We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable waffles”
Review of Crystal Hut

Crystal Hut
Ranked #46 of 191 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A cozy log cabin on Crystal Ridge famous for its all-day Belgian waffles made before your eyes and wood-oven baked lunch specialties. Located at the top of Crystal Chair on Blackcomb Mountain.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unbelievable waffles”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was told these were world class waffles but being a natural sceptic found this hard to believe for a tiny cabin perched on a hill, even one of the best skiing hills in the world! Once the waffle had been cooked I found myself a convert, these are really the best waffles I have ever seen. A wonderful way to fuel on a snowy day in the mountains - a must visit venue!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    65
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Crystal Hut is one of our favourite places to eat on Blackcomb. The waffles are amazing but the savoury choices are all delicious and wholesome. The soup, salad, gruyere bread combo was my favourite. If they added mulled wine to their menu I'd be even happier. It's always cold by the time you get to the top of Crystal Chair. Downside is the lack of space. I think they should close in one of the verandas to extend the dining area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 800fionas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Night Fondue and Skidoo - Amazing”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Night Fondue and Skidoo - Amazing experience, starts were awesome and the sight of pieste bashers at night was great

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaverickLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Service, Views and Waffles!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a must stop on any Whistler vacation. The Crystal Hut on Blackcomb has the best waffles I have ever had. Light and delicious! The service is always fantastic and it's a great way to start the day. Hit the Crystal Hut to carb up. Skip lunch and hit Apre at 2:45pm sharp to get a table at the GLC

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtibbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“MUST have the WAFFLES!!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Best waffles I've ever eaten! Fresh whipped cream, real chocolate shavings and fresh bananas make an excellent lunch on a bright, clear ski day! Good coffee too. Friends enjoyed their turkey chili, but were jealous of my waffles. Seating is tight - kind of like being on a charter flight. But friendly, happy, warm, sunny atmosphere makes it all good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Hut also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Crystal Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing