We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID SUITE 506”
Review of The Marquise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marquise
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is our second time using Whistler Premier to book a unit at the Marquise - two bedrooms, two bathrooms. Our last visit in 2008 was great (different unit). This time, the complete opposite.

Unit 506 is in desperate need of repair - especially the kitchen. The doors on the fridge and dishwasher need to be adjusted and then slammed in order to close. Even doing that, the fridge door didn't always stay closed. The clothes dryer does not blow hot air. The burners on the stove do not work properly. The suite is also advertised as having 2 bathrooms, one with shower only. It should be noted that the other bathroom is with tub only (no shower). We were 4 adults trying to share 1 shower. The guys ended up using the downstairs shower where the pool and spa facilities where located. Otherwise, the location, cleanliness and common areas were great.

I accept the fact that each unit is individually owned and that maintenance and updating is the owners responsibility. But, in order to be part of a rental pool, Whistler Premier should enforce a minimum standard for the unit owners.

I would stay at the Marquise again and I would use Whistler Premier again. I would also have a written guarantee ahead of time as to the condition of the unit being rented.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at The Marquise, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

We at Whistler Premier want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. Since your visit in February 2011 Whistler Premier is under new ownership and management. One of the changes in how we operate is we now have a 'house manager' who ensures our standards for cleanliness and quality of units are met. They also do pre-arrival inspections to make sure all appliances and facilities are operating as they should.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

My extended family booked a Christmas vacation to Whistler and stayed at the Marquise room 611. I realize that costs go up during this popular time and I don't know the costs of other properties but room 611 cost from $550 to $950 per night during our stay. I would say that the Marquise facilities are equal to that of a Days Inn type motel. Adequate but that's it. We were also led to believe that Marquise is slope side. It is NOT. You can technically cross the street and ski the make-shift trail to the Blackcomb village but it is not downhill so skiers will have to use their poles and boarders will have to walk it or take the bus.

As for unit 611, this unit is in desperate need of updating. I understand that the units are individually owned and rented so the owner of 611 really needs to invest a little money to make the stay comfortable. The single bed I stayed in felt like sleeping on the slopes. It was tilted to one side so the first night I slept poorly because I was trying not to fall out of the bed. The next night I put the mattress on the floor which helped but that didn't prevent being able to feel all the coils in the mattress as you try to sleep. The pillows in the units all felt like bags of tennis balls. The queen size beds in the unit both had a metal bar in the middle of the bed which is fun to sleep in. The sheets were also pretty old. The TV also did not work when we got there and after calling the manager and spending hours with him on 2 separate days he got the cable guy to run a cable from another unit through the hallway and into the front door of 611 and so we finally got TV after the 3rd day. There was also a problem with the cooktop (which the manager was able to fix pretty quickly). Basically, the unit is old and needs to be updated. It needs new beds, bedding and proper cable TV and perhaps internet access. That said, I would still not stay there again.

To be fair, they gave us an extra night to compensate us for the troubles but is was not really worth the headache (and backache!).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eddiesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The only upside to this trip was the day at the spa and the skiing on the mountain....not much went well in the condo. The bathtub didn't drain properly, the bed was uncomfortable, the sheets were stained, didn't have enough toilet paper...only one roll for four people. They didn't clean the room daily so we ran out of towels. The games room area had no games in it just a fridge and a couch. The sauna and the hot tub and the pool were nice, so was the gym. They should make the sauna larger though, its only a two man. Maybe change the games room into a larger sauna??? Internet didn't work...had to get someone to fix it. The noise of the boiler kept us up all night long.

Don't stay there if you're looking for value for your dollar...then again we didn't pay much...for Whistler.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tutlesarecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Great location! Very clean, large unit. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We used Whistler Premier Resort Accomodations for our booking at the Marquise. We went to check in where we were told in Whistler Village and then were informed to go to the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel the front desk was empty, someone eventually showed up. After checking in and confirming it was OK to leave our vehicle out front to unload, when we were coming down for our second load we were in the process of being towed. When we got in the room the dishwasher was full, there was no garbage can and none of the dishes were all mismatched. We did have a nice view. Upon leaving my son left his wallet in the bedside table of the bedroom. After four phone calls to both the head of housekeeping and the Whistler Premier office I never recieved a phone call back from anyone. I wouldn't use Whistler Premier services ever again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eriknSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at The Marquise, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Since your visit in March 2010 Whistler Premier is under new ownership and management. One of the first things we focused on was revamping our check in process to make it less confusing for guests. No matter how you make your reservation to stay with Whistler Premier you should be receiving full check in instructions with your booking confirmation that is usually sent via email.
As well we have done complete inventories of all of our condos to make sure they are all fully stocked with the required housewares.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We booked this place through whistlerblackcomb.com because it was included in the base price of the weekend package. I didn't know what to expect based on the previous reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. It was very neat, clean, and the rooms were nicely decorated. The "ski-in ski-out" was a short walk across the street, but still close enough to be convenient. The desk is only open certain hours though, so if you arrive late like we did, you need to check in at a different building down in the village which got a little confusing. Overall a great value though and a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bildo153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Hoping to capitalize on the late season snow dump in April 2009 we booked the hotel through the Whistler Blackcomb Official website "Accommodations" tab. Arriving about 9 pm, there was nobody at the front desk, and we had to drive to a nearby property to pick up our parking and room keys. True to the posted photos, the lobby looked new, and clean, and the amenities were lovely. But once you entered the hallway to the rooms, it was like something out of a horror movie. It was dimly lit, the carpets were dirty, and smelled musty. Our room was even worse. The carpets were filthy, there was mold on the ceilings, and the furniture was literally rotting. Growing up with working parents who loved to travel, I've slept in my share of budget accommodation but this was by far the worst I have ever encountered. It was advertised as a one bedroom that sleeps four, however, one would not sit on the pull-out couch with clothes on, much less let young children sleep on it. Shame on ResortQuest Whistler for even offering this offending unit to the public. You'd be better off sleeping on the floor of an airport toilet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh1784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.6 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#23 of 49 in Whistler
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blackcomb Lodge
Blackcomb Lodge
#21 of 49 in Whistler
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.6 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquise

Address: 4809 Spearhead Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range: £138 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Marquise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marquise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquise Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing