We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tricky entry but good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tricky entry but good place”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Awkward entry to the hotel especially since we arrived at afternoon rush hour but it was much better on the weekends. Right next to Perimeter Highway but we heard no traffic noise. Standards are on par with other Comfort Inns we have stayed at on this cross-Canada drive. Like coming home now. Love the consistent decor and amenities. Even the architecture is the same! Very helpful staff including info about driving west with the flooded roads. Fantastic to find a laundry mat only a block away. Also had a car wash to get rid of the bugs! The road was also direct to downtown and other attractions. Hot breakfast is consistently good. Great value and location.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor. Quiet even on highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishteacher54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene K, General Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Newly Renovated Comfort Inn Winnipeg South. The Bridge construction is slated to be finished in
November so that will ease up the traffic flow.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you the next time you are traveling to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    47
    15
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
37
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After spending the first couple of nights of a road trip in budget motels, I decided to move it up a notch. Proving that you get what you pay for, this place was clean, had good sized rooms, nice furnishings, and breakfast included. I enjoyed this room enough that I headed for another Comfort Inn the next night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene K, Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Winnipeg South. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you the next time you are traveling to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

For two nights in a row we encountered great stays at Comfort Inn. This one is conveniently located off the TCH and near all sorts of amenities. It is quiet, well-maintained and has a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chacharea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene K, Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the newly renovated Comfort Inn Winnipeg South. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments on to the staff, as customer service is very important to us at the Comfort Inn Winnipeg South. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Front Desk staff was very friendly. However, the experience was overall very poor. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the mattresses worn out. The towels were clean, but very old and stained. The biggest issue was the noise - people partying in the hallway very loudly until after 4:00 a.m. Swearing, loud, drunk guests, and no response from hotel staff. We did not sleep at all - so not a good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene K, Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit. We are sincerely sorry for not being able to deliver a commendable experience on this occasion. We regret the inconvenience you experienced due to inconsiderate guests who decided to party. Kindly be assured that we have noted your concerns and these shall be addressed aptly with our team to consider for improvements.

While we understand your visit was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you can give us another opportunity in the future to make your stay as best as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've stayed here about 20 times over the last several years. Taking everything together, it's excellent value, and I keep coming back. I sometimes stay at the Airport Hilton when I want to be near the airport, but the Comfort Inn South is my go-to solution for Winnipeg accommodation.

First thing-- the rooms have been recently spruced up and everything is new and clean, at least in the last couple of rooms I stayed in. Nice quilts and pillows. The rooms always seem pretty quiet to me, even though you're close to Pembina and the Perimeter. I've never noticed road noise, so I guess the windows must be well soundproofed. Or maybe I'm just going deaf.

The location may work for you, or it may not. If you have to do daily business downtown, this is probably not the place for you. It's as far south as you can go in Winnipeg, and traffic can be slow on Pembina in the rush hours. But if you want access to south Winnipeg, or the university, or the Victoria Hospital, or you just want a place off the Perimeter while you're driving through, this is an excellent choice.

From the airport, it's usually a 25 or 30 minute drive on fairly fast four-lane roads. Just get on route 90 south, then follow it to Bishop Grandin or Waverley to get onto Pembina.

There's a good continental breakfast supplemented with a couple of hot dishes. Lots of good OJ and coffee. Martha the breakfast lady is a pleasure to be around, and she seems to genuinely enjoy taking care of travelers.

There's no restaurant or bar attached to the place, but you have literally dozens of choices running for miles down Pembina, including a few late-night options like Boston Pizza.

The staff is their long suit. The front desk staff and the room cleaners have always been helpful and friendly in my experience. They're actually unusually good, and a cut above the staff you usually find in the chain motels.

As of now (April 2014), you can get a room for about $95, plus taxes, provided you have a CAA card or can get one of the other discounts. This is excellent value. You may be able to get an even cheaper rate if you book online with your Choice Rewards number, a couple of weeks ahead of time, but in that case it's prepaid and I think nonrefundable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Photon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene K, Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the newly renovated Comfort Inn Winnipeg South. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments on to the staff, as customer service is very important to us at the Comfort Inn Winnipeg South. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This motel has recently been renovated. My room was very clean and updated. The bed was comfortable and there was a nice shower in the bathroom. The staff was great. I had a really good sleep here. Grandma Judy will make sure you get a good breakfast. Thanks Grandma Judy - you're a sweet heart!!! The girl who was working at the front desk in the morning was really cute too... I've got a crush on her now.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks into the court yard. There was no road noise in the courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pud_the_dud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene K, Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for talking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. We take great pride in our facility and in the customer service we offer and we feel even more proud when kind people, like yourself, take the time to comment in this way. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenboro, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We really enjoy our stays here. Great surrounding pleasant staff. Comforting rooms. What makes us come back all the time. We also recommend staying at the Comfort Inn at the airport too. In our books your number one .

Room Tip: We like east west south when there is no construction....lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonaldG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene K, General Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding the Hotel and Staff. Guest satisfaction is very important to us at the Comfort Inn. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
1.3 mi away
Queen Bee Hotel
Queen Bee Hotel
#43 of 63 in Winnipeg
32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pembina Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Winnipeg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#39 of 63 in Winnipeg
65 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
321 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
#33 of 63 in Winnipeg
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Winnipeg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Winnipeg South

Property: Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
Address: 3109 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 4R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#23 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Winnipeg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the 100 bypass, the 100% smoke free Comfort Inn has newly renovated the front desk and lobby area which now has a 24 hour business centre, fireplace and sitting area. Our completely renovated guest rooms offer free wireless high speed, a fridge, microwave, Truly Yours bedding and a 32" flat screen TV. Situated minutes from Investors Group Field-Home of the Blue Bombers, Winnipeg Convention Centre, The Forks and the Assiniboine Park Zoo. Dine in our spacious breakfast room & enjoy your free hot breakfast that includes eggs, saugage or bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, breads, yogurt, cereal and juice. We are pet friendly and offer ground floor rooms with a walk out patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Winnipeg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing