We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Women's retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Women's retreat”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing service, excellent food and wonderful people! And all 21 women agreed Thank you to the Viscount Gort for an awesome weekend for our retreat! We will be back next year! We could not be happier Great Great Great

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your awesome weekend retreat. We are happy when we have exceeded our Guests expectations.
We look forward to seeing you all next year.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    124
    69
    24
    29
See reviews for
147
77
38
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Viscount and we have to say that it was a great experience. The staff went above and beyond our expectations and they made you feel like you were a very valued customer.

Very well organized and very professional. Great communication, GREAT FOOD! Wonderful banquet management with snap of the fingers type service.

High five and a shout out to Richard!

Ask for Richard he will make your dream wedding reception happen!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Our Staff and Management would like to thank you for providng us not only the wonderful comments but the opportunity to host your very special day.
Our Sales Executives, Culinary and Banquet Team want to ensure and provide the utmost in Professional Service to each and every one our Guests attending this very special day.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide Us such wonderful comments.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

A good place for a function. At times service seemed a little small town compared to being in a city. Communication breakdowns at the front desk around airport shuttle. Also no umbrellas at front desk for rainy days nor any shuttles to the mall

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexS076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your comment about the Umbrellas this is a wonderful idea we will definatley look at having this available at the Front Desk for our Guests.
I will discuss the communication breakdown about our Shuttle Van to our Front Desk Manager to ensure that this does not happen again.
Thank you again for the comments and we are looking forward to having you stay with Us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We hosted a dinner in the "Viscount Room" on the second floor. The room was very pretty, REALLY nice chair covers (Brides - if you want to avoid ugly chair syndrome, and don't want to pay through the nose for Chiavari chairs,you'll love these). Dinner was fabulous, the food was excellent and there was a nice wide range of items to choose from on their banquet menu (including a la carte additions to their bundled meals). Prices were very reasonable.

The service staff were wonderful, warm and polite without the "white glove" stuffiness, and actually seemed to care about our experience (unusual for banquet staff). When's the last time a banquet server stopped by to ask you how your meal was? Or ask if you needed anything? Or if the lighting was ok, or the music too loud? They were WONDERFUL.

The renovations are very nice. All around a great experience, and highly recommended for your event.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
WOW, thank you so very much for the wonderful comments about your recent event with Us.
The Hotel Management and Staff take pride to ensure that every detail and more exceed our Guests expectation.
Our Service, Professionalism and Price are provided to each and every Guest to show how much we understand the what every event requires.

We look forward to hosting your Conference again next year.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouffville, Ontario Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel was nice. The rooms were well appointed and clean. The pillows however were terrible. They are very fluffy but have absolutely no support. We were surprised that even though we hung up our towels so we could reuse them, we were given clean towels each day....so much for their claim of helping the environment. The hotel is just across the road from a large shopping mall and close to several restaurants. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review about your resent stay.
I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager regarding the Pillows in your room, and we will be looking into a firmer pillow and have this available for our Guests who prefer a firmer pillow.
As well as spoke to our Housekeepers to review the re-use towel program in the Hotel to ensure they are all aware of this in each room.
We really appreciate your comments as it helps us monitor the services we provide in the Hotel to all of our Guests and ways to improve and make there stay comfortable.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have stayed here twice in the past few months.It's a beautiful newly renovated hotel and very clean.We had a nice room with a king size bed.The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.It's close to shopping and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on tripadvisor about your stay here.
Our Housekeeping Staff take pride in there job and it shows but the wonderful comments which we receive from our Guests.
The location is great if you love shopping as Winnipeg's largest shopping mall (Polo Park) is within walking distance of our Hotel as well as are many of out other local attractions in Winnipeg.
We look forward to see you agian.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#21 of 63 in Winnipeg
443 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#22 of 63 in Winnipeg
519 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the Bell MTS Place and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing