We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient rentals”

Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Whistler's original summer activity the legendary River of Golden Dreams and scenic Alta Lake – The flat water river is more than just a float it’s a Exploring Adventure. Beaver, Eagles, Osprey, Heron’s and even Black Bears are regular sights will have you eagerly wondering what’s around the next bend in the river including spectacular views of mountain peaks in a natural environment. Our River trips have limited availability and often sell out, please pre book to assure your spot. Unlike an amusement park ride River of Golden Dreams trips allow you to be an active participant. One of the reasons people keep coming back to paddle the river is it is different every time they come. In the spring the water levels can be high and moving though always flat and no rapids. By mid-summer water levels are gentle. By late summer the beaver start rebuilding their dams creating pools to paddle in. Water levels are low and steering the boat properly avoids obstacles. Guides are recommended though experienced river paddlers go unguided. It’s most certainly not what you expected. Our staff present river orientations to make this a fun, eco-friendly, educational exploring outing. Located at Lakeside Park minutes from Whistler Village. Free Transportation is available for River of Golden Dreams Tours from all Whistler Village hotels and vacation/ holiday accommodations.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“convenient rentals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We didn't do the River of Golden Dreams tour, we just rented from them for use on Alta Lake. Convenient and good equipment. Great business, very busy all the time. They charge enough that people return them quickly, so there is equipment available even at peak times. Wish they would help you more though when you come in.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Hi KayL
Thanks for your review
based on your comment we'll be more attentive to in bound guests
glad you have fun, hope you get to do the river next time you visit us
cheers

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    1
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No experience necessary.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Three of us booked a canoe for the "River of Golden Dreams" trip. We all had a little experience of canoeing, but not a lot. This was an excellent half day taking in Alta Lake, the River of Golden Dreams and Green Lake. The river, whilst not exceptionally challenging, provided enough interest and changes in flow and direction to keep us busy avoiding trees and bushes. It was a delightful experience, enhanced by the fantastic weather we experienced in July. If you are not too confident in a canoe, this is a great trip to get you going.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Hi Gordon374
Thanks for your review
Spring 2014 we didn't have much snow pack, had we early July can be quite a bit more 'exciting' on the river
glad you had fun
cheers
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Pouring rain - and lots of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

It had been a gray day and we prepared our Twilight trip by putting on all our rain clothes. This turned out to be a wise move - it was pouring down when we made it to the other end of the river. In spite of the rain it was a really great trip; we had lots of fun and saw beavers rigth next to the canoe as we passed. Eric and our guide Lucas gave us excellent service - I believe that Lucas might have been a bit envious of our souwest (a very effective rain hat).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
HI HM
you guys were great, decked out for the weather, we didn't have to pull out any of our inclement weather gear for you.
Best yet was your fun attitude, a little rain, no big deal
now, your hats, yes Lucas was envious and the next week was sporting a very stylish lid for the rest of the summer

cheers
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful weather. Easy course and no experience needed. The guide was very informative and enthusiastic about local wildlife and pointed out many things that we would not have even noticed, never mind been able to explain, but not needed for the kayaking itself. The only hard part was finding the entrance to the course and then very easy paddling. Enjoy the trip and don't rush. We paddled too quickly to the end.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank youngtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Hi Youngtess
thanks for your review and glad you had fun.
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“I love Backroads Whistler! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful time at Lakeside Park in Alta Lake thanks to Backroads Whistler. Eric and his staff treated me like a friend and not a customer. They are accommodating, friendly, professional, and will insure you have a lovely time at the lake. I had a great time with the water equipment I rented from them and I also had the exciting opportunity to take the canoe tour up the river with one of their very experienced guides. On top of all the wonderful people that work there that make your afternoon fantastic, the location itself is perfect. I had an exceptional time here, thank you Backroads!

Helpful?
Thank Victoria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
HI Victoria
thanks for your review. Most of us paddle down the river....if you went up, congratulations....:)
glad you had fun
cheers

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Surge Narrows, Read Island
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Been to Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing