We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay”
Review of Tundra Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tundra Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have just returned from the wonderful experience of the Canadian North. The Tundra Inn organized the booking of 5 tours and the tours were excellent experiences. From kayaking with the belugas, to exploring the Tundra, getting to see polar bears, hiking with Parks Canada guides and learning the history of the area - it was amazing. All this was efficiently organized by Belinda and her team. The Inn is not fancy but provides all that is needed - a clean room, a comfy bed lots of warm water for showers. The breakfast is self serve and again provides everything that one needs. A terrific thank you to Belinda and staff - always there to help with a warm smile.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Hello Youngatheart1960,

Thank you for your review!

It sounds like you took advantage of our 4-day beluga package. It is a great combination of activities for everyone and Belinda put it together with adventurers like yourself in mind.

I'm glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience in Canada's North and we hope that you come and see us again in the future.

Happy Travels!

Brandi
Tundra Inn Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

The tundra Inn and Pub are the places to stay and eat when visiting Churchill Manitoba. Belinda and her staff made us most welcome and we had a great time during our stay with them. Nothing was to much trouble when our train departure was delayed several hours we were allowed to have a very late check out along with other guests whom became friends during our train trip and visit all this was facilitated by the staff at the Tundra Inn and the wonderful food at the Tundra Pub

Room Tip: All rooms would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trotts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Hello Trotts2014,

Thank you so much for your review! One thing about traveling to Churchill by train is that the train schedule is more of a guideline than a schedule - and not even a good guideline at that!

We're happy to hear you had a good experience in Churchill despite the train delay and that you enjoyed our home cooked meals at the Tundra Pub.

Thank you again and happy travels!

Brandi
Tundra Inn Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Excellent inn...staff very accommodating and pleasant! Tundra Inn had good food as well!
If visiting Churchill in summer, take in the beluga whale tour...so many of them! We also saw some polar bears, which was awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mariella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Hello Mariella,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Tundra Inn and that you enjoyed our Pub & Restaurant as well.

We had a great summer for belugas and bears - we actually saw more bears this summer than we have in past years combined! It was definitely a great year to visit.

Thank you again!

Brandi
Tundra Inn Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place was the best motel we have ever stayed at on a family vacation. We have gone on 12 week long family vacations in the last 9 years. Don't get me wrong, this is no Westin - the rooms barely contain 2 Queen sized beds, the bathrooms don't have Moen Artistic Fixtures, and the rooms don't have a couch to lounge on. But, they were very clean, appointed with a fridge and microwave and were well lit. What I liked best was that the staff was really great about helping me understand Churchill, what and when to see things, helped me plan my vacation when I called over the last year and were genuinely friendly and concerned about making sure my stay and time in Churchill was positive. Also, they have a great continental breakfast (milk, juice, home baked goods, cereal, fresh brewed coffee/tea, etc.), and a common area that seemed to create friendly interaction with strangers. It as a very comfortable place to stay. Also, we stayed in 7 motels over vacation - The Tundra Inn had the best internet which my kids seemed to care about. If I were to go back, I wouldn't even consider any other motel and strongly recommend this one to any traveler. I am sure you will have the same experience. Plus, The Tundra Pub is right across the street which was really good to go have a good meal or cold beverage.

Room Tip: We chose a room closest to the front due to my mother in law needing a handicapped room. The room d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Hello James,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you've had some great traveling experiences and I'm happy that the Tundra Inn was able to make it to the top of your list!

The beautiful thing about the people of Churchill is that we truly love our community and we love to show it off - so helping our guests decide what to do and see is one of the best parts of our jobs.

Thank you again and good luck in all your future travels!

Brandi
Tundra Inn Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Travelled all the way from Norway to Churchill this summer to see whales and polarbears, and chose the Tundra Inn based on tripadvisor reviews. When I first saw the hotel I wondered if I had made a mistake. The place looked rather shabby from the outside, and the big sign on the roof was damaged. But what I quickly learned about Churchill is that you need to enter a completely different state of mind while staying here. The people of Churchill live there because they love their town and its rugged, wild and very beautiful surrounding nature. Winters are long and cold up there, and in the summer they make the most of living int the light and the warmer weather. They don't seem interested in tending to house or garden if the weather is good enough to go barbequing on the beach. And I can totally get that. Belinda, one of the owners, is a really nice lady, and on the inside she keeps her inn clean and cozy. So the place is a little dated. But we had comfortable beds, a fridge in the room and the wi-fi was excellent! In the hallways there were beautiful paintings of the local wildlife. There is a complimentary continental breakfast with delicious homemade muffins from the Tundra Pub. They have an airport shuttle. And help you in any way they can with tour bookings etc. The Tundra Inn is a great option for accomodation while in Churchill!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElinJanitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Hello ElinJanitz,

Wow - Norway is a far way to come! Thank you for choosing the Tundra Inn as your home base during your adventure.

We are in the process of replacing our overhead sign - the Churchill winter weather has certainly done some damage over the years and it's time for a new one! And we are also in the process of updating all of our washrooms as they are very dated as well.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. You are right about the residents in Churchill wanting to enjoy the nice weather as much as possible, especially considering the winters that we endure.

Thank you again for your review and good luck with all your future travels.

Brandi
Tundra Inn Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I took our daughter to Churchill this summer to experience natures beauty and stayed at the Tundra Inn. The hotel is in a great location and was very clean and comfortable. The room had newer comfortable beds, free wi-fi, nice new TV, bar fridge and a coffee maker. The bathrooms are dated but clean. The serve yourself breakfast area was great and much appreciated.

The service at the hotel from Belinda and at the restaurant from Tracy was second to none! Thank you both very much. We really appreciated the early checkin and late checkout that accommodated our train schedule. As well thank you to Tracy for serving us dinner after 9pm when we lost track of time with the long days of sunshine!

All in all a great place to stay in Churchill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Hello Traveler2000,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed Churchill so much. I'll be sure to pass your thanks onto both Belinda and Tracy - they are quite a powerhouse team!

I'm happy that you found your rooms comfortable. We are in the process of updating all of our washrooms as we also feel they are a little too retro.

Thank you again for your review and happy travels in the future!

Brandi
Tundra Inn Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Couldn't have imagined a better experience. From booking to departure everything was exceptional and memorable. The owners, Belinda and Parker are kind, thoughtful, interesting and real people. They have hired the best and trained them well. Christy (Belinda's right arm) is cut from the same cloth. Every day they went out of the way to ensure we had a great experience. Recommendations of where to go, what to look for and who to book tours with were all very helpful. Personal phone calls to let us know a mom and cub polar bear had just been spotted on the beach or that our flight was departing 45 minutes early went above and beyond.

Same for the Tundra Inn Pub. Yves, the chef, prepares the best soups and Arctic Char in Churchill. Order the entrees. Don't look for generic sliced carrots and a dollop of smashed potatoes here. Each taste on your plate compliments the other; everything is planned. John and Tracy run the pub like it was their child (loving attention without hovering), and Rob is one of the most personable and efficient waiters you can imagine.

If you enjoy truly wild areas, you'll relax in Churchill's 5 star wilderness. If you've never experienced "the edge", Churchill is a great place to start, and the Tundra Inn is the best home base you could imagine.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms get the best breeze from Hudson Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MDOEcology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Hello MDOEcology!

Wow! Your review is great and it sounds like you really got to know everyone here at the Tundra in Churchill.

Churchill is a a very unique place and we especially love it when travellers come and really get to know the town and the people in it. It sounds like you are an avid traveller who really gets into the places you visit.

Feel free to come back and visit us anytime!

Brandi
Tundra Inn Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tundra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tundra Inn

Address: 34 Franklin St, Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Hotel Class:2 star — Tundra Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the sub-arctic coastal town of Churchill, Manitoba, home to Polar Bears, Beluga Whales and spectacular Northern Lights. The Tundra Inn is a cozy, family-run hotel that provides comfortable, spacious accomodations that are infused with small town charm. Located on a quiet side street, the Tundra Inn offers a peaceful atmospehere that is convenient to Churchill amenities - including the Tundra Inn Pub & Restaurant, located directly acres the street. The Tundra Inn Restaurant & Pub offers hearty and wholesome pub-style food with a Canadian-Arctic twist. Swap stories with locals and other travelers while you relax with a pint in the pub. Or enjoy our delicious regional cuisine in the comfort of our rustic dining room. Our warm and friendly staff look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tundra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tundra Hotel Churchill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing