We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This facility had the perfect combination of great service & excellent food with a clean & cozy room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This facility had the perfect combination of great service & excellent food with a clean & cozy room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a wonderful experience!
We decided to have our wedding here because we have always had great experiences with the service and the food, not to mention that the hotel had just been renovated! We really wanted to impress our guests, while keeping within our budget. This facility did just that! Everyone that we dealt with (before & after the wedding), was more than helpful and courteous! We still get compliments on our wedding menu, and I would agree with them! The food was the best I have ever had at a wedding, and I'm so glad that it was at my own! Last but not least, the room/suite was clean and cozy and was a great comfort to my new husband and I, once our big day was over! Thanks to everyone that helped us to make it a memorable day! We will definitely be back! : )

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verona1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
We thank you Verona for taking the time to fill out a Tripadvisor Review for the RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel in Winnipeg for your Wedding. We have recently spent 12 Million Dollars on our Renovations in the entire Hotel which helps us to provide the outmost in Customer Service, Experience and Quality for all of our Guests in the Hotel.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    122
    67
    22
    27
See reviews for
143
77
37
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We made a reservation and got exactly what we asked for. We had a king room. We also had a very late check-in and it was fast and convenient once we finally got there. The hotel and our room was very clean (no complaints). The hotel was quiet and the bed was nice. The pool and hot tub were great and quiet! The staff was friendly too but did not go out of their way to be helpful or extra nice.

My only complaint that there was no robes for guests. I prefer them to walk down to the pool with one.

The food in the restaurant was delicious and fast!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chelseakicks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you very much for your response to Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to write the review about our Newly Renovated Hotel.
At the RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel we pride ourselves in providing attention, service and quality to all of our Guests.
We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next Visit with us at The RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg Canada
Level Contributor
402 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We found the hotel to be very clean. The staff was very nice. It was great because it was so close to Polo Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank inthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, MB, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Im a regular and usually stay once every 2-3 months. The only reason I choose this hotel is becuase of location, I like to be near portage ave & withing walking of polo park & there don't seem to be other options. I don't think we will want to stay again. Just after the flood in 2011 the rooms were really run down, that was a little to be expected. My room had a broken toilet seat, broken lock and a tv that did not work well. When we ordered prime rib from the restaurant it did not come with the sides advertised, even after we brought it to the attention of our server, nothing was done.

Our next stay in WPG we stayed somewhere else. because of location we stayed again in April 2012. They gave me a very nice quiet room on the 4th floor, however the room itself was starting to look a bit run down and the rug was sticky. I had specifically asked for my sheets to be changed. and that night when I was ready to go to bed and pulle d back my sheets, the sheets looked old and pilled with 12" long black hair all over. I am blond with very short hair. They were nice and came and inspected, and later changed the sheets, it was about an hour (after i originally wanted to go to bed) before I could go to bed, not very relaxing at all. I thought they would comp me something, even offer a nice breakfast or something, especially since I am loyal and kept on returning bad stay after bad stay. What was I thinking?

Well here I am again, I guess I just don't learn! First I am here on business and asked for a very quiet room. You would think they would mention that there is a girls hockey tern. on and there will not be any quiet rooms anywhere in the hotel. Then they put me in the same room as last fall, well at least the door is fixed, probably becuase they fixed it then, but the toilet seat is still broken, the tv is green and guess what? LONG BLACK HAIR in my bed again!
Now that's not to mention that they also did not bother to vacuume my floor which has dirt, crumbs from the night before even with me taking my shoes off at the door.

Now the restaurant again is another matter, don't bother with breakfast unless you have 45min - an hour. I arrived at 7:35am, knew my time was limitedso asked before I was even seated, can you serve me within 5 -10 min as I have to leave before 7:50. I was told yes we can. well after 7:50am, I boxed up my breakfast and had to eat it on my way to my meeting and during coffee. I signed for my breakfast in good faith and after my meeting returned to the hotel. I was called by restaurant staff to come pay my bill, I was in a rush to visit family and when I returned thought why am I paying for poor service? So tried to discuss with the front desk the number of issues I was facing (did not know that I had the black hair in bed). I felt like I was ignored and felt brushed off, did not feel like a welcomed guest. Did not get anywhere with them other than they would speak to someone the next day. Got a not to friendly call from the restaurant when I returned to my room. She was not respectful and talked down to me. Well she behaved rather ignorantly.

910pm and hockey girls partying in the hall, so much for getting some sleep and an early start tomorrow & front desk won't even answer their phone.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilove2Swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Court House, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Viscount Gort Hotel for 10 days while on business in Winnipeg. I travel for a living, so I've stayed in all kinds of hotels - high end, resorts, budget, moderate - and never, *never* have I had the pleasure to stay in a hotel where everything came together to bring about a perfect stay. The lobby is clean and well appointed, the lounge and restaurant offer a varied menu with reasonable prices, the rooms have every amenity and the housekeeping staff is exceptional, and the service --- all I can say is *wow*. This is rare. I was so impressed I actually took the time to get to know the staff so that I could give a shout out in this review. Jodi, Arthena, Sher, and Alena to name just a few at the front desk - did all they could to ensure a comfortable, pleasurable stay.... and they went out of their way to help me find all I needed in the City.

The housekeeping staff - especially Monica - was exceptional. I walked by rooms she was cleaning and saw her on her hands and knees cleaning bathroom floors. I asked for extra coffee my first day and never had to ask again for the remaining 9 days of my stay. Another first. Melissa in the restaurant and her staff in the restaurant and lounge go out of their way to be accommodating. Did I also mention the $3.99 breakfast special? What a value for a great meal -- 2 eggs, toast, hash browns, and bacon or sausage.

I understand all this is under the direction of the new General Manager, Tracy Wilkie, who I also had the pleasure to meet while I was there. With Tracy at the helm, there is no limit to the things this hotel and this staff can achieve together.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: They have several balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KDJBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flin Flon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I recently Stayed at the Viscount Gort Hotel on May 30 til June 3rd, 2012. I've been staying at the Viscount a lot of times and each time I've enjoyed my stay. Jodi and her front desk staff are extremely friendly and is very helpful. The restraunt Staff are amazing and very friendly and helpful too. I did have one problem while I stayed there. One of the towels that was in my room was dirty, but other than that. I look forward to staying there the next time I come to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RalphLaliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Overall an average hotel. The viscount was very difficult to find parking at. Not that there isn't adequate parking but it is a virtual labrynth and with a larger family vehicle it was slightly uncomfortable to navigate through to find parking. Upon entering the hotel the lobby is very nice and refreshing from the outward appearance of the hotel. The desk staff was polite although seemed disinterested, maybe it was just me. Up the elevator to the 4th floor i found the hallway to be dark, dingy and slightly dirty. The room (double queen suite) was quite spacious and bright. A wet bar with mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and complimentary bottle of water were all clean and in working order. The bathroom was nothing fancy but clean and functional. I will say I couldn't locate the ice machine on the 4th floor. Perhaps there isn't one, but with the mini fridge in the room it was hardly a concern. The pool was nice with a water slide. I will say the water was very cold! 30min in the pool and i was in need of the hot tub. The "hot tub" was the same temperature as some pools in other hotels. I needed hot shower to warm up after using the hot tub. Traffic noise, in room, was noticeable but far from something that would interrupt my sleep. As I said, an average hotel. Close to shopping and restaurants.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mleducho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#18 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing