We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canad Inns Polo Park
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Red Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tired room”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Check in was very slow. Clerk was on the phone and was handling a customer that was trying to use someone else's point card. He was patient with the person, and polite but was very slow and the customers waiting at the counter continued to grow. Finally he dealt with those trying to check in. The room we stayed in was tired. Appeared clean but felt grungy. I think parts of the hotel were renovated but this section may have still been waiting for an upgrade. The beds were old and very uncomfortable. Continental breakfast was almost non existent. Consisted of coffee and toast or bagel, nothing more. Don't think we will stay here again unless renovations are made.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade or check to see if the room was recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Front Office Manager at Canad Inns Polo Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Hi Bill,
Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm sorry to hear about your disappointment with your last stay with us. We do have executive jacquzzi rooms that most recently been completely renovated, they are spacious and beautiful. Rooms on our 6th floor also offer spacious renovated rooms as well as suites. Please contact me directly at the hotel as I would love to have you over to enjoy one of these rooms. Look forward to talking to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    43
    37
    25
    43
See reviews for
53
23
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First Impression not great as we were a group of 11 of us coming for a conference and the website says they have free shuttle service to the hotel. We arrived and told their shuttle driver had worked an 8 hr shift and was now gone for the day. When asked what our options are they told us to take a cab but never offered to give us any kind of reimbursement or anything. They said we didn't claim on our website to have 24hr service. We landed at 7:30 so it's not like we came in the middle of the night. The hotel is older and many of the ladies with us had head aches while in our business sessions. The rooms were large enough and it was nice to have wifi, fridge and microwave. The pillows were not comfortable as they were lumpy and all of them to big.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Front Office Manager at Canad Inns Polo Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Hi Caroline,
I was disappointed to hear of your displeasure with your stay! I apologize that our driver was not available to pick you up upon your arrival. We typically have a driver available daily 6am-10pm.
I would love to have you back to stay with us on your next trip to Winnipeg. Please contact me directly at the hotel to discuss this. Thank you for your feedback! Hope to hear from you really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my two children, and we were very disappointed. The pool was ok but the room was dated and hot. The air conditioner sounded like a 747, and was blowing lukewarm air, and windows were sealed. The room was about 27 degrees and would not cool off no matter what we did with the settings. There was gum embedded in the carpet, and the old lampshade was streaked yellow with stains. Couldn't wait to get out of there in the morning...time for renos Canad Inn PP!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Front Office Manager at Canad Inns Polo Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Hello,
I am so sorry to hear about your experience during your last stay with us. I can assure you this is not our standard. I would love the opportunity to speak to you. Please contact me at the hotel directly. Look forward to speaking to you really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

After a few bad experiences I did end up back here. Mostly because I needed 2 night stay and they had offered me one free night due to my issues previously.
I stayed in one of their Jacuzzi suites and was pleasantly surprised.
I will stay again in the future as it has a great location

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Front Office Manager at Canad Inns Polo Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Hi Kim,
I'm so happy to hear that you did enjoy your last stay with us , We really appreciate you giving us the opportunity to have you back and showing you what a stay with Canad Inns Polo Park is really like. Thank you! We hope to see you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel because I was giving a presentation at the hotel the next day.

My room itself was a suite and nice so that was good. Also the proximity to the airport is amazing. I think you can get there in 5-10 minutes. That was very convenient for me and much appreciated.

The flip side of being close to the airport is that the location is in an industrial zone, which isn't very nice. The hotel bar (which has slot machines) was incredibly sketchy and run-down. A real 'character' bar!

I didn't check out any of the hotel facilities so perhaps this hotel is deserving of a higher rating for those groups. But for business travellers, unless you have business at the hotel itself, I wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Front Office Manager at Canad Inns Polo Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for your review! I am so sorry to hear that we fell short during your last stay with us. We pride ourselves in being a multi faceted hotel, we offer many amenities all under one roof. I hope you could give us another opportunity. Please contact me directly at the hotel. I look forward to chatting with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times very good food comfortable rooms good price nice clean pool and hot tub the staff are top notch close to shoppng good restaurants like Hooters, Chinese Perkins Red Lobster etc

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Front Office Manager at Canad Inns Polo Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Hello Charlie,
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauphin, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Whenever I am in Winnipeg, this is the hotel I stay at!! The staff is friendly, the rooms are nice and clean, the pool area is fun (my sister even conquered her fear of enclosed waterslides at this hotel!!), and the restaurant is great!! I will definately be back!! Thanks & Great Job!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Front Office Manager at Canad Inns Polo Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
HI Sandy,
I wanted to thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to your return!
See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#21 of 63 in Winnipeg
448 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#22 of 63 in Winnipeg
529 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Canad Inns Garden City
#43 of 63 in Winnipeg
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Polo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Polo Park

Property: Canad Inns Polo Park
Address: 1405 St Matthews Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 0K5, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Polo Park 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canad Inns Polo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Polo Park Hotel Winnipeg
Canad Hotel Winnipeg
Canad Hotel Polo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing