We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Cleethorpes
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Motel Improving”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed for three nights Nov 12.It appears that Motel is now leased by Doug to Natural Habitat.We found the rooms large and comfortable but perhaps a little too warm at night,despite an outside temp.of -20C .Bathroom rather dated but very clean with copious hot water.Staff were excellent and extremely helpful both at reception and in the restaurant.Food was very good with a wide selection available despite remote location and breakfast buffet was as good as any 4 star city hotel.After noting previous comments,tea and coffee making facilities are now in all rooms,and new towels have been provided.Fridge in room with large supermarket across road selling fresh fruit/meat etc,with an ATM,Post Office and liquor store within 5-10 min walk.
An excellent place to stay in this remote town if visiting for Polar Bears or Whales in the spring.

Room Tip: Rooms are located both sides of a corridor from reception.half face road so quieter in rooms on othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
12
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed last year in Oct/Nov 2011 for bear season. I was able to get a room and Doug responded to my emails prompty when asking for a reservation. He paid for the taxi from the airport (airport pickup). As others have mentioned - the rooms are a bit dated but they are very clean and there is a TV in the room. The room was warm (important for winter) and the shower was hot! The motel is in the middle of town and accross the street from the grocery store (only open until 6pm or so). It's an easy walk (1-2 blocks) to almost everything in town. Doug provides coffee in the morning. One morning it was very cold so Doug kindly drove me to Gypsys bakery for breakfast. The service at the motel was great - and Doug and all the staff made me and all the guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trav3lG1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This establichment is not what it once was. The facilities are worn and tired. The towels are small, thin, frayed at the edges and some with holes.
The only 'facilities' in the rooms is a refrigerator with a microwave oven available in the lobby. The absence of little things like a tea/coffee maker and an iron are missed. Many of the items mentioned in other reviews were not available.

The establishment is opposite the supermarket and a short walk to the Seaport Inn and Gypsy's Bakery. It is convenient to all parts of town.

Better value and a better reception are available nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I spent a week in Churchill, in mid July, a long-awaited pilgrimage to my birthplace, and from the moment that Doug met me at the airport, I felt at home in this warm and friendly community. The hotel was all that it should be, with extra support when needed. All I needed for a comfortable and informative stay was provided by Doug and his competent staff. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We spent one night at the Churchill Motel at the end of our Polar Bear adventure. We had no trouble booking a single night during the middle of the "season". The rooms are large and bright but somewhat dated - which is common for most motels in Churchill. The room was spotless. There is a mini-fridge in the room.The staff is very friendly and helpful. Doug makes sure that the coffee is always hot and fresh. The motel is close to the train station which made it very convenient for our departure. The motel stored our luggage after checkout until it was time to board the train.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Quiet motel centrally located in Churchill, across street from the town grocery. Large (for Churchill) rooms w tv and refrigerator. Before he heads off to drive the town school bus, owner Doug has the coffee ready in the "lobby." Comfy beds. Walls a bit thin, but not an issue during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattle1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

not the Hilton but very friendly people and staff, Doug went overboard in helping my family and friends in celebrating our 50th. Doug yor the greatest not to say anything about the whiskey
thanks
Alice and Arnold and family

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnie73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Churchill hotels
0.1 mi away
Bear Country Inn
Bear Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Churchill
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tundra House Hostel
Tundra House Hostel
#3 of 6 in Churchill
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tundra Inn
Tundra Inn
#1 of 5 in Churchill
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse

Property: Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse
Address: Cnr Kelsey Blvd & Franklin St | Box 788, Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada (Formerly Churchill Motel)
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the town of Churchill Manitoba, well within walking distance to shopping, gift shops and restaurants; the Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse is owned and operated locally and has been enjoyed by thousands while they have stayed in Churchill. Our recently renovated rooms feature a private commode with a bath or standing shower, flat-screen TV, refrigerator, coffee maker, telephone and free wifi. This single level hotel is easily accessible along with having 2 reduced mobility rooms with walk-in showers located at the front of the hotel to accommodate your needs with ease. The Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse also features a meeting room and a seasonal restaurant. We provide complimentary shuttle service to/from the airport and train station. Vehicle rentals and local tours can also be arranged at request. To ensure your trip is the best, we work with all local tour operators to help you enjoy the abundant, world famous wild life and environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Churchill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing