We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always excellent food and service, great value”

Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar
Ranked #1 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$51
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 99
Transit: Reliable and frequent local transit service will drop you conveniently at our driveway.
Description: In its 23rd year, the Rimrock Café has delighted diners with its innovative, fresh cuisine and emphasis on the finest fish and game, artfully prepared with inventiveness and flair. The restaurant is consistently recognized as a local’s favorite for atmosphere, service and a sublime eating experience. Behind the large glass window of our lit cellar, all manner of wines from the glamorous and recognizable to the intriguing and new seem to hum seductively. Two fireplaces cast an ambient glow over the chatter and energy of our rustic dining room. In summer, enjoy your meal on a sunny patio. The seafood antipasto for two is the perfect start to your meal. Stunning presentation meets succulent, vibrant flavor among the six exquisite tasters. Try our Venison tenderloin, served with a porcini cream and homemade spatzle. For the seafood lover, our main course Trio is a harmony of seared Ahi, nut crusted Sablefish and grilled prawns. Complete your meal with Whistler's favorite desert.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always excellent food and service, great value”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We grab a meal at Rim Rock every time we visit Whistler and for good reason. This visit we had the 4 course for $49 menu selections, which was just the right amount of food and the ability to choose from a range was impressive. Excellent service every time we are there. Water glasses always full, right cutlery placed and just the right number of check ins. Highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Girly-Avanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    176
    51
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best we've had”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We are a family of 5 and 4 of us are picky eaters. To start off, we were seated at an excellent table and had one of the best servers we've ever had. Very personable, knowledgeable, and helpful. Between the 5 of us we ate a lot of different items off the menu and every single dish was perfection. Did I mention that 4 of us are picky? Salads, soup, mussels, foie gras, lamb, ahi, ceviche, risotto, sticky pudding, and chocolate cake. Simply divine and made for a very enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babaramdass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“One of Whistler's best restaurants”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I don't remember how long ago Rim Rock opened but it has been at least 20 years. We have been many times and I am finally writing a review to let TA readers know how good it is. In October, they run a special $45 - 4course "all inclusive", that let's you choose 1 app, 1 primi, 1 main and desert. There were at least 8 of each to choose. At our table of 4, where we share tastes, I had ceviche, a taste of lobster bisque, a scallop/pork belly combo, pan seared calamari, and that was just to start. We ordered lamb, venison, a trio of halibut, tuna & lobster, as mains. Everything was delicious, prepared just as we asked and a served perfectly. An extensive wine list with listing starting around $50 CAD. Desert only had a couple choices, maybe because we were eating late, but they were tasty too. Highly recommended if you are in Whistler.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Hazel. Awesome”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My Husband and I were considering this restaurant amongst a couple of others to have dinner at. I mentioned to a local lady that we were deciding where eat and she highly recommended the Rimrock Restaurant, so we made our reservations, and admit, we were curious to see if it lived up to its reputation. After our dining experience there we were blown away, It is That Good.. The special Fall menu, a 5 course meal for $45.00 had so many choices, in each category at least 5, except for dessert where you had 2 choices, both good. My husband loved the oysters, the scallops were to die for, the whole food experience was the best. Our Server was very good, we also liked the ambience there. It is on our list next time we come to Whistler, we'd be happy to pay full price.!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holiday002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rainy evening, cold and foggy and than you enter into Rim Rock”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It was a great dinner experience. Even that I have to admit, the welcome experience was better at Araxi, more warm and welcoming but otherwise the dinner was great. We took the 4 course dinner option for a great price and therefore it wasn't difficult to make us happy. The salad as course number one was good, not the best I have eaten but good, go rather for the other options which were better when trying the other starters. The remaining dishes were great, flavourful and we actually left without feeling that we had eaten too much. The atmosphere was great, the restaurant was full but you never had the feeling it was crowded. The service was attentive, friendly and engaging. You get more than what you pay and you leave after an evening with great food, wine and service. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAJonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing