We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a family stay.”
Review of Greystone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greystone Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place for a family stay.”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were looking for a last minute rental over the 2011 US Thanksgiving weekend and ended up staying in unit 207 at Greystone. This year (2012) we came to Whistler for the same weekend again, and chose to stay at the exact same place.
After reading the negative review below I find it necessary to say that before choosing to stay at a place like Greystone one needs to understand the difference between a condo hotel, which Greystone is, and a full service hotel, like Hilton or Four Seasons, which Greystone is not. You do not get a full service desk, daily room service, a restaurant, a souvenir shop or a pool with sauna here (although there is a hot tub), what you do get instead is spacious condo style accommodations (size might vary) with everything you need for a comfortable stay at a very reasonable price, with helpful service when you need it (we didn't end up needing anything either time as the unit had everything we needed). In short, staying in a condo hotel is more like renting a fully furnished hotel style appointed apartment for a few days. We had a two-bedroom/two bathroom unit in a great condition at half the cost of what our friends staying at the Four Seasons next door (a 5 minute walk) were paying for their room about 1/3 the size of what we had.
Since each unit in a condo hotel is individually own and decorated (Acer Vacations only provides general reservation and maintenance service at Greystone), and may differ in size, layout and furnishings, you should always check the actual pictures, layout and description of the unit you are reserving, as this is exactly what you will be getting here compared to _an_ available room/suite of _the_ type you reserved you’d be staying in at a regular hotel. Our unit looked spacious, spotless and well appointed on the pictures, and that’s exactly what it was in real life.
There is nothing wrong with Greystone’s location either. Yes, it is in the so called Upper Village, which is just a quieter part of Whistler a bit away (about 15-20 minutes on foot, or a few minutes by frequently running public shuttle, or by car, if you are so inclined) from all the hustle and bustle of Main Village where all the shops and restaurants and whatever night life Whistler provides are (and where you should be staying if you want a watering hole within 1 minute crawl from your door), yet it is still only a couple of minutes away from the nearest lift.
In short, we had a great stay at Greystone both times we've been there, and will likely stay here again when we come to Whistler – our type likes certainty in life. Don’t know what else I could add to this.

Room Tip: make sure to carefully check unit description before you rent as they are all (by definition) differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vadim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Greystone Lodge and for taking the time to explain to possible guests what to expect when staying here. We look forward to your return. All the best -Clint Goyette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    34
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
70
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I made the big mistake of booking for a Greystone Lodge online, which was based on misleading information. The overall description was that of wireless and other amenities. They did not clearly indicate the type of room choices, so you just get allocated whatever.
Our whatever was room 314 (refer the other one star rating on this site).
We could not request an alternatively once we arrived and realized we had been had. We could also not cancel, so we were stuck with this.
Firstly, we had to wait for half an hour for someone at reception to arrive.
The room was a huge shock and I was deeply angry at how I was ripped off by this Lodge.
I don't care that the owner is a Scrooge. The other owners should take them to task for such behavior as the ratings affect all of them.
Picture a cheap and nasty hotel room. Add to this two single beds pulled together with two single duvets sort of put on it. Three pillows. Gaze upon the fact there is no fridge. So forget about using the two wine glasses they provided. Two packets of coffee for the entire stay. No wireless. A geyser so small only one person can enjoy a hot shower. Then there is no cleaning service whatsoever. Heaven knows why they have some cutlery as there is no dishwashing soap nor is there anywhere to wash dishes except inside the bathroom.
Now imagine walking around in the lodge in the hope of finding some comfortable escape from this room where you share the balcony with another room that looks directly at your beds so you cannot enjoy the views due to lack of privacy.
No decent lounge, no friendly lights on. No library. No sauna. No definitely a very long walk from the Village so even the location does not redeem this.
I always try and write about something positive about properties, but the lack of interest from this owner does not warrant such effort from me.

Room Tip: Do not choose this room or this Lodge unless you can confirm exactly the room you get and have an op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nomad1966A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear Guest,

It is unfortunate that your stay what not what you had expected from the property or property manager you used to book Greystone Lodge. Although we do not manage the unit that you stayed in I would like to make something clear for future guests of Greystone Lodge:

Any guest looking to book a unit at Greystone Lodge should understand the following:

1. Greystone Lodge is NOT a full service hotel.

2. Units are individually owned, renovated and decorated as per the Owners preferences. Bed configurations are different from unit to unit. Get a full description of the unit you are renting and photos specific to the unit.

3. The level of housekeeping service is entirely up to the private owner or rental manager you have booked through. Ask them to provide exactly what you should expect during your stay.

4. The Front Desk is not operated 24hrs as a regular hotel. (See Front Desk Hours below)

5. Acer Vacation Rentals Ltd. is the largest property manager in Greystone Lodge and they operate the front desk. If the unit you have rented is not under the management of Acer Vacation Rentals Ltd. then their ability to deal with issues regarding housekeeping and other unit related issues are very limited. You need to have the contact information for the company/owner you rented through at all times!

6. Be sure to know who the Property Manager or Owner is that you have rented through whether you have booked directly with them or through a third party. This is very important. Ask them where they are located and what their check-in procedure. Check-in procedures vary from company to company and owner to owner. Be sure to know how to contact them in the event of an issue with the unit you have rented.

7. We do not list our units on Craigslist!

8. Ask for photos of the unit that you rented! That way you will know if there is a kitchen or not.

With regards to the Front Desk hours: During the off season and summer months the front desk is staffed on weekends only. This allows the rates for Greystone Lodge to stay affordable while providing Front Desk services during high-traffic periods as well as check-in and check-out times. Summer Front Desk hours are Friday 3:30pm-6pm, Saturday 9am-11am and 3pm-6pm, and Sunday 9am-11am. Winter hours are from 8:30am-11am and 3:30pm-6pm 7 days a week.

Your experience is not what we wish for any guest of Greystone Lodge or Whistler. We hope that our response helps future guests to understand the type of lodging and services we offer and how to make the best of their stay in Whistler.

Best regards,

Clint Goyette
Acer Vacation Rentals - Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
stay@greystone-lodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We rented suite 214 from web-site www.at-blackcomb.com and were thrilled with every aspect of this condo unit.This building is perfect for people who have small children or want a quiet non party atmosphere.We had the patio door wide open all night and all I could hear was the wind rustling the leaves on a tree,.No screaming drunks ,fowl language or loud music like in the village.The condo is extremly well equiped and clean.We loved the books, decor and the salt water pool.I would never stay in the village again after being spoiled in this condo.The owner is extremly organized and pays attention to detail.This unit is a 1 bedroom with a lovely deck overlooking the pool,hot tub and bbque area.We are a family of 4 with two teenage girls and the living space had ample seating and room.My daughter was impressed with how comfortable the lazy boy queen size pull out couch was.All the beds were comfortable with ample pillows and different weights of blankets.The pictures on the web-site do not do this unit the justice it deserves.There is even a picnic table by the bbque which we utilized every day.Thank-You Sheila it felt like a home .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raeann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Greystone Lodge and unit 214. We look forward to your return visit! All the best. Clint Goyette - Acer Vacation Rentals - Proudly Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in 211. Great apartment well appointed. Everything was perfect. The service of the reservation company was also good. We thoroughly recommend this unit. It has two large bedrooms, small condo size kitchen, eating area and sitting room, balcony and two bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Greystone Lodge! See you next time. All the best -Clint Goyette
Acer Vacation Rentals Ltd.
Proudly Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

They Greystone Lodge is about a 30 second walk from the ski hill, easy way to start the day! It's a really quiet, clean and comfortable place to stay. It's close enough to the village that you can walk down the ski hill at night and back up with ease. We stayed in Unit 105 which had 2 bedrooms and a pull out couch in the living room. This unit has 2 full bathrooms and the en suite bathroom has a giant soaker tub. Perfect end to a long day, if you don't feel like hot-tubbing. Hot tub is quiet and clean and there is also a lap pool for those people who like to swim. Suite can comfortably fit 7-8 people. Definitely recommend this to everyone looking for a get-away!!

Room Tip: Room 105 is close to the hot tub (without getting the noise if people are in it) It's also very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Shannon,

We are very happy you enjoyed the Greystone Lodge and unit 105. We look forward to your return visit to Greystone Lodge.

All the best,

Clint Goyette
Acer Vacation Rentals - Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
stay@greystone-lodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brier, Washington
Level Contributor
188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Greystone Lodge is located in the upper village, next to the Green Line ski run and the Wizard Express Lift, truly ski-in and ski-out. The unit we stayed at was 206. This unit has been upgraded with granite countertops, black appliances, granite fireplace surround, new carpets and flat screen televisions. One of the bathrooms is a shower/tub and the other bathroom has a walk-in shower. For apre skiing, there is for your relaxation an outdoor pool and hot tub as well as an additional indoor hot tub. The building has underground parking and ski-lockers so you do not have to shlep your skis or boards into the unit. The location of Greystone is a short 3 minute walk to the upper village restaurants and stores and about a 10 minute walk to Whistler Village where there is a plethora of stores, restaurants and bars. The front desk staff (Clint) is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for pointing out the common amenities you enjoyed during your stay here at the Greystone Lodge. The only thing you forgot to mention is that the parking is FREE (max height is 6'8"). We look forward to your return visit! All the best -Clint Goyette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a two-bedroom suite at the Greystone Lodge that served as an excellent base for a week-long ski vacation. The apartment was very well-furnished and comfortable (the only minor shortcoming was a dearth of drawer and other storage space in the master bedroom, but that was overshadowed by many positives). And even though we rented through an agency other than the folks manning the front desk, they were still cordial and helpful. There is one aspect of the Greystone, though, that prospective guests should take into account: calling the Greystone a "true ski-in, ski-out" property is a bit of a stretch. The path from the door to the edge of the ski run is about 140-150 paces (YMMV), and most of it has a gentle uphill gradient. So, "ski-in" is no problem, but "ski-out" requires quite a bit of poling or a short hike. If that meets your definition of ski-in, ski-out, then add a star to this review.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Greystone Lodge. Thank you for pointing out that the trail from the slope to the Greystone Lodge is about 100 meters/yards of flat skiing similar to a cat track on the mountains. When there is snow on this trail (most of the ski season) a guest can put their skis on at the exit of the building and push/pole/skate ski or walk to the slope. There is a bit of effort required to get to and from the slope when the snow is sticky. This effort is similar to travelling twice the length of the lift line at 7th Heaven on Blackcomb on a busy day or the effort required to get from the ski racks at the Glacier Creek restaurant and get to the Jersey Cream lift. Greystone Lodge is deemed ski in ski out due to the fact that one can put their skis on at the building and get onto the slopes without removing the skis and the same for the return. I hope this clarifies for any prospective guests of Greystone Lodge - A True Ski-in Ski-Out Location. All the best - Clint Goyette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.6 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#23 of 49 in Whistler
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge

Property: Greystone Lodge
Address: 4905 Spearhead Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greystone Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greystone Lodge provides some of the finest affordable family oriented ski-in ski-out accommodations Whistler Canada. Greystone Lodge is located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain next to the Wizard Express and Magic Chair lifts. A boutique style condo complex with only 50 units makes Greystone Lodge one of the smaller vacation rental locations in the Benchlands neighbourhood in Whistler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Greystone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystone Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing