We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

After reading all the reviews we were a little nervous to try it out but the hotel options in the area are not plentiful nor highly rated. Glad we decided to try it for ourselves as we were pleasantly surprised! It is true that it is an older hotel and the front lobby could use the help of an interior designer to update it but no concerns. The room was renovated, modern and very nice. It was clean with the exception of the carpet which was in need of what should be a regular maintenance cleaning. There are a number of options for rooms and our choice did not have a view but was still very nice. People comment on the proximity of the trains and it is true but we found the sound of the trains not excessive and added to the experience. There is a little place to eat in the building that is very comfortable and has great food. It is nice to go for breakfast without leaving the hotel area and we sat enjoying the sun and the ocean and noted the locals enjoy it too. The hotel is right on the main street and shopping and restaurants are only steps away. I'd stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ocean view is obviously the best choice but the other rooms cost much less and you are right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
It is great to hear that you were pleasantly surprised. We do maintain and update our rooms quite often. We are in the process of doing a full replacement of carpets for the entire hotel to better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    102
    41
    24
    16
See reviews for
69
114
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is in a good location on Marine Drive in White Rock, BC. It has been socked in with fog for the last three days but such a good location to enjoy the beach and walk. Restaurants are nearby. I find this hotel very clean, nicely decorated, with a responsive front desk. I am picky but have found not found the negative reviews to be accurate in my three night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We love our location here on the beaches of White Rock and we are glad you do too! Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Canada and had a great time. The room had a kitchen, so it was easy to get up and have something to eat before heading out for a morning walk. The hotel is at the beginning of a water side walkway, a long promenade. The mornings were clear and crisp. A lot of fun shops and restaurants are all right outside the hotel. Luba at the front desk was very helpful with directions and information about the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We want to thank you for staying at our hotel. We are glad you had a great time. It is indeed a beautiful walk along the ocean and there are many high quality shops and restaurants along the waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I did not get much sleep either because of the train or because of the neighbours, who were not really trying to be nasty, but the walls were just without any noise isolation. You could even hear the people talking next door.
Breakfast was really nice in the cafe downstairs, but the carpets and the corridors smelled of food and had spots all over. Really expensive for the conditions it offers, never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djasta_Prasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not get much sleep while staying with us. We do our best to offer our guests a good night's sleep and clean comfortable place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mission
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel on a Saturday, September 21st, When I checked in, the reservation was originally for 2 people and I wanted to change it to 4. When I called the front desk to do so the front desk agent was quick to make a comment along the lines of "there better not be a party in the room", (which I found funny after what we had to listen to all night). We were out at a concert and got back to our room at 1am that night. A short while after, while trying to sleep, at 1:45 am I had to call the desk because the room next door to us had a guy yelling. Then again at 4:30 am, I called the desk and night "security" said he would have someone go up there right away. At no point did the yelling and doors slamming open and shut ever stop during this period of time (not sure what the security was doing). Then by the 3rd time I had to call the desk just shortly after 5am to tell them that the noise was still on going, the front desk agent (male) told me that it was a girlfriend and her boyfriend fighting. He didn't attempt to do anything about it, nor did security. I still don’t understand why I had to listen to this all night long, and they were not kicked out!!!!! For someone who works in the hospitality industry, I understand things can happen; This was attended to very poorly. I have called the hotel 2 times since to speak to a manager and haven’t received a phone call back, and it's been a week since I contacted them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammera21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Checked into this hotel for a one night stay. Finally got into our room after the 'accepted' check in time only to find our room was not yet cleaned. Pretty big turn off to start the stay. Staff came to the room quickly though to clean it but when I saw the maid wipe down the bathroom mirror and sinks and then use the same towel to wipe out the coffee mugs, well, turn off #2 ensued. The carpets were dirty. The beds were ok. The design of the place is strange and could certainly be a problem as the deck of one unit is right outside the bedroom window of the next unit. If you happen to have a partying neighbour, this would not be a fun night. Location was nice being right across from the water and walking distance to the beach shopping area but the hotel needs a major face lift to make this accommodation acceptable to the high prices charged.

Room Tip: They say the rooms facing the front have more noise due to the bars across the street. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0sey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This seems to be the only oceanfront hotel, at least in East Beach White Rock. We came to stay, having twice passed through White Rock by train and thought it looked worth a visit. As most trains in small Canadian towns pass the Main Street and we had travelled by train, we knew the line was immediately next to the promenade and before the marine road and first line of buildings, and so might be noisy.
The Booking.com site offered a king or two queen bed room as standard, so we booked the former, only to discover that this meant a room overlooking the back and service area. The receptionist did change our oom to a lager and two queen room partially overlooking the oceanfront. The downside was that it was the " junior" room to another that could be let as a suite, so our window directly looked onto the other room's balcony.
The room itself was clean, light and modern. The bed was comfortable, the a/ c masked he train noise ( and the horn is not sounded at night). There was a fireplace, coffee skier, fridge,free wi fi, telephone and a large flatscreen TV. Good storage with mirrored doors and which added to the light and apparent size of the room. The bathroom was well equipped and clean and modern.
We paid $10 to park the car underground, perhaps a little high but there was metered parking on the nearby streets.
We did not eat at the hotel coffee shop.
We were quite surprised to read the negative reviews of rooms and which did not match our experience at all.

Room Tip: Clarify what view you will get for the bed type and price. Be aware that you may be overlooking and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We thank you for your comments. We are indeed the only hotel in White Rock.
You have described what comes included in the room well. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Rock
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
South Surrey
BEST WESTERN Peace Arch Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newton
BEST WESTERN King George Inn & Suites
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Promenade Hotel

Property: Ocean Promenade Hotel
Address: 15611 Marine Dr, White Rock, British Columbia V4B 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > White Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Promenade Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Promenade White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing