We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down relic..”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Maubec, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Run down relic..”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Thanks to a trip to the arctic cold I had to stay two times two nights in Winnipeg. Looking at available options I choose the 5 start Fort Garry hotel. Good location, close to the town center and the railway station and the website did not look too bad. I learned the hotel had been build by the same company (and probably the seem people) that had build the railway in order to give their passengers a decent stay at the beginning or end of their journey. So I had imagined an old style, wood all over and traveller friendly hotel. Unfortunately that's not the case. When the taxi driver dropped me and my luggage off at the steps to the hotel entrance in the freezing cold I waited in vain for somebody who would step in and give me a hand with the luggage. I could have frozen to death but no one came out. When I had hauled up my luggage and went through the revolving door the doorman welcomed me with a ".. freezing cold out there, no?" When I suggested he could have gone outside and give me a hand he just looked like that was not part of his job description. Well, the hotel was a big disappointment with electric heaters that make the room too hot, too dry and too noisy, with my room at the ninth floor it took a measured 4 minutes before there was warm water and a breakfast without bread, a slice of cheese or ham. Yes - it is an old style hotel with high ceilings and broad stair cases but service wise I would not rate it higher than a youth hostel. It needs a revamping, starting with the personnel who have no interest and the rooms. Now it is no more than a run down relic of recent history.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulMontjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Director of Marketing at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback from our guests gives us necessary insight to maintain our standard of service and to make improvements. Please accept our apologies for the service you received in regard to your luggage, this concern has been addressed appropriately. I do hope that you contacted our Front Desk while you were here to advise them of the concerns you had for the heating in your guest room so that we could have had the opportunity to correct this.

The hotel does offer a full hot buffet breakfast, with made to order chef-to-guest meals. Our serving staff is always happy to bring you bread or toast, cheese is available daily on our buffet, and house-made peameal ham is always available.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    338
    139
    68
    42
See reviews for
164
358
83
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you like the feeling of staying at a grand old hotel, this is the place in the heart of Winnipeg. Loved the complimentary coffee and tea at your door whenever you asked for it. I'm an afternoon tea lover so having a real pot of tea , not the make-do with the in-room coffee machine, is perfect.
And opening the door at 7 am to a pot of coffee and the paper, great way to start the day. The hot soup and snacks in the gift shop/snack bar are very reasonably priced and tasted good. Easy walk to The Forks and anything in downtown Winnipeg. My bed was comfy, had a good tv and lots of desk space to work. Excellent staff. And if you are there on a Sunday, the brunch is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateandhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

great place - will go back
good food - clean room(quiet) - Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good
I loved this hotel!! The hotel is in the perfect location within walking distance close to stores and the forks
security was doing their jobs felt safe.
parking was good - internet was fast-tv was nice
good price and good service

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

first of all, I love the old charm of this hotel, get into the rooms and they have old tv"s the ones with the big back ends! lol, then let us talk about our window! as you glance out side you can see a brick wall! nice! the carpets were coming up in places,the beds were not comfortable, I will say that the star attraction at this hotel is the ten spa! and you will need it after a night, the staff was nice and the maid did not bang or yell down the hall at co-workers, thanks.

Room Tip: make sure you do not get a room that faces a brick wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We went to the Festival du Voyageur and stayed at this hotel. The room we had was small but sufficient. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. After checking out with our group we ended up turning back due to blizzard conditions and roads closed. The hotel staff were absolutely wonderful to us. They gave us rooms and breakfast at the same group rate we had. Made sure we had everything we needed. It made a bad situation better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I was traveling and stayed at the Fort Garry Hotel because of the good reputation BUT the service was absolutely awful. The gates for the parkade didn't work and i had to get the front reception person to help me which he didnt. After about half an hour waitingI went to the front desk and the clerk was berating somebody else telling this poor soul that he had been at the desk for the last hour, which was nonsense because I had waited for 1/2 hour and there had been nobody there. At the end of my stay they even tried to charge me for parking when all the parking did was waste my time. Never again, I have gotten stuck in Winnipeg since and have slept in my car because I will not give them my patronage again. Rooms were nostalgic but needed more maintenance. WiFi cost $10 per hookup (absolutely ridiculous) and thermostat did not work.

Room Tip: If you want a good room choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were drawn to Winnipeg to experience the Festival du Voyageur opening weekend activities and accommodations were arranged for us at the Fort Garry Hotel. First the hotel.
This is one of the many railroad hotels build in 1913 with grand spaces and charm. Check in was smooth and we were quickly in our room on the 6th floor. Our room was small with comfortable beds and traditional furniture that fits with the hotel’s history. As others have said, some areas in the room and hotel need updating but I can easily overlook these minor concerns to stay in a grand building like the Fort Garry. We enjoyed having coffee delivered to the room at anytime for no charge. Bathroom was small with nice towels and toiletries.
We ate breakfast both mornings and thoroughly enjoyed the endless hot items the two chefs could whip up in just minutes. Very bright room with fresh roses all around. We did not eat dinner at the hotel as we were included in many of the Festival events. We did walk across the street to The Keg restaurant for a hamburger one evening and enjoyed our meal.
Hotel offers a nice spa, with pool and hot tub located via a skyway to the other building. Two laptop computers are available by the reception for hotel guests. All the staff were welcoming and very helpful during our stay.
The Festival du Voyageur offers visitors many activities, most centering around the Fort but other located throughout Winnipeg. If you are not afraid of some cold weather, the opening weekend provides a great weekend of fun.
I would definitely return to the Festival and would look forward to staying at the Fort Garry again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Property: Fort Garry Hotel
Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing