We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grill & Vine

Grill & Vine
Reserve with OpenTable
Grill & Vine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Putting a local twist on traditional favourites, Grill & Vine is a modern reinterpretation of the classic grill. Featuring sleek, clean and fresh architecture, comfortable lounge seating, an all-day Grab & Go menu, and a sophisticated yet inviting atmosphere, Grill & Vine is be the perfect meeting place for any group, large or small. We offer a casual yet upscale environment reflection through our food and our service.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
622 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Simple and elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our meal was a delight from the very start. The staff were attentive and friendly and this food delicious. Our starters/entrees of fresh oysters, steamed mussels in a white wine broth and salmon three ways (tartare, cured and ikura caviar) were a visual feast.
The Louise Llake steelhead was cooked to perfection - lightly grilled on each side, rare in the middle. The venison chop was also rare, succulent and tasty with the blackberry jus. The pork duo of crispy spare rib and tenderloin were nicely complemented with earthy root vegetables.
A very flavoursome mango sorbet for the girls and a creamy blue cheese for him completed a lovely meal
The was the second time we dined here in a week and we'd certainly head back next time we are in Whistler

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    63
    29
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best New Restaurant Whistler Has Seen In Many Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a fantastic new restaurant in the westin. I have dined there multiple times since it has opened and everything has always been fantastic. An extensive wine list with something for everybody. They even have high end wines by the glass, which is something you dont see very often, and the food is just incredible, all fresh and local. I highly recommend this place to everyone, the menu is very diverse in prices which makes it affordable on all budgets. A must do for locals and visitors a like!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EvenSteven004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at Grill & Vine, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear EvenSteven004,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our offerings and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Jeff O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Great food, personal service and a great room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Everything at Grill and Vine was great. This is an amazing addition to the Westin and the Whistler restaurant scene. The room is light and comfortable and the menu has tons of options for whatever you are in the mood for. We had about 4 different appetizers/starters then a couple mains for the Grill Menu. Each dish was executed well with lots of flavor and cooked exactly how we asked.

The server was so personable without being in our face and had tasted everything on the menu which was awesome for when we asked for suggestions.

One interesting note, the Kale Caesar salad is actually Romaine with a sprinkling of Kale.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinMazzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Experienced Whistler Diner Recommends - What to Expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We've been going to Whistler at least once a year for longer than I care to admit. Our favorite restaurant was La Rua, but its gone! We love Quattro and Araxi but they're pricy, especially if you're dinning with kids. And good wine can really jack up your bill. Before making reservations at Grill & Vine in the Westin we did our homework. The food and wine menus have a wide variety of interesting preparations, out homework paid off.

While the open dining room has a nice view it isn't cozy, but we reserved comfy seats in the middle,a high back booth with facing wooden chairs, very comfortable. Instead of ordering a bottle of wine, my wife and I each ordered a flight of wine, 3 - 2oz pours. I had the Southern Hemisphere (2 reds & 1 white) she had the Okanagan. (2 whites & 1 red). We started with two small plates, the dates with Gorgonzola and a Camembert with fig. Both paired really well with the white wines.

With so many interesting dishes picking one main course was challenging, but our waitress was very knowledgeable and guided each of us to dishes we loved. It's not often we get 4 out of 4 likes and I'm pretty sure there were other dishes we could have ordered that were winners, like the $26 Lasagne with Wild Boar. The Rib-eye is a great cut of beef, cooked to perfection on an iron skillet, severed with beets, greens and sea salt fries. A solid value at $34, it could easily be $54 elsewhere. The simply grilled Venison chop was prepared perfectly, also with beets and greens. We also ordered the Butternut Risotto with walnuts and the Pork Duo, each dish had multiple elements that paired nicely making for a memorable meal for everyone.

The poached pear with honey is a must for dessert. Big enough for the 4 of us to share. And in the end the bill wasn't too painful. It certainly could have been higher given the quality, service and preparation. We will likely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at Grill & Vine, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear ScottD58,

What a wonderful review. Thank you very much for joining us to experience Grill & Vine. We have tried to create a casual yet upscale place that will rival the top restaurants but still be approachable for families. The wine flights are something that we created for guests to have an experience that they may not get elsewhere. With the Enomatic wine system, we are able to offer 16 excellent wines by the glass in our 2oz, 6oz, and 8oz pours. Taking it to the next level with the cheese pairings is surely something everyone must experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Be Well,
Jeff O'Brien
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Average breakfast ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast is this hotel restaurant a few times during our stay at the Westin and found it of average quality and variety. Perhaps it is the daily grind of servicing breakfast, but there didn't seem to be a lot of passion with the kitchen and waiting staff... One would expect more for the amount of money charged for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Frits d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at Grill & Vine, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear frits d,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our goal is to have the best breakfast offerings and buffet in Whistler, served in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Our extensive selections of traditional breakfast favorites, eggs cooked to order any style, international meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, and fresh squeezed juices are only part of the value we deliver.

I apologize that your experience your received from our culinary and service teams did not meet your expectations. I do hope that you have the opportunity to try us again and we can show you the passion that we all have for our guests dining with us.

Sincerely,
Jeff O'Brien
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill & Vine also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Grill & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing