We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate Events”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Corporate Events”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I am an Events Coordinator for a major company and use hotels all over Canada and the world. I have dealt with 2 star to 5 stars hotels for my events and must say that The Ramada Viscount Gort in wpg, MB. exceeds all expectations as far as dealing with different group sizes, excellent detail oriented, outstanding customer service. This hotel has by far exceeded any other hotel I have worked with and I will definitely use them in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
The RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel would like to thank you for providing us such wonderful feedback regarding numerous Corporate events here with Us.
We are grateful for your ongoing loyalty with us, and look forward to hosting more events with your and your Organization in the future.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    123
    69
    24
    28
See reviews for
146
77
38
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I attended a graduation dinner and dance at the Viscount Gort and it was a great experience. The food was great and the staff was very friendly. We stayed the night after the event and had a wonderful experience. Room was clean and large and the bed was comfortable. Loved the whole experience! Totally recommend it to anyone and will not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide Us with a review about your event and stay. Our Culinary and Banquet Team want each and every Guest to enjoy there evening.
Our Guest Room provide comfort and relaxation during there stay.
Again, thank you for providing Us a review about your visit.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am a producer that recently had 4 top comedians in town and their entourage. We took up 7 rooms and on the night of the event I took a room too. The hotel is so clean and fresh looking. The staff were very easy to deal with and so accommodating. The food in the restaurant was great. Everyone was happy with their rooms. You add all of this with its proximity to the main shopping mall and it is a win win every time.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. When celebrities who travel the world say the hotel is good then you know something is being done right.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were great. We were on the 4th floor and both sides of the hall. No complaints ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for providing Us with a review about your stay here with your Comedians and for choosing Us to help make your stay in Winnipeg and enjoyable one.
We at the RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel pride ourselves to provide a relaxing and professional stay for each and everyone of our Guests.

We look forward to seeing you and your entourage soon.

Sincerely,



Tracy Wilkie
General manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was there last Sunday and had a great experience! Great food, great service, totally recommend it. Going back again soon! My family all enjoyed the experience. Clean, happy atmosphere. It's a must go!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I will ensure to pass this on to our Restaurant Manager as well as our Chef.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,



Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I booked this hotel on the start of my European trip. I had stayed at this place years ago when it was called "The Viscount Gort" and had been happy with it. This time when I checked in, I was extremely pleased with the staff at the front desk. They were very friendly and went to great efforts to check with the restaurant staff if they could prepare gluten free meals. I wanted to be sure that it was not an issue, as if it was going to be then I would have walked or taken a taxi somewhere else. They spoke to the chef (Michael) and assured me that it was not a problem. So I dropped my bags off in my room and went to the restaurant. I told the waiter that the front staff had spoken to Michael about gluten free being required (it is not a fad for me...it is a necessity). He later claimed that he didn't hear me say that. I made it very clear that I needed gluten free. No croutons, no food cooked in a margarine or butter if it had been used to butter bread (as crumbs can transfer to it and then end up in my dish if cooked with that margarine...making me very ill for days), no wheat or rye or barley products. Also if any pre packaged cheese is used - it can quite likely have gluten, as the equipment used to shred the cheese is often coated in flour to prevent sticking of cheese to the equipment. So after careful selection and assurances from the wait staff, I chose a chicken salad. He had assured me that the chicken was grilled - there would be no spices and no flour on it at all. When the salad arrived it not only had chicken coated in some unknown spice that could have gluten in it, but it also had a huge gob of pre packaged, shredded cheese on it. All the food certainly looked really good and smelled great...but as a person who cannot eat gluten, this is apparently not a place to eat. This is the first time that I have ever had to turn down a meal and walk out. So embarrassed and disappointed. Then to top that off: the waiter clearly was angry with me (which really irritated me, since I was very clear about the health issue and speaking to the chef and he messed up), but then as he is returning to the kitchen with it, another employee very loudly blurts out a comment badmouthing me and humiliating me. What a terrible experience. By that time it was getting late, so I went to my room and had a gluten free muffin I had brought with me and that was it. I gave an "average" review, because the rest of the staff was excellent, but the waiter and the girl who yelled out that comment were extremely upsetting and embarrassing.

Room Tip: Avoid eating here if you require gluten free meals, otherwise the rest is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBTraveler2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
I have discussed you comment about your recent visit to our Restaurant with our Chef. I would like to apologize for the incident which occurred as we know how serious any form of contamination can be to our Guests.
We have checked all the ingredients of both our spices which were on the Chicken as well as the Cheese and both are Gluten free.
We serve many allergies as well as dietary restrictions in the Hotel as this is becoming more and more common within our Industry, which is why we have many ingredients to ensure that we can accommodate them as much as possible .
I have also spoken to our Restaurant Manager regarding the situation and this type of behavior is not tolerated and will be dealt with.
Thank you again for providing us with your comments as we do take all of them very seriously as we want to ensure that each Guest receives the utmost in Professional Service when staying with us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I would never go bad. The booking was for a group whom asked to placed all together which we were not. When everyone checked in we were treated with inexperienced staff whom couldnt even provide information on the facilities in the hotel. We were then harrassed by the staff due to the group gathering in one room because we were not put in the same area as we originally requested 3 months prior when we booked. We were threatened by a security guard that the police were going to be called due to our loud talking in a room. The age of our group was 40-50 year old adults whom did no damage nor as responsible adults did we even leave a mess. It was a disappointing stay and in the future we will never stay here again. We will be very diligent in let our friends know of the unacceptable service proved by extremely inexperienced and rude individuals running this establishment.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We thank you for providing us your comments on your recent stay here with us.
I have reviewed al of the information you outlined in your comment with both our Front Desk Manager as well as the Security Company.
We did have your entire group all on the 2 floor together at the end of the hall during your entire stay.
Various Room Guests did complain at 4:00am about the loud noise coming from one of the guest rooms which everyone was gathering in on your floor. Security had asked twice for everyone to keep it down as this was affecting other Guests on the Floor at 4:00am in the morning. We only have a one warning Policy regarding noise after 11:00pm as e need to ensure that each and every Guest has a relaxing night sleep.

Sincerely,



Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Visited the Ramada Viscount Gort at a recent full-day technical seminar series. It was a great choice for the event with easy-access to the presentation rooms, clean comfortable seating and close washroom locations. Lunch was served by the hotel staff, who were friendly and helpful. The pasta sauce was out of this world - hats-off to the chef. Banquet Manager Gerard was especially attentive and should be complimented on a fine event.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us a wonderful review about your recent visit here with us on the service and quality you experienced.
Gerard and his Team always go out of there way to ensure that each and every Guest is taken care of front he time they walk in the door to the time they leave.
We are looking forward to hosting next years event.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#18 of 63 in Winnipeg
441 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
514 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the Bell MTS Place and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing