We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant!!”
Review of The Marquise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marquise
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in the Marquise at Whistler for 3 nights in December 2011. This was booked through Resort Resevations Whistler, and they couldn't have been more helpful. The appartment was 2 Bedroom plus a loft, and 2 bathroom. It had a full kitchen, lounge, fireplace and views to die for. We absolutely loved staying there!!!! After full days out, it felt like 'coming home' when we got back each night. The beds were really comfy, and it was spotlessly clean. There were a couple of light bulbs out, but that is the worst I can say, and the manager came and fixed those!!!.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soccermum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Wow - clearly needs an update. The fridge hummed all night and the bedding was from the 1990's!
We were also disappointed about having to check-in and check-out at The Aspens, across the road.
And.. the common key did not work to enter the pool and hot tub area.
We would not stay here again.
We paid 299 / night and this was very POOR value.

Room Tip: best advice - don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shipwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Unit 203 provided everything I'd expect for a one-bedroom condo, but nothing to impress. Adequate small kitchen. Plenty of space and closets. Room was too hot for me. I was given a phone number on checkin but there was no telephone in the unit; a call from my cellphone to the front desk had a phone delivered right away though. Short walk across the street to a skate-worthy path to the Blackcomb base. That path, and also the ski-in path, may be missing snow at some times of year, in which case it's a 5 minute walk to the slopes. A long walk (15min) to Whistler Village proper, but there's a convenient free shuttle bus that stops just outside. Front desk vacant, needed to check in at Blackcomb Lodge in the village. Unit and property very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayCee510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from Dec 27-30th. The location is great But I am not sure if the whole building is like this but our room was in need of an update in a bad way especially for the money we spent (300/night). The room was to hot and the thermostat didn't work. Also the bedroom had a TV but it wasn't hooked up so unusable. The bed was in very poor condition with a big sag and in need of replacement. We will not likely be staying here again. We also had to check in across the street as there is no on site front desk. We did have a good time despite the room and the basic area is great for ski in ski out.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in the Marquise for two nights recently. It was OK but certainly not anywhere near as nice as many of the other places we have stayed at Whistler. The main thing is how dated the entire property is - I think it was one of the earliest ones in the Benchlands and it is showing it - hallways are drab, whole place just seems run down. Kind of a sad common rec area next to pool and hot tub. Our one bedroom unit was OK - clean enough, lots of towels which was nice, beds were so so. Only the TV in the main area worked - the one in the bedroom did not. The kitchen was small but adequate though everywhere else we stay has at least a salt and pepper shaker. Location was ok - you could walk to the Aspens (5 min) and onto the ski hill. Overall, I would stay there again if my favorite places were booked but would not recommend. Shame as with a bit of updating of the whole premises and consistency in the units (as from the reviews others have found it ok) it could be a nice property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseycatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Love staying here, but every time I visit the hot tub it is not very hot! There is no front desk to mention this to. Could someone turn it up a few degrees?

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank JJrmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is our second time using Whistler Premier to book a unit at the Marquise - two bedrooms, two bathrooms. Our last visit in 2008 was great (different unit). This time, the complete opposite.

Unit 506 is in desperate need of repair - especially the kitchen. The doors on the fridge and dishwasher need to be adjusted and then slammed in order to close. Even doing that, the fridge door didn't always stay closed. The clothes dryer does not blow hot air. The burners on the stove do not work properly. The suite is also advertised as having 2 bathrooms, one with shower only. It should be noted that the other bathroom is with tub only (no shower). We were 4 adults trying to share 1 shower. The guys ended up using the downstairs shower where the pool and spa facilities where located. Otherwise, the location, cleanliness and common areas were great.

I accept the fact that each unit is individually owned and that maintenance and updating is the owners responsibility. But, in order to be part of a rental pool, Whistler Premier should enforce a minimum standard for the unit owners.

I would stay at the Marquise again and I would use Whistler Premier again. I would also have a written guarantee ahead of time as to the condition of the unit being rented.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at The Marquise, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

We at Whistler Premier want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. Since your visit in February 2011 Whistler Premier is under new ownership and management. One of the changes in how we operate is we now have a 'house manager' who ensures our standards for cleanliness and quality of units are met. They also do pre-arrival inspections to make sure all appliances and facilities are operating as they should.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#23 of 49 in Whistler
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.7 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blackcomb Lodge
Blackcomb Lodge
#21 of 49 in Whistler
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horstman House
Horstman House
#5 of 55 in Whistler
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquise

Address: 4809 Spearhead Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range: £127 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Marquise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marquise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquise Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing