We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad”
Review of Mountainside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountainside Lodge
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed with my wife and daughter for a week during Crankworks. Hotel location is awesome. Many shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk. The property itself is a little dated. My biggest issue was that the showers we incapable of maintaining a constant temperature. My whole family was burnt many times. I wouldn't recommend a loft suite if you have young children as the stairs are steep and the loft is open to below.

I would come back as the price was right and the location is excellent.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend a loft suite if you have young children as the stairs are steep and the lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJEclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainsideLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mountainside Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thanks for your review.

With regards to the hot water issue you encountered, we did experience some maintenance issues during your stay, which have been addressed. I'm sorry that they impacted your stay.

I'm glad you appreciated our central location, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back! Please contact us to book a One Bedroom Deluxe unit, as these are all on one level and would be ideal for your daughter.

Best regards,
Adam Gordon - Guest Services Manager
adam.gordon@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    154
    56
    17
    20
See reviews for
89
138
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I'm not usually one to complain about accommodations but I was really displeased with this hotel. I booked it through the Peak 2 Peak website as I did a package with the gondola tickets and chose the cheaper option as we were on a budget (which is fine) the location is ideal however....

The hotel itself seems dated it defiantly needs a facelift. Our room was on the 1st floor facing the Keg Restaurant at the adjacent hotel. Being a first time visitor to Whistler I was unaware that Brandy's (a restaurant under the Keg) turns into a night club and the amount of noise that comes with it is really disturbing, wanting to keep the windows open for fresh mountain air was impossible at night. Also due to the bushes planted outside our room we didn't have a view of the mountains at all....The AC and Fireplace are pretty difficult to understand....the instructions were apparently in the guest hand book which was not provided in our room.

Our room had a murphy bed which was surprisingly comfortable...but not ideal. There was a full kitchen and dining table which was nice and would have been useful if we had been staying longer than 2 nights. Also daily housekeeping is available at a charge which was not explained to us at check-in. Apparently the rooms are cleaned ever 4 days which to me seems kind of gross. So you can imagine my surprise coming back to dirty towels after a day of hiking..... would have been nice to know this. The lack of balcony's was a disappointment as well. It's always nice to sit outside drink a glass of wine and look at the mountains in the privacy of your own room....

The pool area was nice with great views of the mountains and comfortable chairs. However the hot tub had not been cleaned in who knows how long and I got out with all this gross residue all over my body....

Staff was friendly enough and knew their way around the village.

Maybe our room location was the main issue....however I probably won't stay here again. Very underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Request a higher level floor at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainsideLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mountainside Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Amanda,

I'm very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay with us.
As you correctly pointed out, our central location can result in some late night noise, which is unfortunate.

As for the AC and fires, they can certainly be confusing. Our guest room binders have been removed in line with a corporate policy change, but we will certainly look for an alternative way to inform our guests based on this feedback.

As far as your hot-tub issues, these facilities are actually managed by a third party, however we do work closely with them to ensure that the pool and hot-tub are upto the standards our guests expect. We will review our policies to ensure they are adequate.

I'm pleased that you appreciated our knowledgable staff.

Please feel free to contact me anytime if you wish to discuss anything further.

Best regards,
Adam Gordon - Guest Services Manager
adam.gordon@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great place to stay for a family of 4 right along the Village Stroll. The Loft we stayed in had a Queen size bed + sofa bed + 2 baths ( 1 upstairs and 1 downstairs). The kitchen had everything we needed (pots and pans + utensils). Was clean and tidy and we felt like at home. Marlyn, the receptionist, was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainsideLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mountainside Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for your review Jenny.

It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Our units are indeed well equipped, and I'll pass on your compliments to Marlyn!

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Adam Gordon
adam.gordon@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The front desk staff was very, very friendly and accommodating to our every request. Lodge was located in Whistler Village near the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas and the ski lifts as well. (about 2 minute walk) Surrounding the Lodge were SEVERAL awesome restaurants, shops, equipment rental, activity companies, bike rentals. Grocery store, liquor store, drug store, post office; and all this walking distance. Great bear sightings on the mountain. Surrounded by mountain scenery any way you look. Very, very clean village and beautifully decorated and kept up. Definitely considering going back in snow season in 2015.

Room Tip: We were housed in a Studio Lodge. The only thing that bothered us was the skylight in the bedroom u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainsideLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mountainside Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Bonnie!

Thanks for your review; we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us.
We pride ourselves on our helpful, knowledgeable and courteous staff, it's great to hear they were appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the winter!

Warm regards,

Adam Gordon
adam.gordon@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Accommodation here was very good....ideal for the two of us. Only downside was that the hot water supply was erratic and the fire alarm went off several times for no apparent reasons...!
Staff though were very friendly and helpful.
Best thing about this hotel was the location....walking distance to everything we wanted/needed whilst there.

Room Tip: The loft rooms are the best....more spacious and ideal for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainsideLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mountainside Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your review Rob,

We're proud of our spacious lofts and central location, thanks for pointing these out!

It's great that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to see you again on your next visit to Whistler.

Best regards,

Adam Gordon
adam.gordon@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

On 17/May, me and my friend arrived hotel and check in ~4:30 for room 131. The room is on ground floor and located at the very end of the hallway. We need to open one door to enter the hallway and opening another door at the end of the hallway in order to get to room 131. We entered into the room and look around to check facilities. There are two washroom in this room, but, the washroom on the second level clogged upon two flushes, toilet paper and water gushed out from the toilet and over the washroom.

I called the front desk and reported the incident to Nicholas at front desk, Nicholas replied will send people over to take a look and fix the problem. The hotel plumber came within 5 minutes, but before he came, there is water leaking through and the room starting to get smelly.

Plumber came and fixed the clogging problem, but not the leaking issue. He put few towel on the leaking spot and left. I went to front desk and spoke to Manager Adam Gordon about the situation. He said the hotel is fully book and check in, there is no other room for us to stay. We insist not going to stay in the smelly room 131, and Adam offers no solutions but kept telling us they will try to fix the problem. We decided not to stay and asked Adam if we will be able to get a refund, and Adam's answer further disappointed us. His manager is on holiday and won't be back till next week. Upon his or her return, Adam will report this case and the manager will decide if a refund is possible.

We are not able to stay in Whistler enjoying our holiday and were forced to drive 2 hours back to Vancouver.

This was my most terrible hotel experience happened in my life. This is my second time staying in this hotel. First time was a great experience, and this time is misery.

Room Tip: Corner suites has 2 level for room 131, but this room is relatively smaller and lighting is not good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YettiPSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainsideLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mountainside Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello Yetti,

I'm sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay. We would of course have moved you to another unit had one been available.

I understand that you would have preferred a higher floor, but on a holiday weekend none were available, and we had no notification that this was your preference prior to your arrival.

We hope that in the future we can provide you with the quality experience we pride ourselves on.

Best regards,
Adam Gordon - Guest Services Manager
adam.gordon@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

When we first arrived they said they could not find our reservation. There were 4 of us pre-booked with the hotel through a travel agent. They then told us their rooms are not made to accommodate 4 people and that they did not have ANY suites available. After an hour of trying to figure this out they offered us another room that we would have to pay for. We refused until the manager finally decided to give us a suite with 1 bed and a pull out couch which we paid extra for per night. The did not clean the rooms every day. The rooms were only cleaned every 3rd day. We had to go to the lobby and ask for clean towels as well as get rid of our dirty ones. The room smelt and was damp. The ONLY thing that was good about this hotel was the location. Have stayed at the weston 3 times previous to this and will never be back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainsideLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mountainside Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello Anne,

I'm very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay in Whistler.
Please get in touch anytime so we can discuss this further and bring about a satisfactory resolution for you.

Kind regards,

Adam Gordon
adam.gordon@wyn.com
+1-604-932-4511
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive
0.0 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn At Whistler Village
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge

Property: Mountainside Lodge
Address: 4417 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountainside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing