We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot For Your Wedding or Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Spot For Your Wedding or Party”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I play in a band. We play for weddings and organization's annual dinners and that sort of thing. We have a lot of experience working with the banquet managers, as this is the go-to person when the band is setting up in the ballroom. Last week we played at the Viscount Gort. It had been over a year since we were last playing in this ballroom, but we sure did notice some changes since the last time. The manager Gerard was great. He was there to welcome us in and direct us to what the set-up plan would be. He kept checking in with us to see if there was anything thing we needed as we were getting set up. He was so thoughtful, he arranged to have a private meeting room set up so that we could relax in there before the show and order our dinner from the restaurant menu. A waitress from the restaurant ( for the life of me cannot recall her name as I write this) came to the room and took our orders and went above and beyond the call to make our meal pleasant. The food we ordered off of the restaurant menu and the menu from the lounge was tasty and plentiful. As part of our contract we had a room in the hotel arranged for us to change our clothes before our show. The room was clean and the bedding looked new. If you have ever been to this hotel you will know that it is a bit tricky to navigate as there have been some additions to the building over many years. Once you figure that out, it is not a problem. If I was in the market to put on a wedding or a large party, this would be my first choice, after having worked with many, many banquet managers and staff at all of the major hotels in Winnipeg, these people know how to get things done and work with you in a friendly and helpful manner. Great job Viscount Gort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookishBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much for providing Us such wonderful comments about our Banquet Manager Gerard. Gerard goes above and beyond when it comes to Customer Service he is a great asset to the Hotel.
The Hotel Staff and Management right from the Housekeeping Department to the Kitchen want to ensure that each Guest in our Hotel receive this same service, quailty and product throughout there stay or evening with Us.

We hope to see you playing here again.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    125
    70
    24
    29
See reviews for
148
78
38
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
quebec
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I so was hoping to write a nice review, but things did not work out so well. I must say that the Ramada has the best location in Winnipeg, everything we needed within walking distance. Also the mattress was comfy. But unfortunately it ended there for us....

(Room 114
OMG the street noise... Trust me, truck stops are not even that noisy! Bring plugs.
Pet friendly rooms are on the street level and are MOTEL rooms at hotel prices. If we had known this we would not have booked. I do not do motels because I find them unsafe with a door that gives on the street. Furthermore, they had a construction site right outside our door. Semi idled for over an hour at 9am while I wanted to rest...
The tub is spray painted an peeling, nasty looking.
The wi-fi in the room was dead slow and useless.

As for service, this broke my heart! A blind man came in holding a suitcase in one hand and his guide dog in the other. The front desk folks and the shuttle guy kept telling him to go down the hall, the poor man was walking around the lobby trying to figure out where the hall was. Besides, there are 2 halls and the lobby is obstructed by an open staircase, couches, etc. So I helped out this gentleman. Shame on you Ramada! Reality check, you are in the hospitality business...

Too bad! had high hopes, but will not go back. How they got rated 10 out of 59 is beyond me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_magoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We appreciate you providing Us the comments on your resent stay here as we take all comments very seriously.
I was appalled when I read the comment about the Visually Impaired Guest whom we did not help to the Meeting Room. I can assure you that this was addressed and will never happen again in our Hotel. Our Staff are Trained to provide the utmost in Customer Service and I see this needs to be reviewed again with all.
The Pet Friendly Rooms are on the Main Floor of the Hotel, as this helps all of our Rooms Guests who have Pets to easily come and go at any time and with ease. We keep all of our Pet Friendly Rooms on the same floor as this helps with allergies and noise for our Guests.
The Hotel and St. James are located in a very safe area as we have not had any problems with any complaints about disturbances.
I am hoping you will stay with us again in the future so we can show you why we are #10 in the City on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
859 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for the first time in a while, and was very impressed with the upgrades that have been done. Front lobby has been modernized since the old 'Viscount' days. Bedrooms are more comfortable, pool area still very nice. Didn't use the restaurant or lounge. Room was clean and staff very helpful. Not all parking is convenient, but it's still free compared to many places that charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are glad you like the renovations of the entire Hotel as we want to pride a comfortable and modern atmosphere for each and every Guest during there stay here.
The Staff of the Hotel take pride in ensuring each and every Guest receives Professional Serivce and Quailty we know they expect.

We look forward to have you stay with Us again in the Future.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The banquet staff were great and Gerard was absolutely amazing. He was very attentive, took initiative, and solved problems before I even realized there was one. I received a lot of comments on how good the food was and how everyone was surprised at how nice the Viscount is nowadays! We are so happy that we chose the Viscount to celebrate our special day!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for providing Us such wonderful comments and for letting Us host this very Special Day.
The Banquet Manager goes out of his way to ensure that every detail is complete so that all of our Guests can enjoy there Special day.
We know that hosing a Wedding takes a lot of of time and energy to plan and everyone from the Banquet Manager, the Chef and all the Banquet Personnel take pride to ensure that all the details are flawless so you are able to enjoy this day.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Above average customer service from all staff, with clean rooms at an affordable price. Only beef was the food in the restaurant substandard . Lots of good places to eat in easy walking distance, and a mall close by with good shopping options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and away from highway traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We appreciate you providing Us your comments about your resent stay here with Us.
The Staff take pride in providing the utmost in Customer Service to all of our Guests so that there stay in an enjoyable one.
I have spoken with our Supplier of our Certified Angus Beef program and addressed your concern regarding our Beef. This program is one of the Best Beef Programs in the Country and we want to ensure that any concerns are addressed directly to them as we take all comments very seriously.

Thank you again for providing Us with your comments.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing service, excellent food and wonderful people! And all 21 women agreed Thank you to the Viscount Gort for an awesome weekend for our retreat! We will be back next year! We could not be happier Great Great Great

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your awesome weekend retreat. We are happy when we have exceeded our Guests expectations.
We look forward to seeing you all next year.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Viscount and we have to say that it was a great experience. The staff went above and beyond our expectations and they made you feel like you were a very valued customer.

Very well organized and very professional. Great communication, GREAT FOOD! Wonderful banquet management with snap of the fingers type service.

High five and a shout out to Richard!

Ask for Richard he will make your dream wedding reception happen!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Our Staff and Management would like to thank you for providng us not only the wonderful comments but the opportunity to host your very special day.
Our Sales Executives, Culinary and Banquet Team want to ensure and provide the utmost in Professional Service to each and every one our Guests attending this very special day.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide Us such wonderful comments.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#20 of 63 in Winnipeg
448 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#24 of 63 in Winnipeg
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the Bell MTS Place and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing