We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Winnipeg East
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    236
    135
    45
    33
See reviews for
297
145
52
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Four years ago my husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The room was small, but adequate for our needs and housekeeping kept it very clean our entire stay. So, when we were travelling to Winnipeg again this year, we decided to stay there again and booked in for 3 nights. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite. The suite consisted of a living room, large Jacuzzi tub, a separate bathroom and a large bedroom. Very spacious and great for a multiple night stay. There was also a microwave, bar fridge, coffee maker and two TVs - one in the living room and one in the bedroom. The bedroom was nice and the bed very comfortable and clean, but the living room furniture was old and not very clean. In fact, the couch had crumbs all over it and there was a stain on one cushion so we turned it over but the other side was just as bad. There were artificial plants and flowers which added to the dated look of the room and of course collected dust. The next day we went out and when we came back our room had been cleaned - everything it seemed except for the toilet. Okay, maybe the housekeeper had been rushed as the hotel was busy, so we let it go. The next two days we were there the cleaning was hit and miss and I don't think the toilet was cleaned once. My husband and I are very good guests and always ensure that we tidy up before leaving the room and organize our belongings so it's easier for housekeeping staff, but the level of cleaning was substandard each day and I was glad that we hadn't paid the full cost of a suite. We had a different housekeeper each day as a card was left stating who cleaned the room, so I think either their workload is too large and they need more staff, or the training is not up to par. As well, in the hallways every morning there would be trays of dirty dishes left from room services the night before and sometimes the dirty dishes would be there for hours - not an appealing sight as you're walking down the halls.

We've stayed in budget hotels before and we know what is reasonable value for money, but I will say that we've never had an issue with cleaning standards prior to this experience.

We found out that the hotel is now part of the Wyndham group so hopefully they are just in a transition period and things will improve. It's a shame as it's a decent hotel in a decent area with a pool, free wifi and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the cleanliness issue and have brought these to the attention of our Housekeeper and Restaurant Manager to ensure these problems are eliminated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitimat
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We requested a room on the main floor, but they did not have one left there when we checked in. They did, however, give us an upgrade to a king suite. It was really large. The bed was very comfortable and everything was kept very clean. Our room faced the pool, and we could hear people in the pool until after 10:00pm, but it did not seem to bother our sleeping. We were there on a long weekend, and used the Hotel restaurant for breakfast - the price was reasonable, the service great, and the food was good. Apparently, through the week there are specials for breakfast, but we missed them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ernie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your great comments! We try to give upgrades to our guests and are pleased you enjoyed your suite. We receive many great comments on our food and service. We offer a full breakfast from Monday-Friday for $3.99. We are looking into a elevator for the Hotel for our guests that are situated on the 2nd floor and hope to have one in place soon!
We hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Winnipeg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I approached with some trepdiation. From the outside, it looks like an outdated Holiday Inn. I really thought I was walking into a dump, but I had already hit a couple of places that were full, and I figured I'd better just take what I could get. Well, I was really pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly, and the prices weren't outrageous. The room was really very nicely decorated with a separate seating area. It looked out on the indoor pool area, which concerned me for the potential of noise. As it turned out, it was quiet and caused me no problems. Also, I ate dinner in the little cafe and found it to be not bad. They offer a $3.99 breakfast deal that didn't sound bad, although I didn't partake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclecofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you! We Appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your guestroom and some of our amenities. Our Weekday $3.99 full Breakfast is very popular with our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future and that you can utilize our "Bowling Centre" located in the lower level and our great Food and Beverage outlets!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Lookout
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Checked in and stayed a few days , the city very busy because of the annual fathers day race
and hotel rooms were at a premium. Had only booked for a few days and needed a extra day.
The staff there worked hard to accomodate us and found a room. The restaurant staff were also
very friendly and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: rooms opposite the pool are best because if you goto sleep early the pool is open until at least 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff and accommodations. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, fantastic staff, the in house restaurant service & food was excellent.... not many places you can get 2 eggs, bacon( sausage or ham) hash browns and toast for 3.99!!! enjoyed every bite.. Rooms were quite clean.. we pointed out a few areas that required attention... There were some issues with noise--unruly guests... management & staff dealt with the problems... it was unfortunate but this hotel is NOT responsible for the actions of their guests...Our room was across from the pool --- yes there was loud kids--- security dealt with the problem!!! We required an additional nite.. No vacancy... as soon as a cancellation came through we were advised!!! Thank You.....THUMBS UP TO THE MANAGER AND HIS WONDERFUL STAFF.

Room Tip: excellent location to all parts of Winnipeg
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayceejay153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
A great Thank you!! We are so pleased you enjoyed our Hotel. We have many long term staff that thoroughly enjoy their profession and love dealing with our guests. Our Full Breakfast Special for $3.99 is a great hit for our customers. We hope that we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Quality Inn & Suites
#39 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#40 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Winnipeg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Winnipeg East

Property: Travelodge Winnipeg East
Address: 20 Alpine Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2M 0Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
#5 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Winnipeg East 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded with the Travelodge Hotel of the year in 2004 and 2009, the Travelodge Winnipeg East prides itself on offering a beautiful indoor tropical courtyard, complete with pool, hot tub, and sauna. Also located on-site is the Marquee Restaurant & Lounge, Doubles Fun Club, and Alpine Bowling Lanes. The Hotel is situated near St. Vital Shopping Centre and The Royal Canadian Mint, and just minutes from downtown Winnipeg. With great on-site amenities, excellent service, and the perfect location, Travelodge Winnipeg East is your ideal destination for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Winnipeg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Winnipeg East Hotel Winnipeg
Travel Lodge Winnipeg
Winnipeg Travelodge
Winnipeg Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing