We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sand & Sea B&B-Guest Suites
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Promenade Hotel(White Rock)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Peace Arch Inn(Surrey)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canadian Inn(Surrey)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our initial telephone call and meeting with the owner of this property left us feeling reasonably confident. However, after staying briefly we believe that this place needs to be checked out by health authorities!

For two nights we stayed in the kitchenette suite on the main level with patio door entry and immediately noticed that the air quality was exceptionally poor and experienced instant respiratory problems and headaches. The property smelled like mold and old carpet (the sort of smell old hotels had when they transitioned from smoking to non-smoiking rooms).

After we checked in we thought that perhaps a toxic cleaning agent was used that may have left a residue odour and so we inquired with the owner. We were disappointed with the owner's response: "Let's close the windows to see if I can smell the problem" (despite the odour being VERY obvious with the windows opened). During this meeting in our suite she noticed that the pilot light was off on the gas fireplace and she insisted that her son later relight it that evening. As it was 9pm and we were tired we declined and invited her to relight the pilot light the following day when we were at work. Wondering if the owner thought a gas leak from the shut off pilot valve might contribute to the odour problem we confirmed that the automatic CSA shut-off valve was working and that we did not need another intrusion that evening.

The following morning the owner asserted that we were hiding something from her by not wanting the pilot light lit the evening before, and...wait for it ... and then suggested that we were making things up and causing trouble as no other guests had encountered problems with the odour. We would have left on the spot however we had a major conference to speak at the next day and had to stay one more night.

We slept with all the windows open and the smell never left. After a poor night's sleep we awakened with sore throats.

Potential customers should be aware that there are additional problems with this suite:

1) the suite is NOT sound-proofed and noise from upstairs is very obvious;

2) there is no control of the air temperature in the suite;

3) the furniture is old and tired (the calendar on the side of the fridge is even covering a large rust spot;

4) the cheap plastic blinds don't operate;

5) there is a lack of privacy (as if the owner was going to enter the suite at any time).

While the owner initially seemed amicable, her mood quickly changed to blaming us for her increased stress caused by our concern about the odour in the suite. She even told us: "I don't need this stress".

Yikes! Stay away!

Room Tip: It is rare to encounter such a substandard property.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Intrepid_Pursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Sand and Sea was a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in the "Fireplace Suite". It was a fully furnished 1 bedroom, gas fireplace, full kitchen and full bathroom. It has it's own entrance and a private garden patio. The place was very clean and Helen is a wonderful host. Our favourite part about was the privacy that we had. Helen was welcoming and made a very tasty breakfast. The rate is fantastic and it's only 2 blocks from White Rock's beautiful beachfront. I've stayed there twice now and I'm going back again next month!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mand79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were at the end of a BC holiday and were very tired so when we visited the White Rock Tourist Information centre and with the excellent help from Anne, the assistant there, we settled on Sand and Sea and what a win that was.We had a beaut downstairs unit where we wanted for nothing. Helen, the owner anticipated every need and we wanted for naught. Staying here was more like visiting family and we enjoyed every moment of our 3 nights there. Position wise, just a couple of minutes walk to the beach front where there is a nice walk along the esplanade and also shops and eating places to be had there.Sand and Sea is a B&B that we would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank telmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews