We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay was as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star of the Sea B&B
Ranked #1 of 16 White Rock B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2nd Stay was as good as the first”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We've now stayed at this fabulous B&B twice. Susan and Keith are fabulous hosts and their breakfasts are worth the cost of admission. We recommend it highly. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and comfortable. The views are fabulous. Susan and Keith were most helpful with day trip and restaurant recommendations. We will definitely be back a third time.

Room Tip: Both rooms available are excellent. The large one with the spa tub would be great for a single. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kudzulicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My second visit, love this B&B, they opened their home to my friends and myself. Five of us had the best vacation and the most incredible breakfast every morning, not to mention the view of the ocean. They know the area and help you plan your day with plenty of fun things to do. Thank you Keith and Susan. NP

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank np02404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My daughter and I lucked out with the choice of Star of the Sea B&B in White Rock.
It is ideally located for short day trips to The George Riefel Bird Sanctuary in Delta and Boundary Bay in Surrey, among other places. We were treated to 30+ Snowy Owls, Sandhill Cranes that ate out of our hands and a wide variety of other birds, esp. abundant the Spotted Towhee (aka western race of the Rufous Sided Towhee), Northern Pintail, Bald Eagle, Great Blue Heron. :)
Susan and Brian are terrific hosts and went out of their way to facilitate our birding endeavours.
The clean accomodations are top notch ( very comfortable beds) and the breakfasts yummy, balanced and well thought out.
Go enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marylou234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

make this B&B a rare find. The minute you walk in the door you experience the hospitality and friendliness of the hosts (Susan and Keith). They go out of their way to make your stay special from serving tasty gourmet breakfasts to providing information on sights, things to do and transportation. Their home is beaufitul and each suite is spacious and comfortable. I loved waking up to a view of the ocean from my bed (Seaforever suite). Finally, the location is ideal - close to the ocean, boutiques, restuarants and downtown Vancouver. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Let me start by saying that this is my first foray into trip advisor reviewing. Since I use it myself to book accomodation, I thought I would start participating and giving back. In terms of my accomodation at the Star of the Sea, the actual room was fine and suited our needs well. But, there were a couple of things about the hosts that left us uncomfortable staying there. I must say that the hosts were quite condescending towards us at times - not very welcome when you're paying to be there. I found this quite unneccessary. In addition, the woman gave us erroneous information about public transport into Vancouver that ended up taking us an extra 45min through Surrey. Clearly, she did not know the public transport system well. In addition, we found the openness of the house left for little privacy in "house spaces" like the living room or dining room as it is open concept. This was particularly noticeable when the owners were entertaining non-b&b guests in their house one night and were quite jolly and noisy. Considering we had to get up at 5am, this was not welcome, and was quite inappropriate.

I don't like giving a negative review, but I've been to many b&bs and by nature the owners are usually lovely and welcoming. But, this stay stands out in my mind as negative because of the owners' demeanour that really made us feel uncomfortable staying there and giving them our business. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Annatravels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We've stayed here for the past two Xmas seasons and couldn't have found better accomodation. Susan and Keith are gret hosts, the house is kept extremely clean, and the varied culinary creations in the morning are excellent. its also quiet. Go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up looking over the ocean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: South eastern room is quite stunning. We always stay in the southwestern jack and jill suite in ord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharingasecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Ontariio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at the Star of the Sea B&B in White Rock BC, for one night unfortunately, it was beautiful, the rooms facing the water offered a wonderful view and were clean and comfortable.

Our hosts, Susan and Keith were great and offered helpful information of the area. Susan's French toast was fantastic. Their home is the best B&B we have stayed in, we wish we were able to stay longer. Regards David & Kerry Sudbury Ontario

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Rock
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
274 reviews
South Surrey
Best Western Peace Arch Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Donna's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 16 in White Rock
6 reviews
Ocean Rose Bed And Breakfast
#2 of 16 in White Rock
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star of the Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star of the Sea B&B

Property: Star of the Sea B&B
Address: 1107 Fir Street, White Rock, British Columbia V4B 4A7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > White Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in White Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Star of the Sea B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Star of the Sea, an elegant White Rock bed and breakfast on the sunny southern coast of British Columbia, in a truly unique seaside resort. Known for its sunshine, sand, incredible seascapes, White Rock enjoys one of the most moderate climates in all of Canada.Star of the Sea White Rock Bed and Breakfast is strategically located one block from the main street and three blocks up from Semiahmoo Bay, with ample parking, this is a beautiful place to come and enjoy. Our comfortable bed and breakfast guest suites and delicious breakfast wonderfully complement your seaside strolls on two kilometers of red-bricked oceanfront promenade. Each bed and breakfast suite features elegant furnishing, fine linens, sitting areas and unparalleled views of Mount Baker and the Pacific Ocean.Near our White Rock bed and breakfast you will enjoy picking and poking around on the simply delightful main street. You will also experience the barefoot invitation of the sandy tidal beaches surrounding the historic wooden pier and giant white rock. In no time, you'll be caught up in Marine Drive's carnival atmosphere, the boutiques, boardwalk and wide range of restaurants to choose from.Our White Rock Bed and Breakfast is...Close at hand to Rapid Transit routes into Richmond, Vancouver Airport and Downtown venues close to a great selection of 15 golf courses 3 blocks from beach / promenade shops and restaurants 35 minutes to Vancouver and BC ferries to Victoria and Gulf Islands 2 hours to Seattle, Washington or Whistler Ski Resort close at hand to kayaking, boat charters, hiking, bird and whale watching,art galleries, spas, theaters and so much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star of the Sea B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing