We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit #104 - Terrible Management by Whistler Superior Properties”
Review of The Marquise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marquise
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This building is not a hotel. They are all private condos. Some of the units are managed by vacation rental services to rent out to guests. While some people are having the time of their life in a different unit in this very SAME building, my wife and I had one of the worst experiences as far as we can remember. So the difference is in the choice of management company by the property owner. which happens to be Whistler Superior Properties for this unit. The only positive thing I would say about Superior is the courteous staff at the front desk.

The owner of this unit gives me the impression he/she is skimping on every possible dollar to maintain this property. I am quite certain that Superior Properties is probably the cheapest management company around that outsourced the “cleaning” to another low cost provider who does nothing more than change the towels.

Its outrageous that for $200 a night, you are expected to take out the trash and do the dishes before you leave or you get charged extra! No wonder there was a foul stench from the kitchenette upon entering the unit. How can a property management company expect the previous guests to ensure the cleanliness of the dishes and silverware, which were not even clean!!

The amenities of the unit were at least 30 yrs old. The furnishings and fixtures were all in serious need of maintenance, not to mention there is still a VCR and cassette player in the unit. Furthermore, the oven is broken and I suspect that it has been for years and the owner never bothered to pony up to fix it.

The outsourced “cleaning” company came multiple times at 10am on checkout morning, including one time with security guards… like we were squatters in the unit who are not supposed to be there. When we told them that we had already requested late checkout, they claimed to have received no such notification. What a way to make us feel welcome and want to return.

I have seriously regretted staying at a private condo instead of a hotel. Even though there are other positive reviews of private condos, because of this experience, I have huge reservations about staying in another private condo in whistler. I would much rather take my chances in a properly managed hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Unit 415 shows it age. The bed is uncomfortable. The couch is dirty and worn. The unit is always warm even when the heat is turned off. The decor is great if you like pictures of vegetables. The kitchen equipment is inadequate for anything except making breakfast at best. The 16 inch VCR player placed on a corner shelf in the one bedroom is a nice nostalgic touch. The rest of common spaces have a similar feel. They charge $16 a day for parking. And the toilet clogged up. But they are short walk to the ski slope.

This condo is not a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeAGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Three snowboarders stayed in unit #104 - we are not high maintenance and do not require anything fancy in terms of amenities. We wanted something close to the Whistler Village and something with some space - neither of which occurred. This was by far the worst hotel I have stayed in, ever. For the following reasons:

1. This is not a "hotel" - this is a private condo rental. Meaning each unit is managed by one of seven different property management companies (if you are staying here - make sure you know which managaement property manages your unit, this will save you a migraine when the bus finally gets you up to the village. When we got to the village we were under the assumpton that we would check in at the front desk like every other hotel in the world, but instead our bus driver had to call 7 different offices to figure out which management company manged our unit).

2. There is nobody working the front desk. There is no room service. The vending machines don't work and beep continuously begging for someone to fix them (particularly troublesome considering that is the only option for a drink if you do not want to wait for a bus...).

3. Although you are within walking distance to one of the Blackcomb lifts, you are a 15-20 minute bus ride from EVERYTHING else (including a cup of coffee in the morning).

4. If you find yourself skiing Whistler and end up in the Creekside Village at the end of the day - there is no bus back to the Upper Village and it will be a $20+ cab ride back to the hotel.

5. They charge you $50/hr. to clean the unit upon departure - so you need to make sure everything is clean before departing (by now you should be starting to wonder what you are actually paying for....)

6. The office where you check-in/check-out is a 20-minute bus ride followed by a 20-minute walk away from the unit. (NOTE: in our experience, the check-out time was 10:00AM - so 2 of us navigated our way to the office to drop off the keys while the third guy stayed with the luggage. Our airport shuttle was to pick us up at the Marquise at 10:30AM. Before we even made it back to the room from dropping the keys off, housekeeping had showed up to clean the room and the front desk was calling to make sure we were leaving. This was the only time we heard from the property management company or saw a single employee of the hotel the entire time we were there. It kinda left me with the impression that they couldn't wait for us to leave.)

7. You are responsible to dispose of all of your own garbage, recycling, and do the dishes. We did all of this - except we could not find a dumpster anywhere in the unit to dispose of the trash so we left it in an oversized garbage can across the hall in the laundry room. We went to dinner, came back, and found all of our trash dumped in front of the door with a nasty note pointing us to the dumpster. Makes me wonder why they didn't just take the trash to the dumpster like any other hospitality company in the world.

8. The units are dated and could really use some maintenance.

9. They left us with 6 towels for three people over 5 nights - and ignored our requests for more.

10. The bed is terribly uncomfortable. The pull-out couch is tiny - not big enough for two people at all.

11. The hot tub is tiny and was always filled with children. The sauna is large enough for two people. That is hardly adequate accomodations considering the size of the hotel.

My advice to travelers would be to spend a little extra and stay in the proper Whistler Village (as opposed to the Upper Village) - everything will be within walking distance and you will not have to wait at a freezing bus stop to take a 20 minute bus anytime you want to grab a beer or cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra money and stay in the Whistler Village. It will make or break your experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SeeAndExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in unit #203 at the Marquise, our group comprised of 2 adults and 3 children. We went to Whistler for the spring break and spent 3 wonderful days on the slopes. The apartment has one bedroom, with a sofabed in the living room, and there was enough room for an inflatable mattress (that we use for one of the chldren). We just loved this place. Ski-in/ski-out access (you cross the street, then you put your skis on to get to the excalibur chairlift), heated outdoor pool, hot tub, close to the village, the condo was spotless and very well maintained, fireplace, good wifi connection, quiet, kitchen, very clean bathroom, comfy bed. We travel quite a lot (4 times/year with the whole family), and we mainly look for very clean rooms (and bathrooms), spacious enough for the 5 of us, and convenient location. We got all we were looking for and more. Check-in was at the Aspens right across the street, and the staff was very nice and helpful. We had the most wonderful time in Whistler, and we will probably make it a yearly tradition, it was so much more than expected. We highly recommend the Marquise, price was very affordable for the quality we received.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We booked this place through an owners-direct website (contact for detail) for a 1 bedroom apartment. We had a place on the third floor with a view of Whistler from the balcony. It wasn't a spanking new plaza, but everything seemed to work. The reception wasn't manned so your check-in would be accompanied by some instructions. Car park wasn't free, and you can buy the ticket from a machine in the lobby.
We figured out 2 ski trails while we were there. Use the one near the peds crossing sign to go to the slopes, and on the way back there was a sign on the tree near the piste. The different gradients helped a bit with ski-in/ski-out.
What we loved: Thermostats that worked, full kitchen facilities, hot hot shower if we want to, ample wardrobe storage space, ski storage, beautiful view.
What we feel partial about: no boots warmer, inconsistent instructions by the owner, confusing garbage area.
Overall it was a good place to stay for a ski holiday.
*Bear in mind that most of the apartments are independently owned so each apartment would differ*

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EruditeTravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed in unit #607 at the Marquise, our group comprised of 2 couples and a single, 5 adults in total. First impressions of the apartment block was that it was a little dated, with the front desk no longer maned, it's looked after by the Blackcomb Lodge, which is located some distance away (about a mile) in the main Village.
As soon as we went into the unit we noticed a smell, best described as stale curry spices. You got used to it quite quickly but every time you went out you returned to the same smell. Next we noticed that the work tops in the kitchen and the marble table top looked grubby, smeared and water marked. Overall the unit wasn't super clean, it just needs a good scrub, especially the tiled floors!
The room configuration; double bed room with small en suite bathroom, with toilet and shower unit over bathtub. The floor around the toilet definitely needed a scrub!! The shower unit in this bathroom was faulty, shower worked ok but you couldn't turn off the shower if you wanted to run a bath, so it took a while...............
This room has a good sized wardrobe, shame there were no hangers though. The hangers in the unit are the non removable type so we couldn't take any from elsewhere, but to be honest, the whole unit lacked hangers. One of the bedside lamps had no bulb. The bed was strange, soft, lumpy and weird but strangely still quite comfy.

The 2nd bedroom had a double bed, old TV and VCR (yes VCR) unit, chest of drawers and wardrobe, this room did have some hangers, it also has internal access to the other bathroom. This bathroom has a shower, which was nasty! The ceiling and silicon seals were very mouldy, black mould on most of the ceiling and the water struggles to run away, something they must know about as the unit has 2 large 'plungers' also in here was the units washer dryer, seemed modern and worked well.
The den, up a flight of stairs, was very large, had 2 single beds, 2 sofas and an empty TV unit, ie no TV, no hanging space at all, which seems stupid with all that space!!

The seating area was good, lots of sofas and chairs and a nice newish LCDTV. Shame there were no instructions on how to use it, which channels for the cable etc. The gas fire was a bit hit and miss, we couldn't work out how to bring it on, sometimes it would light, sometimes not, in need of a service perhaps?
The kitchen was pretty good really, quite well equipped, definitely needs a couple of larger SHARP knives. And there were only 3 odd wine glasses and an assortment of branded (from bars) other glasses. The appliances worked ok but the floor needed a good scrubbing.
It also lacked cleaning items, we had to purchase some kitchen spray to disinfect the surfaces. We were also surprised that there no basic supplies, we have always had those in other self catered units in Whistler, like salt and pepper & oil. Everything in Whistler is expensive so having to buy all that plus cleaning stuff, washing powder and toilet roll puts a few dollars on the bill!

One great thing though was the view, the unit is top floor and has large windows all along its side and they offer a fantastic mountain view, definite plus point.

You store skis in the basement area, each unit has a locker with space for probably eight sets of skis at a push, the area is covered by CCTV as well, I think mainly as there are no staff on site.

The unit also only had 2 keys, which for 5 adults was not enough!!

When some of our issues were raised with the Blackcomb Lodge they were very helpful, within 2 hours we had a cleaning team and repair man in the unit. We then had plenty of towels for 5 adults and more toilet roll. The repair man removed the mouldy bath caulk and replaced it, the smell was bad but better than looking at nasty black mould in the bath, he couldn't do anything about the shower ceiling as it needs painting and therefore needs to be dry. He tried to repair the faulty shower but was unable to get the parts over a weekend, sadly he never returned on the monday after saying he would!

Overall we had a good time, the unit was ok but unless it and the block gets a make over and general modernisation we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K9Calamity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Seems everyone stayed here! My impression is that it's actually better than the pictures you'll fine on the internet via all the canadian booking sites. The furniture is comfortable, and the big couch is actually deep enough to sleep a shorter person in a pinch. The loft upstairs has 2 single beds, a double pull out couch, and another single pull out couch(or bed, i can't remember) as well as 2 dressers. it also has a separate door going somewhere, but I never tried it, so don't know where it goes. bedrooms downstairs are fine, we weren't cramped at all. Pillows were awful in the 2nd bedroom. I can't imagine where you could buy these pillows - they're completely hard and lumpy.
floors are stone/carpet, and as said by others, the heated floors (kitchen and 2 bathrooms) are absolutely the best part of it! almost makes up for that little bathroom off the kitchen with the washer/dryer in it. The shower is quite disgusting, very moldy, and definitely began to clog when we were there. I suppose the hair catcher in the drain has holes that are too large? We normally stay at the grand residences Marriott, at Heavenly/Tahoe, and those showers are over tubs with no hair catchers, just a regular up-down tub drain, and they've never clogged! Rest of the bathroom was actually decent, but no towel bars, only pegs on the back of the door., as well as hooks in many different places - definitely useful.
Kitchen fine, 4 burners working well, finally found the cutting board after 5 days, and plates/bowls/mugs were fine for 4 adults, 4 kids, although we had to run the dishwasher after most meals. fridge has a cute brita water filter in the door - take it out to fill, then have cold filtered water until you have to refill again. many many small knives, but no real big knife for cutting, say, a melon or large head of cabbage. No sink disposal, so we were very careful to use the basket in the sink drain. it didn't clog at all. The coffeemaker has NO TIMER, so someone had to wake up every morning and start the coffee. No crock pot, and the non-stick pans are a little dicey, but otherwise we were fine, since we cook simple things like spaghetti and salad. The dining table seated 8 easily, so it was very nice, and there were 3 barstools for the bar, so when we had visitors, there was some extra seating. small balcony was also cute, not that we went out onto it in winter.
You get your skis out of the locker in the morning, walk out the ski locker room down to the road (very short), cross the road, and ski down to the path. unfortunately, halfway there, the path then is completely flat, and you have to trudge along to the Wizard lift. at least it's on snow, though. Coming back in the afternoon, it's a different trail, after several ski in condos, stop at the small hill when you can see the wizard lift, and on your right at the bottom of the small hill is a big wooden telephone pole-like thing. right after that is the entrance to the return to the Marquise. Bomb down the small hill, sharp right into the trail, and you're there. That one is definitely ski in, all the way to the road. you take off your skis, cross the road, walk downhill into the front entrance, go down the elevator, and walk into the ski locker. hope that helps.
oh, and the internet access is really sloooowwww...
overall, it was good, and I'd stay here again, if they did something with that smaller shower. it was definitely the most substandard part of the condo.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank theglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#23 of 49 in Whistler
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.7 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Blackcomb Lodge
Blackcomb Lodge
#21 of 49 in Whistler
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquise

Address: 4809 Spearhead Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range: £87 - £618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Marquise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marquise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquise Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing