We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay and in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay and in great location”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This seems to be the only oceanfront hotel, at least in East Beach White Rock. We came to stay, having twice passed through White Rock by train and thought it looked worth a visit. As most trains in small Canadian towns pass the Main Street and we had travelled by train, we knew the line was immediately next to the promenade and before the marine road and first line of buildings, and so might be noisy.
The Booking.com site offered a king or two queen bed room as standard, so we booked the former, only to discover that this meant a room overlooking the back and service area. The receptionist did change our oom to a lager and two queen room partially overlooking the oceanfront. The downside was that it was the " junior" room to another that could be let as a suite, so our window directly looked onto the other room's balcony.
The room itself was clean, light and modern. The bed was comfortable, the a/ c masked he train noise ( and the horn is not sounded at night). There was a fireplace, coffee skier, fridge,free wi fi, telephone and a large flatscreen TV. Good storage with mirrored doors and which added to the light and apparent size of the room. The bathroom was well equipped and clean and modern.
We paid $10 to park the car underground, perhaps a little high but there was metered parking on the nearby streets.
We did not eat at the hotel coffee shop.
We were quite surprised to read the negative reviews of rooms and which did not match our experience at all.

Room Tip: Clarify what view you will get for the bed type and price. Be aware that you may be overlooking and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We thank you for your comments. We are indeed the only hotel in White Rock.
You have described what comes included in the room well. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    103
    43
    24
    16
See reviews for
70
117
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice, first time was great, second time, not so great! They have one door leading to 2 separate room doors, which, if occupied, can become quite noisy, as the hotel was not busy, they put people beside us, which if they look outside their window, they will see us on our deck! So we asked to be moved! They moved us to a room across the hall. They said no one would be in the adjoining room, as we were concerned about be woken up in the middle of the night, the staff assured us, they would not put someone in the room next to us! They did, and those people were partiers, and I was correct on the room being noisy, and being woken up at 2-3:30, from someone pounding on outside door, to the 2 rooms, apparently his friend went home earlier with the key! He wasn't dressed fully, and had a lot to drink, as we could not understand his words, and we told him to get the front desk to give him another key, which he did, and then when he got in his room, woke up his buddy to keep on talking till at least 4:30!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 999dano007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
When the hotel is full, as it was that evening, we do make use of all available rooms. Please let us know when there is a noise disturbance as our staff will deal with the situation. We apologize for any miscommunication or discomfort you may have experienced during your stay and hope we can make your stay a better one next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Since moving abroad in 2011 we've been staying at the Ocean Promenade to visit relatives living nearby. The place used to be a great value, with recently renovated rooms. Though some of the renovations hadn't been well thought out -- e.g. closets too narrow to properly hang a garment bag or even a man's suit -- most of the finishes were of decent quality with a European influence. The laminate floors, in particular, were a nice change from "dirt-haven" carpet.

However, our last couple of visits, last Christmas and in late August, have been disappointing. At Christmas, we did choose one of the cheapest rooms, which are at the back of the hotel and lack the larger bathrooms and laminate floors of the units in the front half, closer to Marine Drive. It was chilly, with the only heating an inadequate hotel-style dual purpose AC/heating unit. We had a very long walk to the only stairs and elevator available to reach the parking garage or lobby and street level.

When booking for my stay last month, I selected a room two price levels above the previous one, hoping to be in the newer front part of the hotel. We were close to the elevator this time, but just above and beside the entrance to the underground parking, in a handicapped room (though we didn't require it). This room had a moldy smell due to flooding. We could see the buckling edges on the strips of laminate on the floor in the main living/sleeping area. The dishwasher and/or handicapped shower had obviously flooded the room and a proper restoration hadn't been done.

The next day, after complaining about the moldy smell, we were moved to an identical room, also on the first floor, this one at ground level. Here, the sliding door onto the balcony appeared tight, and once I'd got it open, I realized there was no way I was going to be able to shut it. These are huge floor-to-ceiling sliders, quite a bit bigger and heavier than the normal type.

Unfortunately, by the time my husband and I had determined it would be impossible to close and secure the sliding door, it was time to leave for an 8 PM dinner reservation. Rather than leave our laptops and tablet in the room, we had to take them to the front desk and leave them with the clerk there. I did have a some jewellery in the room also, but it was well hidden, so I took my chances with it. The clerk was apologetic, but there wasn't much she could do about the door as the maintenance man had gone home for the evening.

Later the next day, after we returned from being out, the balcony slider was reinstated to its original position when we'd arrived in the room. It would have been foolhardy to try and use that balcony again! I'm sure the result would have been identical to the first time, and we wouldn't have been able to close and secure the door once we'd opened it. We didn't dare to try.

Not much point having a higher-priced room with a balcony when you can't even use the balcony.

When we checked out at the end of our unsatisfying 5-night stay, there was a lady checking out ahead of us complaining about her stay, as well. The day desk clerk -- a different one from the apologetic lady who'd been there the evening we had the problem with the door -- listened impassively. I don't believe any adjustment was made in her case, and no adjustment was offered in our case, either, despite restating both problems we'd encountered, and pointing out we'd been unable to use our balcony for three days out of the four we were in that room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We have taken note of your comments and concerns and will be taking necessary action to improve the situation. We want to thank you for staying with us over the years and we will strive to make your stay a better one in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettingen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

At check in we got an upgrade. we slept in a one bedroom suite with 2 queens, it was fantastic. the staff were very friendly and the hotel is very comfortable and clean. it's a great place to stay, we would book it again! it was the last night for us in beautiful Canada befor flying back to switzerland and we enjoyed it very. many thanks again for the agreeable upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandfly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We would have gladly moved to another hotel upon discovering blood-stained sheets on our bed but that was not an option since we were travelling with a 97-yr-old who was already asleep in the adjoining room. We overlooked the bathing suit left by the previous occupant, the noisy trains and the doorstop which my husband reattached but the bloody sheet at 10 pm could only be rectified by placing a clean sheet over the surface and attempting to sleep. I have never had such a disgusting night. No offer of compensation was made.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Several hours after check in, the guests made us aware of the situation.
We offered right away to change their room in which they declined the offer.
The guest made the decision to stay in the room and we supplied them with all the extra bedding that was requested. The guest was offered a substantial discount on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a two bedroomed room to accommodate our family of five and it was huge. Nice kitchen, lounge area and two bathrooms. We had two double beds and one king size. Its nice and close to the beach and there are lots of places to eat along the beach front. We found the staff to be friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. You had mentioned the suite was large, it is indeed a full 1100 square feet and makes for a comfortable stay for a family. We appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

When I checked in, I requested a quiet room since I had been traveling all day and was completely exhausted. Instead, I was placed in a room directly over the pub adjacent to this hotel. There is only a narrow alley between the pub and the hotel. The pub had a live music band and an open door with drunk patrons partying late into the night. I asked to be moved at 1:00am in the morning. I was reluctantly moved by the night manager and then further reprimanded in the morning by the unpleasant, defensive manager at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelnotebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Rock
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
South Surrey
Best Western Peace Arch Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Semiahmoo Resort
#1 of 3 in Blaine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Promenade Hotel

Property: Ocean Promenade Hotel
Address: 15611 Marine Dr, White Rock, British Columbia V4B 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > White Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Promenade Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Promenade White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing