We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Mansion but....”
Review of The Columns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Columns
Ranked #2 of 14 Winnipeg B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mansion but....”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Recently stayed at this lovely old mansion in a residential neighborhood on the Assiniboine River. The room (Henry Moore) was big, well decorated, huge ensuite bathroom, great linens and quiet. The breakfast included was more than plentiful and all very good. Although some elements could use some freshening up what bothered me most was the fact that there are 3 cats living in the house. I am VERY allergic to cats and didn't see anywhere on the website that they have cats. This reeked havoc with my breathing and I was comprimised all weekend. I spent as little time in this B&B as possible because of that....too bad because it is a relaxing enviroment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juanthewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
22
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The hosts are very warm and welcoming, and the house itself has incredible history and charm. Our bed actually heated up, which was nice when the weather was so cold. There is free internet access in an office room, and an assortment of DVDs if you want to have a night in. Our room had a balcony that would have been wonderful in spring. The bathroom has a spacious shower. The breakfast was top notch. April was so generous with tourist advice and even a ride when we needed it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoCouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We had the joy of staying here when we visited Blessed Vasyl Shrine. April has the gift of hospitality plus! Her and her staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The beds are luxurious and it is so quiet at night you can almost hear the snow fall. Her breakfast buffet and entree rival that of any five star hotel. Her attention to detail to make her guests feel welcome is admirable. The extra little things are too numerous to list. She even lights an evening fire in the wood panelled living room hearth to relax before bed. Only April, would think to leave out sherry and an assortment of chocolates for her guests. It makes no sense to stay at a hotel when you can stay at The Columns.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yippeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The Columns is located in a lovely, historic area of the city, and right on the river. Perfect for a long walk or run (weather permitting). My room was spacious, with gorgeous feather top (and heated!) mattress, kitchenette, and huge bathroom. My host, April, was tremendously welcoming. Like others have posted here, she felt like family (in the best kind of way) or a dear friend! I was given lots of privacy as well as the opportunity to chat with her about the city and the area. In addition to picking me up at the airport, she also provided transportation to an appointment, as well as a quick tour of the Forks and Assiniboine Park. Last but not least, the breakfasts were heavenly. In addition to beautiful hot meals (the best omlette I've ever had), there was also an assortment of fresh fruits, cereals, and cheeses. Cherries in the middle of winter! How luxurious!
I was absolutely delighted by my stay at The Columns. I will recommend it WITHOUT HESITATION to all of my friend and family visiting the city. And I recommend it to you, too. Thank you, April, for a home away from home in the middle of a travel-filled month!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyra1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The bed was comfortable although the room and bathroom needs some tender love and care. The hostess was great and the food exceptional. Would love to see the place finished of all the renovations.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petetete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

West Gate is a very upmarket area with old mansions, some in need of maintenance, The Columns is one of these. April (our host) was very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Henry Moore room was big with big bathroom and luxury finishes - the only problem was the noise from people moving around on wooden floors upstairs, and some corners looked like they needed a major clean. Breakfast was great, huge selection of healthy choices and April offered a different cooked option every morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynnrieckhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, NY
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The Columns is a historic house with lots of dark wood, leaded pane windows, and furniture in keeping with the building's architecture. The innkeeper, April Kassum, was helpful and considerate and is a great conversationalist. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eringClinton_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columns

Property: The Columns
Address: 5 East Gate, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 2C2, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Columns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columns is a luxury Bed and Breakfast situated in a heritage neighbourhood in Winnipeg. The 4 guest bedrooms are ultra-luxurious with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. The Master Suite has 1000 sq ft of private space and includes a private patio - perfect for special occasions and honeymoons. There are 4 outside decks, 2 enclosed porches, a panelled living room and dining room separated by bevelled glass sliding doors, a library, and laundry facilities. There is free WiFi and HD TV in all the rooms. The breakfast is a buffet and includes a hot entree. Prepare to be pampered! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Columns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing