We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Dilworth, MN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We stayed a couple nights at the hotel to celebrate my parents' 40th Wedding anniversary, and wanted something "nice". I feel the hotel delivered quite well. Nothing over the top fancy, but that's not to say it was lacking in any areas either. Front desk was very attentive, maid service was good, pool area was a hit with the kids with the 2ft pool and the play area. I'd definately stay here again

  • Liked — Location was very good, 3 miles south of downtown
  • Disliked — Neighborhood wasn't
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    83
    51
    14
    19
See reviews for
59
39
27
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

I stayed twice over the course of two weeks for business trips. Both rooms were on the 9th floor. The rooms were pleasant, clean and quiet with efficient air conditioning. The bathrooms had been partially renovated- everything done except the tub enclosure and bath fixtures. In both rooms, the tub enclosures needed work. They were stained and outdated. In the first room, the shower diverter came off in my hand. In the second room, the diverter only diverted half the water, with the balance coming out of the faucet. This was not really a big deal in either case though- they were still "acceptable" although not quite up to par in comparison to the rest of the room/hotel. I'm sure they'll get around to completing the renovations.

Upon check-out for the first stay, I was billed $3 for a bottle of "in room water" which I didn't touch. When I checked in for the second stay, the in-room water bottle had been crushed and opened. I called the desk to make sure I wasn't charged for that one too. (I wasn't).

All the staff I encountered were exceptionally friendly and courteous- even more so than Holiday Inn's usually high standards. I actually noticed a difference. This helped make up for any deficiencies elsewhere. I have stayed here numerous times and will likely continue to do so.

  • Liked — attitudes of the staff
  • Disliked — bathroom reno not quite complete
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

Hotwire re-booked me at this hotel as a result of a terrible experience at York the Hotel.

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, compared to my experience at York the Hotel, which was very run down.

Not only was the room very clean, but the beds were also very comfortable.

Room 906 had a fridge (didn't have to ask for one) and a fairly large TV. The bathroom was very well decorated and clean.

I had a room service breakfast one morning and it was pretty good.

The pool was very warm (just how I like it) and the hot tub was the perfect temperature.

Staff were very friendly, especially Carol at the front desk.

Elevators were always prompt, except for the first night, due to the fact that there was a school group staying in the hotel, and kids were playing with the elevators.

I encountered a few disturbances the first night due to the school group, with kids running amok all over the hotel. After this group checked out, it was very quiet.

I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to others looking for a family-friendly hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cober6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2003

Perfectly adequate place. Newly renovated rooms on some floors (April 2003). Even better are the rooms on the 10th and 11th floor. (Business level) Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Love_2_travel_65_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
#28 of 63 in Winnipeg
156 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg South

Property: Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Address: 1330 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg South 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada looking for a friendly hotel and a superbly convenient location choose the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Hotel. Situated on Pembina Hwy at McGillivray Blvd with easy access to downtown Winnipeg, our hotel is close to all area attractions and businesses. Leisure guests love our pet friendly hotel's location in South Winnipeg because we're close to the Forks National Historic Site, the Royal Canadian Mint, Fort Whyte Alive, the Assiniboine Park & Zoo and shopping at the St. Vital Centre or the Kenaston and McGillivray Box Stores. Sports fans enjoy the nearby soccer complex and the Pan Am Pool.Business guests appreciate our Winnipeg lodging since we are close to the University of Manitoba and Fort Garry Industrial Park. We're pleased to offer over 7,500 sq. ft. of meeting space and a unique A/V Conference Theatre that seats 65 people. Naturally, there is free high-speed, Wi-Fi Internet access and a business centre. We also offer a free shuttle service to the Winnipeg Airport with advance reservations. Our guests enjoy staying in one of the most spacious and comfortable hotels in Winnipeg. Amenities include an excellent full-service restaurant, indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness centre. Families appreciate the kiddie pool and our Children's Activity Centre. On your next visit to Winnipeg choose our Holiday Inn Winnipeg South hotel for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing