We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitoba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gangler's North Seal River Lodge
Ranked #14 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Manitoba
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Maria Lake mini lodge. Let me say that the fishing was excellent, however, the accommodations were not as advertised. For example, it was advertised as having tackle available at the mini lodge, there was none. It was advertised as having laundry facilities available, the dryer has been gone since 2012. It was advertised as having a full bar, there was beer, pop and water. The grounds were in need of repair, the dock was falling apart and our hot water was piped in from another cabin, just to name a few items. The camp manager and cook were great, and of course, the new friends we made were terrific.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kadcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Owner at Gangler's North Seal River Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Nowhere in our website, brochure, or other documents is the mini-lodge described as having a full bar or a tackle shop. Those are only available at our main lodge. Maria is designed as a combo between the main lodge and an outpost. I am sorry the guest misunderstood this. On the grounds, Maria is a great spot but will be receiving some needed TLC next year. Included in that will be placing the propane dryer and a new floating dock. I am glad he enjoyed the fishing, it is an awesome lake. We are in one of the most remote areas of Canada and getting replacement parts is sometimes difficult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Maria Lake mini lodge. It is advertised and promoted as a five star outpost. The fishing was very good. The overall trip was good but lacking some very basic accomodations.
First we had to wait almost three hours to get a plane to the outpost. They do not have large enough or enough planes to accomodate the guests. When we arrived we found boats that are old and worn out. The props were mangled with no spares until later in the week. One boat leaked so bad you needed to run the water out every two hours. There were no ropes so we had to piece some together to tie up. The generator went out for a day and a half. All. Of this would have been OK since we were at an outpost however this was priced as five star. The food was fair. One day we got a hamburger for lunch. Thats right a hamburger no chips no nothing. Perhaps the worst part was recieving our bill for beverages. I pre ordered beer soda and booze. The office in FL told me it was cheaper than buying at the lodge. What we found out is they charge $6 for beer $3 for water,$5 for soda and $150 a bottle for scotch. Our bill for 8 guys just for beverages. Was $4500. When we complained he basicaly called me a liar about the pre order info from the office and promptly blamed everything on the camp managers. Don't go here there are much better locations. I have booked over thirty trips to Canada. This was not the worst but it was the worst value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sergei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Owner at Gangler's North Seal River Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Unfortunately, not the full story. The costs or logistics we are dealing with in such a remote destination are hard for some guests to comprehend. We operate in one of the most remote areas of Canada, just 180 miles NW of Churchill, Manitoba, 200 miles from the closest road. Our mini-lodge is situated 32 air miles away from our main lodge where I am based. Our camp managers are paid excellent salaries and are expected to prepare all meals to our standards, maintain and repair the camps and order replacement parts as needed (rope, props, etc.) . As per Sergei’s review, they did not do their jobs properly. Ultimately, we are responsible for that and their performance was unacceptable so a change will be made in 2014. The repairs needed at this camp are minor, mostly maintenance and small repairs. On the generator, I flew a mechanic over 120 miles by floatplane to fix it, the problem turned out to be a clogged waterblock filter that took 1 minute to change and the manager could easily have done as the part was onsite. After receiving Sergei’s complaint, I sent him two emails, one with the mechanic’s direct contact info so he could speak to him directly but he never contacted him. Regarding the beverage bill, we must pay an expediter to pick items up in Winnipeg, then fly it 640 miles to our main lodge, then another 32 miles to the mini-lodge he stayed at by floatplane. The freight cost is over $ 3 a lb. A can of beer in Canada is over $ 2 a can retail and liquor is much more expensive than the US. The group ordered 3 bottles of McCallan 12 year-old single-malt which retails for over $ 100 a bottle at the Manitoba Liquor Commission. I sent Sergei the MLC contact info so he could verify it but I assume he did not. If he had not preordered beverages, the cost would have been even higher as it would have required another special plane flight. I did not infer Sergei was a liar and supplied him with info and contact numbers so he could research the truth himself and make a fair assessment. Our prices were only slightly higher in 2014 than 13 and we always share the beverage costs with our guests beforehand.
We pride ourselves on providing a great trip and Maria is a special place. I had several groups visit in 2013 who had a great time and are returning. I agree with some of Sergei’s review and the end result of his trip is my responsibility. Those items will be fixed in 2014 and guests traveling to Maria will enjoy a very special fishing destination. I would be more than glad to work with Sergei’s group on some of their issues should they wish to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our four days at the main lodge and three days at the Bain Lake outpost was a chance to discover the unspoiled nature of northwest Manitoba. Although fishing was the main attraction for many visitors, a colleague and I were conducting bird surveys. We were well rewarded by a good diversity of bird species, as well as signs of many kinds of northern mammals, such as wolves, caribou, bears, beavers, otters and wolverines. Eskers and remote beaches made hiking a lot easier and more pleasant than had we been restricted to stomping through muskeg! The managers and staff at the main lodge, and the outpost manager and his wife, all made our stay very enjoyable and comfortable, for which we are very grateful. The lodge and cabins, the food and accommodations were all excellent and highly recommended. It was hard to imagine that WIFI and other facilities of modern civilization would be found at such a remote location! The Bain Lake outpost was a 25 minute ride in a float plane. It was more rustic but comfortable nonetheless with well maintained boats and a helpful manager. I am sure that the other outposts would be of similar high standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichJohnStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
170 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I've been to the Gangler's Lodge many times...but never stayed in it. When you touchdown at the landing strip, it's a short walk to the lodge. There is nothing but wilderness for miles and miles. The inside is very nice, decorated like you would expect a wilderness lodge to be. I've seen the food the guests are served and it always looks delicious! Things are clean and well taken care of. The cabins appear to be small, but I can't speak for the inside of them. I've fished with Gangler's many times, but we always take a pontoon plane to an outpost camp and stay in one of those cabins. They're much more rustic, but do provide your basic needs. The cabins I've stayed in have electricity, running water, hot water for showers, bathrooms, and wifi that works part of the time. Sidenote: The fishing is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

From the minute you fly in to this remote location to the day you dread leaving, this all-inclusive lodge will more than likely be one of your best traveling experiences! The cabins are very well kept and the hospitality is top-notch! The main lodge boasts great scenery, food, drinks and great service. The fishing on the main lake is second to none and the fly-out lakes (well worth it!) are unbelievable as well. This is well worth the time, money, and trip, but the memories that will last you a lifetime are even better!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitoba
0.0 mi away
Sonora Resort
Sonora Resort
#1 of 1 in Sonora Island
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sydney Lake Lodge
Sydney Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sydney Lake
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#39 of 268 in Vancouver Island
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gangler's North Seal River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangler's North Seal River Lodge

Property: Gangler's North Seal River Lodge
Address: Egenolf Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Manitoba
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing