We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Excellent Staff”
Review of Nita Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nita Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

From the moment we made our first enquiry in December, I knew that these guys meant business - the most attentive and personal service one could expect and that was before we even decided to make the reservation - for our Hoenymoon. Our standards were high and they were comfortably exceeded. Rich made sure that we were getting exactly what we wanted from our stay. All bookings and hires that we needed for the week were taken care of - and at favourable rates. Excellent service.

If you expect to be treated like an individual, want to be away from Whistler Village, have the convenience of being only a 5 minute walk to the Creekside base gondola, want excellent apres ski (in Dusty's), expect spacious comfortable and clean rooms, want great dinning.... then you must book here. You won't regret it.

After a long journey from Scotland, we were overwhelmed when we arrived at Nita Lake Lodge. Cederic and Lindsay welcomed us and checked us in without any hassle or delay. When we walked into our room, it was wonderfully presented; the fire was lit, candles were glistening, champagne was on ice, chocolates were waiting for attention, rose petals in the shape of a giant heart on our huge kingsize bed, and a couple of single roses... that certainly sealed the deal for us and we were suddenly revitalised by this hugely warm welcome after such a journey. What a perfect start to our Honeymoon.

Our room was fantastic, very spacious for a studio. couldn't be better in fact. Lovely view overlooking the lake, a kitchenette, plenty space for baggage etc, lovely fire, balcony, superb bathroom with massive tub and glass walled shower. Nicest room we've ever had. And of course the massive kingsize bed was a dream. So comfortable.

Nita Lake Lodge is only a 5 minute walk to Creekside Gondola, WALK not a shutlle. We were very surprised to see that some folk expected the shuttle to take them to and pick them up fropm Creekside base. If you can ski all day then you can make a 5 minute walk to the Creekside base. And of course take a coffe or drink along the way. The Nita Lake Lodge shuttle service should only be used for running folk to and from the village. This is an excellent service and it worked very well for us. We always had a shuttle when we expected it. 'Glen the Ultimate Shuttle Driver' really did make us feel welcome and always picked us up on time. Lindsay and Callum also went above and beyond the 'Shuttle Driver' role when we were ferried around. And you know what, if you have to wait in town because the shuttle is very busy then go grab a pint or a coffe and relax... youre on holidays.

Linda, on front desk and the staff at cure lounge also made a big impression on us and made our stay most enjoyable.

One of the most enjoyable meals we had while staying in Creekside was at the Le Gross restaurant (french). Pascal sure can knock up a great rack of lamb. Cure lounge in Nita Lake Lodge came a close second place with their beautiful charcuterie and cheeses... wonderful.

Rich, Cederic, Lindsay, Linda, Glen and Callum.. thanks for making our Honeymoon Vacation at Nita Lake Lodge so special.. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 1,953 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed at Nita Lake Lodge for a 5 days around US President's day weekend. Our 1br suite matched our expectations and provided the necessary amenities for us (family of 3 with 3.5 yr old). The hotel staff was very nice and attentive to our needs. One small thing to note is that hotel has only wired internet in the rooms so anyone who wants to use WiFi on their laptop or iPad would be out of luck.

The hotel is located about 10 min walk from the Creekside base of Whistler Blackcomb. Hotel does provide transportation around Whistler including to Whistler and Blackomb bases but does so with a single SUV which fits a maximum of 6 people. Taking into account that there is high demand for its services at certain times when many guests are going or coming back from skiing this creates a very uncomfortable situation where guests are forced to wait for a shuttle for a very long time. We had to wait for atleast half hour each afternoon when we were coming back from skiing which was less than pleasant experience to say the least. A regulalry scheduled larger bus shuttle would make much more sense.

Overall - good hotel but shuttle service did leave a bad aftertaste for us and next time we will visit Whistler we are much more likely to stay in one of the place in the village.
Restaurant recommendations in case anyone is interested: Players Chophouse in creekside was delicious and they have a great value of children's menu feature mini prime rib with mashed potatoes and vegetables. Food at BBQ Bobs that next to the hotel was extremely disappointing. Sachi Sushi in Whistler Village was great!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgorelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich1Watt, Guest Relations Manager at Nita Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2011

Thank you very much for your review. This feedback is important to building our service stadards and continuously improving our guests' experience levels. I have to admit that high volume weekends do pose a challenge to our shuttle service since we are located in Creekside, However we have acknowledged this by sourcing an additional vehicle for periods of abnormal demand and partnered with a local taxi company to fill in when we are unable to meet shuttle requirements. I am sorry to hear that your experience with the complimentary shuttle service tainted your stay. On another note, we are exploring the possibilities of extending our wireless internet service from the common guest areas to be property wide before next season. Thanks again for your comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back during your next trip to Whistler if you wish to avoid the hustle and bustle of the main village!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Love the place! My favorite hotel in Whistler. Beautiful rooms, lounge, brand new hotel!
The only small downside is that it is located outside of Whistler Village - you need a vehicle to get you to the center of town. However, if you aren't too concerned about that, I would highly recommend this place.

We booked through a company called Whistler Horizons (www.whistlerhorizons.com)
who gave us an even better rate than through the hotel themselves.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgonzoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We, family of four, kids of 8 and 10, stayed for presidents day week in the Nita Lake Lodge. Stayed 8 nights and had an overall good experience. We stayed in a 2 bedroom room and have to say the rooms are unbeatable if you are travellng with children. They are huge, including 2 spacious bath rooms. The location is indeed quiet and away. Which is good as you don't have to worry bout noise at night or from traffic. People who are looking for relax quiet stay, this is the place. The negative is that most of the ski schools gather at Whistler village which means you have to go back and forth to the village. The shuttle service is available and works ok. But it means you can not improvise. You really have to book and plan the pick ups in advance to make sure you have transportation. If you do so it works excellent and they try really hard to accomodate all the requests. My tip to them was that for busy periods as president week they should rent a second vehicle to make more transportation available.

For breakfast we always went to the deli which offers very easy, quick breakfast for good value. My only comment to the management would be to make the baguette and croissants available when it opens. We went for breakfast at 7h30 given the start of skischool at 8h30 and most of the time the baguette and croissant were still in production.

In general I would say a very nice place to stay, a bit remote which means quiet but take into account the transportation if you are traveling with children. For sure the rooms are unbeatable!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Great stay at Nita Lake Lodge! The hotel is very impressive, from the stylish entry to the very spacious rooms (we did have a two bedroom suite). Everyone we met was very friendly and very helpful. We brought along our dog and requested an early check in so that we could still hit the slopes, hotel response.......no problem. After some flight issues and delays in checking in, we asked the hotel if now we could arrange for a late check out, keeping the room as we had the dog, hotel response.......no problem. Everyone from the front desk staff, to shuttle driver wanted to make our experience enjoyable. Lindsay E. who is one of the staff especially took it upon herself to be extra nice and very accommodating to our issues. Nothing was too much for her to help out with, so thank you. We would 100% recommend this hotel to our friends, and we won't be staying anywhere else in Whistler.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asd_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Had a great stay at Nita Lake Lodge.
Location was good, about 7 minutes walk from the Creekside gondola. Also a nice area to walk around, as it's right by the lake and a hill with great views.
The complimentary shuttles were a welcomed addition. Even though our stay was during a very busy weekend - Presidents' Day in the US, Family Day in Alberta and reading week for local students - they were always on time and available.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jargoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This was my second time to Whistler and my first time staying in creekside. Loved the location, easy access to the lift, rentals and good dining. We stayed over presidents day weekend and when we got to the hotel in the afternoon our room wasn't ready. We were told that they'd call us when the room would be ready. We waited for the range rover shuttle for 20 mins to take us into town. The driver, Rich, was very nice and friendly and dropped us in the village. Check in time isn't guaranteed till 4pm so we putzed around the village until the room was ready. We never got a call regarding the room so we called the hotel for the shuttle to pick us up at 4 and asked if the room was ready. The shuttle was going to be an hour wait and when asked about the room the lady was very snotty about it and told us it would be guaranteed by the guaranteed time of 4pm - thanks, we didn't need the attitude. We decided to take a cab back to the hotel instead of wait an hour for the shuttle. It cost about $20 from the village to the hotel. We finally got to our room and all we wanted to do was get settled and rest. The front desk man escorted us to our room and had to show us everything in the room. I know this sounds totally snotty but we really didn't need to get a full run down on how to turn on the lights and where we could find the ironing board. Not to mention he didn't even open the door for me while I had my hands full of luggage. Anyhow, we stayed in a suite with a living area, bedroom and patio that over looked the lake. The room was huge and plenty big for two people. The sheets were really rough, the bed was ok, the towels were like sand paper and they never replaced the toiletries. For the price of the room, I just figured they would have invested in higher thread count linens and nicer towels. The shower didn't get hot and the water dribbled barely enough to get the shampoo out of my hair. The tub was very nice and spacious. Room for two and he water got plenty hot for a nice bath after a day of skiing. We tried going to the hot tub a couple times but each time we went it was full of people. They only had one of the two tubs working. It just seems like they were not prepared for a full hotel on a holiday weekend. The service was not up to par and the staff didn't seem like they cared about their guests. Our key cards didn't work numerous times, we had to constantly get them replaced and they didn't even say a simple sorry for the inconvenience. I know this is a very negative review but I just want others to know what to expect when going, I feel like my expectations were set too high for this place. Also, bring an extra lock for your skis if you are planning to store them at creekside. When we rented our skis and asked the front desk for a lock, they ran out and didn't have a back up plan. So we had to lug them to and from the mountain each day. The overall place is very nice. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful. We had drinks in the lounge one night and it was great. The garage was also very nice and convenient to park in. I wouldn't go back to stay there given our experience but would recommend staying in creekside if you want to be out of the hussel and bussel of the village. The southside diner had awesome breakfast and the rim rock restuarant was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindseyturner, Director of Sales at Nita Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

I would like to thank you for your feedback and extend my sincere apologies for the issues experienced during your stay. You have highlighted several areas of concern and I want to assure you that our Leadership Team went through each and every point as a group. We now have taxi vouchers for busy shuttle times to ensure guests aren't waiting long and have sourced additional locks for our ski valet service. We have also spoken with staff to reinforce that the guest is always #1. These are among a number of corrective actions that have been taken as a result of your review, so I thank you for taking the time to assist us in highlighting areas of improvement as we strive to deliver the best possible guest experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed Creekside - it is indeed a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,747 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
882 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nita Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nita Lake Lodge

Address: 2131 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#1 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#2 Family Hotel in Whistler
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#3 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £91 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nita Lake Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of a stunning glacier-fed lake in Whistler BC, we offer unique and authentic moments on every occasion. Join us at Nita Lake Lodge to experience a fresh take on classic whistler hospitality. Impossible to imitate; our oversized suites, a full-service spa , and innovative local cuisine are just the beginning. Discover how our genuine service with a personal touch will elevate your whistler experience. Take our courtesy shuttle for a short ride or wonder along the lake side trail to the heart of Whistler. Located in the village of Creekside, we are only 500 metres from the base of Whistler Mountain and the Creekside gondola. After a day of Whistler adventures return to your unique lakeside retreat. Named in the top 25 hotels in Canada by TripAdvisor year after year, Nita Lake Lodge proudly re-defines upscale mountain comfort all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nita Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nita Lake Hotel Whistler
Nita Lake Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing