We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
Review of Ciao-Thyme Bistro - CLOSED

Ciao-Thyme Bistro
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We provide fresh and healthy meals daily! The best espresso bar in the Upper VIllage!
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went there for breakfast and it was absolutely horrible. Service was ok but the food was the worst I've ever had in a restaurant. The hollandaise for the eggs benedict tasted disgusting (almost rotten). The hashbrowns were soggy and tasteless and the coffee was watered down and bland. Never ever again. There needs to be much more room between tables but with food like this, I'm sure someone else will take over and redo it. It sure needs it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tyger_lily181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    31
    8
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local alternative to Portobello”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nice little hole in the wall across from the Fairmont. Have the Huevos Rancheros breakfast. Good gooey cinnamon buns, too .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirkrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
997 reviews
708 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Come here! Locally sourced/organic where possible - really fabulous!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We ate here twice during our week stay and both times the food was stupendously good. Out of all the places we ate (including 21 Steps and Araxi) we felt this was by far the best.

This is a small/intimate bistro; it doesn't have the atmosphere of a very upscale/high end restaurant but it doesn't pretend to be anything that it isn't and it is not pretentious at all. It's very relaxed and you will be comfortable dressed up or casual...

The servers are super friendly; we had particularly good service from Nick on our second visit. The young lady who served us on the first visit was very helpful with the menu and took time to talk to us despite how busy they were and how exhausted we were after a 14 hour travel day! The chef also came over to ask us if we enjoyed everything; a nice touch for a small bistro.

Both times we were there it was very busy. You can see the chefs working in the kitchen and everything is prepared fresh/to order.

The mushroom risotto was the best we've ever had - absolutely fabulous... the salmon tartare was delicious as was the catch of the day (Mahi Mahi one time and Rock Fish the second) with the sundried tomato pesto (yummy!). Our friends had the catch of the day and the short ribs and they thought the short ribs were the best they'd had too.

For dessert, we had Apricot Bread Pudding and the Apple Tart Tatin; both of which were worth the calories :-)

Overall, we really felt that Ciao Thyme Bistro offers the best value for money in Whistler taking into account the quality and flavor of the food, the freshness of the ingredients, the service and the effort in presentation.

Absolutely excellent - will definitely be back... and if you are a foodie, you should definitely take time to come here during your stay... enjoy - you will :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Organic inspired food”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

My wife have been staying in the Blackcomb resort this week and have been eating at Whistler & Blackcomb and have found the Ciao-Thyme Bistro opposite the Fairmont Hotel to have excellent wholesome selection of meals for breakfast, lunch & Dinner. The staff are very friendly and have great coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Rexvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Skip it: Inattentive Service in Cramped Space”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We thought this place might do for lunch, but we were wrong. It took over an hour for a simple sandwich and breakfast burrito to show up, and while the waitress was pleasant, she just wasn't all there. Neither was the kitchen. There are other little spots for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank EKKColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao-Thyme Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing