We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Tundra Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tundra Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I went to Churchill in the middle of February when the weather is eerr...a bit on the chilly side and you have this impression that you've reached the end of the world. But amazingly, you find yourself in a hotel with all the mod-cons you could possibly expect, including wifi, a comfortable room & bed, a warm shower and great laundry facilities you're free to use. But above all, the place is run by Belinda who looks after her guests as if they are all family. I had a wonderful time in Churchill and I am very grateful to the Tundra Inn for making my stay so comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alphajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Marketing & Communications Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi Alphajet,

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Churchill this past February!

Sincerely,
Tundra Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our room was basic, but comfortable. Our room had two double beds. They appeared to be somewhat different. I was happy with the one I slept in. The one my husband slept in appeared to be much softer, but after the initial surprise when he sat on it, he seemed content.

There was plenty of hot water and the bathroom was clean. There was a large refrigerator in the room, but we didn't need it.

The TV sits our on a cart and I was afraid that one of us would knock it over in the dark, but we didn't.

The internet works, but is slow.

The restaurant where breakfast is served is across the road.

We had heard that no one in Churchill locks their door, in case someone needs to seek refuge from a polar bear. However, since the staff goes home at night, they lock the front door of the Tundra Inn. You need to use your room key to open the front door. The staff leaves at variable times (5 - 6 - 7 o'clockish) depending on what is going on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for your review! We're glad you found your stay with us to be comfortable.

Yes, internet can be pretty slow in Churchill - but that's just because we're so far up north. Often there are days when it doesn't work at all (and that's in the whole town!).

Generally in Churchill all vehicles are left unlocked in case a quick escape is needed, but businesses do tend to lock up.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Churchill!

Sincerely,
Tundra Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a great place! The hotel is very comfortable and the rooms are spacious with everything you need. Very friendly people and the service is very efficient. I thought this place was amazing and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

1  Thank montob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Tundra Inn!

Sincerely,
Tundra Inn

P.S. We especially love that the title of your review is "Best Hotel"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice rooms, flat screen TV, fast internet and great showers for relaxing after a long Tundra Buggy ride. There aren't a lot of frils, but what can you expect when you're in Churchill. The Inn is well maintained and very secure, what more do you need?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billb1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Tundra Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Welcomed on arrival at the train station, the proprietor/driver/receptionist, this lady does it all exceptionally well. Made us and it appeared all guests feel very welcome with everything we could ask for, clean quiet room, complimentary breakfast before heading out on the tundra and a great dining facility right across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.

The train is one of the most incredible ways to travel to Churchill - the landscape changes from the boreal forest to taiga to tundra are quite breath-taking.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Tundra Inn and found it comfortable for your stay. Please feel free to come back to visit us anytime.

Sincerely,
Tundra Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Comfortable beds in good sized room, long hot showers, fast internet, nice little kitchenette, awesome service. Building well maintained under austere conditions. Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hi Terri,

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Churchill - and we're even happier to hear you are planning on coming back next year. Churchill is one of those places that people just can't seem to get enough of.

See you in 2014!

Sincerely,
Tundra Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks for work. Nice clean rooms with comfy beds. Dated but nice. Staff were very helpful. Free laundry for guests to use a nice touch. I will stay here again. Food in the pub across the street that is owned by the hotel is very good. The staff there are also very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Tundra Inn.

We do hope that you come and see us again.

Sincerely,
Tundra Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tundra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tundra Inn

Address: 34 Franklin St, Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Hotel Class:2 star — Tundra Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the sub-arctic coastal town of Churchill, Manitoba, home to Polar Bears, Beluga Whales and spectacular Northern Lights. The Tundra Inn is a cozy, family-run hotel that provides comfortable, spacious accomodations that are infused with small town charm. Located on a quiet side street, the Tundra Inn offers a peaceful atmospehere that is convenient to Churchill amenities - including the Tundra Inn Pub & Restaurant, located directly acres the street. The Tundra Inn Restaurant & Pub offers hearty and wholesome pub-style food with a Canadian-Arctic twist. Swap stories with locals and other travelers while you relax with a pint in the pub. Or enjoy our delicious regional cuisine in the comfort of our rustic dining room. Our warm and friendly staff look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tundra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tundra Hotel Churchill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing