We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nita Lake Lodge, best staff ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nita Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nita Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nita Lake Lodge, best staff ever”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked 2 nights at Nita Lake Lodge through Expedia. Arrived to record setting heat and air conditioner out of order. Maintenance came right away when we checked in and said that previous guest had left all windows open, but it would cool down. We went to lunch and walked around for about 3 hours and it was still super hot. Maintenance brought a fan, but we had to prop the door to the hallway open to get any cool air coming in. No other rooms available, completely booked. We decided to tough it out for the night because we couldn't get a room elsewhere, but booked another place for the next night. The evening manager, Stephanie, was very apologetic and truly seemed to care. Upon going to check out the next morning the day manager, Nancy, approached us to see if we would reconsider staying if we got a new room, now available. Long story short, we could not have been more pleased with the outcome of our stay. The view is inspiring, the lake refreshing, food really great and staff completely awesome (except maint guy). Glen, the Canadian Cowboy, our shuttle driver to/from Whistler, was very helpful and entertaining, best ever! We highly recommend this unique and beautiful property to anyone heading Whistler way. Thanks, Nita Lake Lodge!!!

Room Tip: South facing rooms can get very warm in the summer. Obviously, rooms with a view of the lake are awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pelagir22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    272
    68
    20
    10
See reviews for
371
1,064
35
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nita Lake Lodge provided a fantastic sanctuary for us to return to after active days in Whistler and beyond. Staff here were engaging, friendly and really helpful in providing advice about where to go trekking. FYI - the answer is Joffre Lakes, if you're in Whistler in the summer months you absolutely must!

The rooms are big and comfortable, although disappointingly ours didn't have a view of the lake. However, it's the public areas that make Nita Lake Lodge. The bar area has a good vibe and is a relaxed setting for coffee in the afternoon, or drinks and snacks in the evening. You can definitely picture it buzzing during the high ski season.

An unexpected treat was the main restaurant. We eat really well, and certainly did on our BC trip, but the meal here was the highlight. Unexpected combinations that were packed full of flavour. We weren't sure about eating there as it wasn't particularly busy, but we are delighted we did.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Nita Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Andrew,
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge. It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Whistler - Joffre Lakes are definitely a 'must do' in the summer time!
We would love to welcome you back to the lodge in the future; perhaps to experience on of our stunning lake view suites or the excitement of the winter season!
Kind Regards,
Nancy Steward - Guest Relations Manager - nancy@nitalakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We picked this place b/c of previous TA reviews and a good rate, and from the start it exceeded our expectations. Wonderfully responsive & friendly staff, beautiful location, relaxing environment. We felt very well taken care of. Especially loved the free bikes & boats!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cguttentag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just completed a two week holiday to BC and our last four nights were at NLL in Whislter. Delighted this hotel is just outside the town itself so you have more peace and quite but just 10 min drive to the centre. Lovely lake - recommend a lake view too it's lovely. Great hotel, perfectly geared up for summer or winter sports. Excellent food too. Rented bikes, kayaks and a canoe. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Go for lake view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqua987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Nita Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your NLL experience with fellow travelers and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
I hope that we will see you again when you next visit Canada, be sure to contact us when you return!
Kindest Regards,
Nancy Steward - Guest Relations Manager - nancy@nitalakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Recently stayed in Nita Lake Lodge as part of our Honeymoon trip around BC. Stayed for two nights here and it was excellent. The location on the Lake was perfect for us and the hotel provided complimentary shuttle service into the Whistler village when we wanted to eat out on one of the nights. The staff could not have been more helpful and the meals at breakfast and dinner were fantastic!! Thanks again Samantha for all your help after we had stayed and hope you all have a great rest of summer!! Thanks.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the lake have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We treated ourselves, with sister/brother in law, to a luxurious weekend in Whistler and stayed in a gorgeous 2 room suite with lovely veranda overlooking the lake. Service was excellent. The hotel room is spacious and we had couldn't think of a thing that might be missing! It was very quiet - even on Saturday with a wedding. Kayaks, canoes and paddle boards typically available for the small lake outside the hotel, however, the SUP boards were cracked by someone the day we arrived so no such luck for us! It was a hot weekend (about 34C or so) and we kept our bikes on the many, long, paved trails along the valley bottom. Trail goes right in front of the hotel and we enjoyed the easy riding both days, stopping to swim in the lakes along the way. We had an excellent lunch on the patio and one good dinner in the hotel restaurant. We ate nearby for other meals.

The Rocky Mountaineer (passenger train route) stops right at the hotel and even the sound of the train was lovely - no late hour braking/horns etc - just the sound of a train going by or stopping.

It wasn't a cheap weekend but it was a lovely one!!

Room Tip: We stayed on lakeside but teh couple we were with says teh other side has view of the garden they us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chcobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Nita Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely weekend with us in Whistler and took full advantage of our lakeside location. I am so sorry that you were unable to try out the SUP boards on the lake - these have now been fixed and are back in action!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge again in the future and would love to help make your next stay even more special.
Kind Regards,
Nancy Steward - Guest Relations Manager - nancy@nitalakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I decided to spend an extended holiday weekend in Whistler before a concert in Vancouver as a nice getaway.

I chose Nita Lake Lodge first based on it's lakeside location, and second for it's great TA reviews. Our home is currently surrounded by noisy construction sites, so the idea of waking up to the sounds and sights of nature was exactly what we needed. Most of the other hotels are located within the villages, but I wanted to wake up with a water view. In order to guarantee a lake view, you have to book a Lake View Suite, which is an "upgrade" from a Suite or 1-2 Bedroom Suite.

The lodge itself is just the right mix of higher end decor but with a more resort casual vibe. You will feel just a comfortable walking around in your hiking gear or shorts and flip-flops as you would in a cocktail dress and heels.

We were given room 103, which was a short walk to pretty much everywhere in the lodge. The high loft ceilings made the room seem much bigger, and allowed for good air flow when we had the doors to the porch open. All of the furniture was very comfortable, and there was plenty of storage (two closets). There was a mini-kitchen with a sink, French press coffee set-up, hot water kettle, microwave, glassware, flatware, plates, bowls, wine opener, and mini-fridge (with tiny freezer shelf that was pretty much frosted over).

The bathroom was huge. There was a great walk-in shower, a big soaking tub (that had shutters that could open up to the bedroom window which looks out to the lake), a separate enclosed toilet, and a sink vanity with plenty of counter space. The towels and robes were just ok though, a bit scratchy from bleaching and *just* a tad on the smaller side. L'Occitane products were a nice bonus.

We had a nice view of the lake from both the living room window and the bedroom. The porch (balcony on higher floors) was in the bedroom area and opened up via Euro-style doors. We have these in our home and I love how they allow air flow, while still feeling secure. My only "problem" with this set up was the opening/closing of the curtains. The windows are floor to ceiling, so the little plastic pull handle thing to open the curtains was a bit too high up for me at 5' 4" to get the curtains open without some extra tugging and a bit of jumping around for leverage! The porch area is covered and there is a mostly-enclosed privacy wall between rooms, though if you knew your neighbors, you could probably slip through the opening to visit. The only downside is that you cannot walk down from the porch to the water or walk-path from the room.

Our room was relatively quiet. We could hear other guests talking in the hallways, but there were only a few rooms in our wing, so it wasn't a big deal. Rooms facing the lake or the pool, which is also lakeside, will definitely pick up the sounds of children playing due to the acoustics. There is a 10pm sound curfew. The only true annoyance was our neighbor's (above us?) dogs. I think they may have put them out alone on the balcony for an hour or so because they barked non-stop.

We had breakfast twice at the hotel's Fix Cafe. There were many pastries to choose from, both sweet and savory, as well as your usual espresso bar choices, and juice bar.

We had lunch one time at the Cure Lounge to watch one of the World Cup games. The food and service was quite good, but no sound on the tvs :( We also had late night drinks on the comfy lounge sofas in front of the fireplace.

One of the best features of the lodge were the free amenities. The shuttle was available to take you into the village and back by request, within minutes. There were canoes, kayaks, standing paddle boards, fishing poles, and bikes for guest use, without charge. We took a canoe out for an hour or so and saw fish jumping, a beaver building it's home, and a bald eagle hunting. The paved hiking path that goes all over the area and into the villages was right outside the hotel. The Rocky Mountaineer station is at the lodge itself, but the train noise is minimal and it actually adds to the ambiance.

The free wi-fi was decent, but it was constantly signing us out after a few minutes use most of our stay. The cafe had a surprisingly weak signal.

If you do not feel like going into the village for food, there are a few options within walking distance. There is also a nice little supermarket, a Starbucks, and BC liquor store at Creekside village across the street.

Every one of the staff was super friendly and never did we feel like we were bothering them with requests or questions.

Without doubt, we would stay here again.

I have uploaded a video showing our room. It's a bit blurry, I apologize!

Tips: Bring your binoculars to view the lake, mountains, etc. from your room. Also, do not miss the Farmer's Market (Wed & Sun), and if you are a bakery fan, Pure Bread in Function Junction (also at the Farmer's Market) is heaven.

Room Tip: Upgrade to lake view if you can afford it. Be aware that some of the first floor lake view rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
783 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nita Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nita Lake Lodge

Property: Nita Lake Lodge
Address: 2131 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#2 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nita Lake Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of a stunning glacier-fed lake in Whistler BC, we offer unique and authentic moments on every occasion. Join us at Nita Lake Lodge to experience a fresh take on classic whistler hospitality. Impossible to imitate; our oversized suites, a full-service spa , and innovative local cuisine are just the beginning. Discover how our genuine service with a personal touch will elevate your whistler experience. Take our courtesy shuttle for a short ride or wonder along the lake side trail to the heart of Whistler. Located in the village of Creekside, we are only 500 metres from the base of Whistler Mountain and the Creekside gondola. After a day of Whistler adventures return to your unique lakeside retreat. Named in the top 25 hotels in Canada by TripAdvisor year after year, Nita Lake Lodge proudly re-defines upscale mountain comfort all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nita Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nita Lake Hotel Whistler
Nita Lake Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing