We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont leave this place off your list of "must do" restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Caminetto di Umberto

Il Caminetto di Umberto
Ranked #35 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Since it's 1981 debut, this restaurant remains King of the Mountain. Located in the heart of Whistler Village, Umberto Menghi's Il Caminetto expresses warmth and hospitality. Offering fine Tuscan cuisine at its very best accompanied by a large selection of international wines with the emphasis on Italian. Come for fun, relaxation, or romance to this cozy dining room, rich with colour and Italian charm. In the summer Il Caminetto's patio is the perfect place to "see and be seen" along Village Stroll. RESERVATIONS ON LINE FOR GROUPS UP TO 12 GUESTS ARE AVAILABLE. FOR LARGER GROUPS PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont leave this place off your list of "must do" restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have been visiting Whistler now for 14 years and have always had a great meal at this place.
The range of wines are unbelievable and the food never disappoints.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    150
    52
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“one of the best meals I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

my husband and I were tired after a long day of travelling so we wanted a nice dinner in a romantic settting and my husband loves Italian. I had the halibut with cannelloni beans and garlic butter sauce - it was devine

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SweetieLeagueCity_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sechelt
2 reviews
“over priced & overated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

my party of 4 trying to celebrate my 65 th birthday decided to have a nice meal at this establishment & as several friends have eaten there before over several years recommended to go here & I had eaten there probably 30 years ago decided OK .what a bad decision it turned out to be. The restaurant wasn't very busy ( July 31 st) but we were not treated as expected ( not that it was a big deal) but for a "fancy" restaurant" not impressive.now the food.... Apps Steamed Mussels were good but not all eatable ???then I ordered a basic Linguini Clam souce (how simple) the clams I think had swam upriver before the chef could cook them & the pasta was not cooked enough ,not wanting to make a scene I was quite prepared to eat the meal but my wife (who has eaten there several times in her younger years) discussed the problem with the waiter & a second meal was presented which was not much better than the first.now no explanation or apology was presented or an offer of a dessert or retribution of the mistake was offered, which I think in a supposed high class expensive establishment which was presented(as per advertising) was disappointing. I am not a chef but I know my own home made Pasta meals would put to shame what was offered to me on that evening.oh by the way my Wife,s & friends meals were acceptable & the wine was fine.I don't think that We will have a return visit as there are better restaurants in the area for the money (& service) shame as a great setting in a beautiful area of B.C. T&T Sechelt B.C.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suncoastkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We had a large group here for dinner. The service was great and the food was out of this world good!
I had the ossobuco for the main and it was perfect. The lemon tart was my choice for desert and again my taste buds cheered!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I used to come to this restaurant a lot, especially to bring clients or with my husband. Had dinner there on Saturday night and have to say that i will never go back. The food was absolutely terrible this time. The caprese salad was fine i guess, altough i asked for some fresh basil and never got it. Ordered the sablefish dish and it was seriously half the size i remembered it to be (actually i always take pictures so it was in fact maybe even a third of the portion) and it was so tasteless and gross. The crust was not what was mentioned on the menu, but stale breadcrumbs or something. There was a miniscule amount of spinach for veggies and that was all the veggies! it was laughable when the dish came out and how empty the plate was. I really wanted to send the plate back, but the server never came to say how our food was...jus the bus person to clear. It was ridiculous. My husband always has veal and thought it was the worst one he has ever had (the breading was way too much and again stale). SO, i was still hungry and asked if they have a cheese plate on the menu. This italian restaurant has no cheese plate on their dessert menu!! First time i have seen that. The server said he is sure the ''chef'' can put something together, only to come back 10 min later to say no, sorry, no cheese plate. So we opted for chocolate cake and it was a pre-made not impressive at all cake. So no pastry chef either, but they do charge like their are real chefs back there. Absolutely terrible. We went to Rim rock the night before and it was great! And Araxi for lunch and it was amazing, as usual and our lunch bill was $50 and I was full and our dinner bill was $250 and i was still hungry. Save your time and money, go to one the other restaurants (i know, the choices in the village are minimal).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Caminetto di Umberto also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Il Caminetto di Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing