 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,973 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Hostel

Address: 8135 Alpine Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range: £42 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Lodge Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Lodge offers all the amenities that one would expect of a true ski lodge. Situated on the edge of Whistler Village, Alpine Lodge boasts large, well appointed bedrooms - most with private bath and all with mountain views. Includes sauna area with steam bath, jetted Jacuzzi. Large dining area great for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing