We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, friendly hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Churchill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Polar Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Churchill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Great stay, friendly hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

On a trip that had us overnighting in communities unexpectedly, we landed at the Polar Inn. The kitchenette we were in was well stocked with a sitting area, basic kitchen and two queen beds. The central area is open and airy with lots of tourist trinkets on sale. The little breakfast nook at the back was good for basic breakfasts. For a community this size to have so many rooms for rent, the must be big competition. Competition is always good for buyers and it shows in this and apparently other hotels here.

The hosts were very welcoming and friendly and free with information about the place.

I'd stay here again in an instant.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from the back end, right side as the breakfast room would likely create early moor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillyAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    20
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
18
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed in November 2012. Unfortunately only for one night as part of our Churchill Wild package. Unfortunately because after only one night we realised we would have loved to stay a while longer! Our room was more than adequate & the atmosphere was awesome. Louise was the best hostess & went out of her way for us, even posting a parcel for us when we ran out of time. Awesome town, fantastic people, and a great central place to stay. We have asked that the Churchill Wild team make an optional extra of staying longer in Churchill at the Polar Inn due to our experince of staying there! Love you to bits Louise, you are a champion! xx

Room Tip: From what I could see, all the rooms were more than adequate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YTandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed at the Polar Inn for 2 days during a recent trip to Churchill. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with all the amenities I find important (in-room coffee, small fridge, cable TV, comfortable bedding). The continental breakfast was excellent, and the owner joined us to provide information and insights on the town of Churchill. The bear tour we took picked us up at the entrance of the Inn, which was very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvington, Sask.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Polar Inn, a 5 minute walk from the train station was a great place to stay. It is in the middle of town on Kelsey blvd and a short walk to all attractions and restaurants. The room had everything you would need and very clean. The continental breakfast was plentiful. The staff were very friendly and Louise was extremely knowledgeable about the area and things to see and do. We would highly recommend a stay here. A note: although wifi is available at the inn, 3G phones smart phones do not work in Churchill.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieAB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed here after a 40 hour train journey from Winnipeg. They let us check in at 9am for a much needed shower and freshen up. The hotel is in the middle of town though everywhere is. Staff were very friendly and the brekky was self service though plentiful. Clean and tidy and a comfortable stay. Lots to do locally. We went in October, and saw polar bears and all kinds of other animals including the beluga whales which were still about. Be prepared for the spectacular northern lights show. All in all a great stay. Be careful to check prices on Internet booking sites as booking.com come up over £100 cheaper than the actual hotel price...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueboybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I had such a pleasant stay here! the staff was so helpful and friendly! the rooms are very clean and comfortable. there breakfast great too! there location is right in the heart of churchill, you can walk everywhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa_B154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I loved staying at the Polar inn! They where really welcoming with me and my family. the staff is super friendly and helpful. The room are very clean, they where really respectful with all our stuff. the breakfast the was very good! Its also nice that it is a family owned business.

Great place!

Room Tip: If you are a big family try to get room 143. It would be perfect! Trust me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellagonberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Churchill hotels
0.0 mi away
Bear Country Inn
Bear Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Churchill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Tundra House Hostel
Tundra House Hostel
#3 of 6 in Churchill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polar Inn

Property: Polar Inn
Address: 153 Kelsey Blvd, Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing