We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This property is at the east end of "East Beach" area of White Rock, BC and is right on Marine Drive, separated from the water front by the road and the railroad tracks. We were a little confused as to where to stay from some of the descriptions listed and finally chose this hotel for its location and as a good place to start for someone unfamiliar with the area. We live in the Seattle area and are frequent visitors to British Columbia, but we have always bypassed White Rock on the way to Vancouver, Victoria or Whistler. White Rock is barely across the international border and we had actually been through there earlier on the train on our way to embarking on a cruise out of Vancouver, it looked like an interesting place to visit and we finally did.

Ocean Promenade is a small hotel, with 3 floors above the main floor -- our room had a water view. The room was a typical "linear" room with the entry-bathroom-beds-sitting area-window layout found in the vast majority of hotel/motels around. There was deck outside our window but that was accessible only from the adjoining unit. One unusual thing was that you used your key card which let you into a small vestibule with two doors to either the "a" or the "b" unit -- ours was the "b" unit, only slightly inconvenient.

The staff was pleasant and accommodating and the room was clean and the beds comfortable. Some have down-rated this property due to the close proximity to the railroad and passing trains. We did not find this to be objectionable and didn't hear any whistles at night or passing trains for that matter and this is on the main line between Seattle and Vancouver.

Room Tip: There is absolutely no counter space in the bathrooms, plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on the hotel. It's great to see you visiting White Rock and we hope you will make another trip back here sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    102
    41
    24
    16
See reviews for
69
115
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed just one night in the hotel ad had a very pleasant time. White Rock is not Las Vegas! but is a proper seaside town with a nice promenade, lots of cafes and small restaurants and a few bars/pubs slightly spoiled possibly for some by a railway that is between the town and the beach. Trains are noisy but infrequent and none at night that we heard.
Our room (203) was lovely spacious, clean and with a large jacuzzi bath in the bedroom !! as well as a living room and balcony overlooking the beach.
Probably our only ever visit because it is a long way from the UK but if we were here again we would certainly choose this hotel. Breakfast in a small cafe attached was great! friendly, tasty & good value

Room Tip: The best room is 203 ... try and get that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are honored to have you stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you next time you travel out this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

When we got there it was nice, but the walls a really thin. The way the rooms are set up, we had to walk through the hotel, then back outside, then we had to use our key to get down a hallway, followed by being in a hallway with only two rooms, one of which was ours. Our neighbors had multiple children and we were able to hear the crying a great deal of the night. The rooms were relatively expensive and we did not have a scenic view. Still, the people were friendly and the hotel was along the main road by the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the noise experienced with the neighboring guests. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and hope that we can continue to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My boyfriend and I rented a Jacuzzi suite specifically for the Jacuzzi. When we arrived, we began to fill the tub, and then turned on the jets. The sound of the jets was so loud, we had to shout to hear each other. Not exactly romantic! Not only that, but the jets vibrated against the side of the tub, so when we laid our heads against the tub, we got headaches from the shaking. The tub obviously needed some maintenance.

When we called to switch rooms, the woman at the front desk was very understanding, and said she would look into it, but then didn't call us back for 2 hours. By that time we had unpacked and started making dinner, so we didn't want to pack up and move. We asked for a discount on our stay because of the malfunctioning Jacuzzi and she said she would leave a note for the manager. The following morning the manager still hadn't been in to the hotel, and the new woman at the front desk couldn't do anything to rectify the situation. No complimentary breakfast vouchers, no offering to pay for our parking, nothing.

We emailed the manager as soon as we got home, but didn't receive a reply for 2 days. He refused to do anything to make up for our recent stay except offer $50 off our next stay. Not only were we disappointed in the Jacuzzi, we were upset that his staff a) forgot us, and b) couldn't do anything in the morning to make up for it, and caused us to leave frustrated and cheated. Because of this, we have no plan to return, not even for a $50 voucher. Hotels should have staff on duty at all times that can handle matters such as this, instead of having to say "you'll have to speak to the manager" every single time, or being too busy to help guests. We do not recommend staying at this hotel. And if you do, don't expect much service.

And although we knew the hotel had train tracks next to it, we didn't expect to hear trains going by all night. Plus, the mini fridge motor made noises all night. We had to wear earplugs to get to sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure if you book a Jacuzzi room, to test it out before you unpack, and if not functioning prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vancouvergal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We apologize that the guest feels their stay was not a positive one. We do hold true that the guest is always right, but in this circumstance we were unable to please the unreasonable demands dictated by the guest that have not been mentioned here. The allegations made by the guest were simply not substantiated. We always strive for excellence in customer service. Unfortunately, we could not deliver on this guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first trip to whiterock. Beautiful location right across from the beach, and walking distance to many shops and great fish n chip joints. We were on the first floor , and had a partial ocean view. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the minute we booked. The rooms were very clean, decently roomy. The Train horn is loud , but that will be an issue with any of the hotels because the main line runs right along the beach. We were very happy with our hotel choice and if will stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out kahuna fish n chips just down the road , their fish and chips are the best out of all that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McCherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your review on the hotel. We are indeed in a beautiful location on the beaches of White Rock and there are many great little shops and restaurants along the strip here to enjoy. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in the Ocean Promenade Hotel for a one night stop to attend a party in White Rock. We were well received in reception and our room was ready. The room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. The only drawback was the train rolling by both day and night. Of course that is not the fault of the hotel - I guess it is part of living on the waterfront in White Rock but it does detect from the night's sleep. The upside of being on the waterfront is the beautiful view. Check out was smooth and uneventful so, overall, our stay was a success.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripster91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We do strive to make our guest's experience a better than average stay. We take pride in providing an clean and comfortable stay as well as excellent customer service throughout your stay. We hope to get the chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I travel with a small dog and this is a pet allowed hotel. The pet rooms are at the very back of the hotel where there is an outside hallway. Road noise is present if you have a window open. Sounds really amplify in the outside hallway as there is another building very close - creating a sound trap. A train passes by, across the street from the hotel, numerous times per day AND night, sounding it's horn loud and clear.
There are only two pet friendly room options - a small room with one queen bed for $114.00/night or a 1 bedroom suite. I was quoted a variety of prices for the suite...$134, $164, $174 & $194! This was all in one day! My 1 queen bed, pet room was in rough shape and very disappointing. The 80's style quilted bedspread had holes in it and was too big for the bed - bunching up on the floor. The room was so small and tight that there was literally no place to put your suitcase except on the desk, leaving no room for anything else. There was only room to turn around, no chair .... no space. The open door nearly reaches the bed! The bathroom is also small. The door barely cleared the toilet. The shower gave a "biting" spray and there was no vanity - just a sink with a tiny cupboard below. There is no place to put toiletries! The rug was dirty and had numerous cigarette burns despite this bring a non- smoking hotel. When I arrived the toilet had been used and not flushed - calling into question the level of housekeeping! I had to ask them to clean the bathroom.

The room configuration at this hotel is a little different. There is a main door to the room number (Eg 216). Once through that door you enter a little foyer where you go to either "A" or "B". I was in 216-B. 216-A was the 1bedroom suite. It is a little frightening to be caught in the foyer trying to get into your room when you hear a very large dog trying to get through the door to the other suite. I could only keep praying the people in that room would NOT come out or in when I was as it would be very close in that foyer. As a single female, it was frightening every time I went into that foyer because at THAT moment you are in a confined space totally unable to flee if the person in the other room was the least bit aggressive. Then add dogs that might fight in confined space! Not good.
There was a lot of noise transfer from the 1 bedroom suite attached to my room. I found I could hear my neighbours conversations as well as what, exactly!, they were doing in the bathroom. I had to turn up my TV to keep from hearing their every word!

I voiced my concerns about the lack of space, the state of repair in the room and the horror of finding the toilet used on arrival. There was NO attempt to try to make the negatives better. It was almost like they really didn't care. I had to ask them to have housekeeping return to the room to clean the bathroom on that first day.

This hotel is one of very few hotels in the area that are pet friendly? It was a hotel with more class than others close by that are pet friendly. It seems to have hone downhill over the past 3-5 years. I find it quite disheartening that so many hotels, like this one, seem to let their pet rooms fall into disrepair. It is almost like you cannot enjoy a quality product if you have a dog. You must put up with dirty, burnt carpet and bedding with holes!

Room Tip: "A" Suites closer to the front of the building have balconies and nice views of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogopogo-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize that you did not find your room suitable for you. We do agree with you that as a pet owner, your choice of rooms that are available to you are quite limited unless you stay in one of our pet suites. However, we have many other rooms and suites that are very nicely kept up and quite spacious and we receive many compliments daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Rock
South Surrey
BEST WESTERN Peace Arch Inn
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Ramada Surrey/Langley
#2 of 18 in Surrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Promenade Hotel

Property: Ocean Promenade Hotel
Address: 15611 Marine Dr, White Rock, British Columbia V4B 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > White Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Promenade Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Promenade White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing