We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOUD”
Review of First Tracks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Tracks Lodge
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOUD”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We chose First Tracks Lodge because it is located in the "quieter" family friendly side of Whistler in Creekside. NOT SO! Dusty's restaurant and bar is located in the middle of Legends and First Tracks Lodge. Music (and a very loud base) that is piped to their outside patio and walkway gets going nightly around 10:00pm. We were assigned the room right outside the bar. As a family of 4 visiting the Whistler area one would think the reservations specialist would have asked if we prefer the louder/party side or the quieter side adjacent to the bar. No mention whatsoever of the bar and the imminent New Year's Eve bash they would be throwing until 5:45AM the next morning! After notifying the staff the next day I was told I should have known the area would be loud. Unfortunately I have never visited the area and rely upon the reservations staff to notify me of any unforeseen issues. Don't get me wrong, I realize New Year's Eve is a night to celebrate, I simply expect to be given the choice if I want to participate from my $700/night room or not.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, ask for the quieter side away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovations, Director of Sales at First Tracks Lodge, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Rochelle,

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback very seriously. While our property is located across from Dusty's, it is not standard for noise to be excessive or carry on for as long as it may have on New Year's Eve. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and your family during your stay. We do our best to assign suites according to guests needs, however, there are times when we just cannot meet all the requests received.

Kind regards,

Jaime Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    76
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
251
104
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We just came back from a four-night stay at First Tracks Lodge.
Pros:
- the two-bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortably appointed;
- cleaning was spotless and deserves high marks;
- our daughters loved the heated bathroom floors;
- wi-fi connectivity was excellent: fast and easy to use;

Cons:
- Creekside is a lovely area during daytime, but nearly dead after sunset; at night pretty much anything worth your time and money takes place in Whistler or Blackcomb villages. At night, Creekside just doesn't exist and if you chose to drink you'll definitely need a cab to take you to/from restaurants (i.e. local bus service won't be very helpful, especially if you're traveling with friends and family).
- First Tracks offers no service to speak of. Let me explain:
> there is absolutely no front desk at First Tracks. Doors and equipment are all automated. Check in/out and any other business requiring human interaction takes place at the adjacent Legends Lodge;
> gym, pool, jacuzzi, parking, fireplace, elevators, doors, bell service are all unstaffed at Four Tracks;
> housekeeping came to our apartment (#522) on the first day, as expected; on the second day housekeeping never bothered to knock (we were in and had no signs on door) but slipped a card under the door indicating that we had 'chosen not to have service' on that particular day (deceptive, preposterous, and simply not true); on the third day we received a more elaborate letter from housekeeping indicating that it was Christmas and management had chosen to give lodge staff a day off to celebrate with their families; it's an admirable concept (I'd love to see it done at Wal Mart), but not a realistic proposition in a town that survives on tourists coming precisely on dates such as Christmas; I wish management would also make a proportional adjustment to my rate, perhaps as a Christmas gift -- isn't that the spirit?; on the fourth day we checked out;
> kid activities and restaurant? are you kidding?
> there was a 'floating' Concierge on some days, manning a desk at the First Tracks' lobby and using phone/radio/laptop whenever additional info was needed; let's call this a stop gap solution;
> bathroom amenities are in ample supply and of reasonably good provenance, but I'm still trying to understand how the apartment kitchen could possibly lack something as simple as a roll of paper towels; to be fair, starter coffee was provided;

Bottom line: our stay was enjoyable and there were no complaints -- arguably thanks to our own positive attitude -- but First Tracks is a place where even the slightest touch of human presence is seriously lacking, and where service is provided only at its own convenience. Buyer beware!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Gondola Way (i.e. NOT facing Creekside market and/or Rusty's).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AACN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have now stayed at First Tracks for two consecutive ski holidays. It is a very comfortable and well managed lodge. The apartment was maintained to a high standard and cleaned daily. The kitchen was well equipped so cooking meals was easy (there is no restaurant in the lodge). It is 50 metres from the Gondola and ski slope. The hot tubs and pool are great. There are three issues.

...the location is Creekside, so less après ski, far fewer restaurants than Whistler village, but the attraction for me is the quiet (and there is a very good and close supermarket if you are happy to cook). The other problem of Creekside is that there are no lessons for children (apart from the nursery school kids), again not a problem if you are happy to ski,bus taxi over to Whistler village.

...the spa area does create noise and does not close until 10pm, so that is a problem if you are near the spa on the first or second floor....closing the spa earlier would help

....the management will not allocate a specific apartment to your booking, so you can't avoid the spa area, specify a view etc. I would have happily paid more for that advantage.

But these are relatively small issues, as otherwise it is a quiet, well managed lodge in a great location.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the spa area if you can
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Padding2ntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the new year for 9 nights, in a two bedroom apartment.

Very spacious and clean bedrooms, bathrooms and living area. Bathrooms have big walk in showers and underfloor heating.
All the amenities, you need in the kitchen, which are very clean, if you plan to cook meals in the apartment.
The living area is very comfy with gas fire and 3 piece sofa as well as big table and chairs. Rooms are cleaned daily.

Free wifi throughout first tracks lodge.

Perfect location, at the bottom of whistler creekside. Back entrance for skiers which literally is ski in-ski out, each apartment has it's own locker for ski equipment.

Creekside is a lot quieter than Whistler village and a taxi is around C$12 to get in to the village, buses also run regularly.

Would defiantly return to First Tracks Lodge and Lodging Ovations.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early November, the accommodation surpassed all our expectations, very spacious and well appointed and everything one could need, we could not fault it at all. Bonus was that it had snowed overnight before our arrival and the view from our balcony was just magic. Would love to come back and experience a 'white" Christmas here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeton, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our third time staying here for a 3 week stay... And still such superior quality and service.. We are from Australia and we would not stay anywhere else in whistler...LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Everything you need is literally right on your doorstep, and if it's not, staff will do their best to make sure it is. Well done First Tracks.. Hopefully will see you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Rented the one bedroom suite. Very spacious unit in quiet area and still five minutes from the village, underground parking is 15$/night. Full kitchen with modern appliances, two bathrooms (one full bathroom with jet tub), extra sleeping space, small and cozy den with t.v. and washer/dryer. Fireplace in living room. Strongbox in entrance closet.

Huge balcony accessible from both bedroom and dining areas, overlooking outdoor pool and two jacuzzis and B.B.Q. area. They also have a sauna and shower in changing area.
P.S.: Don't forget to carry your room key to re-enter the hotel after a swim otherwise you can call staff member from phone conveniently located next to swiping device..lol.

Ski/board lockers, really ski-in/ski-out. Gondola is in backyard!

Good little breakfast place on the corner of the main road and Huskies gas station straight across.

Many options for restaurants in the village: see my other reviews and enjoy!

Room Tip: Some third floor unit like the 303 has big balcony, Overlooking the pool is nice and in the weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,836 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends
Legends
#11 of 49 in Whistler
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Tracks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Tracks Lodge

Property: First Tracks Lodge
Address: 2202 Gondola Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whistler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#13 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Tracks Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located ski-in, ski-out at the base of Whistler Mountain in Whistler Creekside, First Tracks Lodge is an upscale, condo style hotel. This all suite hotel features suites ranging in size from one to four bedrooms. Each suite offers a full kitchen with upscale appliances and granite counter tops, a living area with a gas fireplace, private balconies and one full bathroom per bedroom. This property truly offers all of the comforts of home in a most convenient location. In addition, the Creekside Village is just steps away providing convenient access to a grocery store, liquor store, ski and board rentals, Whistler kids programs as well as a few coffee shops and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your First Tracks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Tracks Hotel Whistler
1st Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing