We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Place To Stay In Churchill”
Review of Lazy Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Churchill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Bear Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Two winters ago, we stayed in Churchill at a competitor. This time, we opted to stay at the Lazy Bear and do all the activities thru them. WOW! This is the place to stay in Churchill. This is a lodge! Great style, loved the interior and exterior and the room was roomy. The beds are comfy, a frig, flat screen TV and a a good size bathroom. Look, yo won't find the Ritz in Churchill but the Lazy bear Lodge is a great place with great desk staff and great restaurant folks. Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nriemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Lazy Bear Lodge has a very "woodsy" atmosphere. It's very clean, very comfortable beds and delicious food. We ate some breakfasts, lunches and dinners, and all was excellent. I would say their homemade soups are off the charts. Breakfasts are included with the room price and are full and wonderful. They do not serve liquor, but we just went to the liquor store and picked up some wine to have in the lounge area. Wifi is also complimentary. We weren't ever able to get connections in our room and were supposed to. Other places, reception was good.

When we were deciding to go there, chose this place because they could book some of the tours we wanted. They also include the transfers from the airport.

Room Tip: Our room was on the railroad/water side. Train noise was never an issue. There are no closets so h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maggieminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had a wonderful time at the Lazy Bear Lodge... woke to a bear outside our window, went polar bear spotting, played with Eskimo Dogs and saw 100s of Beluga Whales. The Lodge staff arranged all our activities, good food, very accommodating and highly recommend. We'll be back one of these days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeaganD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at the Lazy Bear Nov 9 thru 12 while polar bear watching. The lodge is a log building with a log and knotty pine interior. A wood stove is in the center of the restaurant and another stove in the sitting room/den. The rooms are small and sparse and the bathroom has no counter space. However, that being said, the rooms are very clean, the hot water is hot, the beds are comfy and warm, and the heat does a pretty quick job. So, for being in Churchill with not easy access to a lot of amenities this lodge is very nice. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant service is quick. They also have a nice assortment of gifts in the gift shop and lobby. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GimmeKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you want to see polar bears in Canada then this is the way to do it. Lazy Bear organized the whole trip from hotels in Winnipeg to flights to Churchill. We were met by friendly capable staff and looked after for three days of excursions. Two days on the tundra and one day of a town tour and dog sled ride. No one can guarantee where the polar bears will be but we were lucky and had sunshine and fabulous sitings on our first day. The second day was snowing and we only saw bears sleeping in the distance. This is the reality of wild life viewing where the animals are respected and their habitat is not altered for tourism. Full marks to Erin and Moira for some fabulous time in Churchill.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetLaggedMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Arrive to Churchill and immediately fall in love with this small town, that has a little for everyone.
The lodge is very well mainained and managed, from the front desk to the café, restaurant and clenless. The only small disappointment was that the restaurant doesn't offer any alcohol, but are plenty of palces around.
The Motel also offers a wide range of activities witch were also very professional.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We went to Churchill in August 2013, and the Lazy Bear was a terrific place to stay. Rooms were great, food was wonderful - one of the top restaurants in Churchill. Staff were fabulous, and extremely helpful when it came to booking tours, and providing advice on where to go and what to do. August was a great time ( we would argue the best time) to go. We got to see and snorkel with Beluga's which was an exceptional experience, but also got to see bears. Over 10 while we were there. The guide that Lazy Bear uses is Gerald, and he is fantastic, and found lots of bears and whales. As someone who lives in Manitoba, I was both surprised and impressed with our Churchill experience. I would suggest that everyone should have Churchill on their bucket list. There was lots to do and see for a three night trip. Highly recommend.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rebel432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Churchill hotels
0.7 mi away
Bear Country Inn
Bear Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Churchill
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Tundra Inn
Tundra Inn
#1 of 5 in Churchill
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Bear Lodge

Address: 313 Kelsey Blvd. | Box 931, Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Price Range: £55 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is no regular log cabin. The timber was reclaimed from a fire in the boreal forest. Using hand tools, the logs fit together so well as to appear as if they were melted into each other. The windows were recycled from an 1800's Hudson Bay Trading Post, and if you look closely, you'll see the characteristic wave of the old glass. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Bear Lodge Hotel Churchill
Lazy Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing