We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay. Helpful Staff. Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay. Helpful Staff. Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at the viscount this past month while I was in town on business. Everything was phenomenal including the room, food and service. Jodi at the front desk was extremely helpful and took care of all the arrangements. I am not familiar with the city and she helped me with all my transportation and navigation needs. The rooms were clean and the staff were all very friendly. I had breakfast in the hotel every morning and it was excellent. The location is great as it's close to the airport. Whether it's a short or long stay, I highly recommend this hotel! Looking forward to enjoying all the amenities next time I'm back in town!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for provide us with a review about your recent stay here with Us. Jodi is a wonderful asset to the Hotel as she always try's to ensure that each and every Guest is taken care of.
We are glad you had an opportunity to utilize our Restaurant during your stay and enjoy a wonderful breakfast.
Our proximity to all local attractions and shopping makes us the ideal spot for everyone coming to Winnipeg.

We look forward to your next stay with Us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    121
    66
    22
    25
See reviews for
139
77
37
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flin Flon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I would strongly recommend the Ramada Viscount Gort Hotel in Winnipeg Manitoba. I do not know where to even begin. Great service friendly Staff, excellent location. I know in the past if I ever had a problem either with the room or if something was broken that the staff at the Viscount Gort would accommodate us to another room if need be. Or if there was something wrong with the toilet we would tell the front desk on our way out and by the time we would come back the problem would be fixed. I can not wait and am really looking forward for my next visit there at the end of the month.

I have stayed at many hotels in Winnipeg and I do have to say that the Viscount is the best hotel in Winnipeg.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphLaliberty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
We thank you for providing us such a wonderful review about your numerous visits with us. Our Team at the RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel provide themselves in providing the utmost in Processional Service to each and every one of our Guests.
We thank you for your years of Loyalty and look forward to your next stay here with us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. Stayed here because of the pool because my son loves water slides, but that is the only good thing about this hotel. We check in at might night, and when we got to pre reserved room, it was not a sweet, which when I confirmed with the hotel a week prior they said it would be. When I called the front desk to tell them they made us carry all our luggage back down to the front desk to get our new key for the correct room, we'll with a tired cranky toddler and all the luggage that comes with traveling with a child, I was not impressed. Then they told us our correct room would be $40 more per night then what we were told over the phone. Then when we got to our room it was old and musty smelling with a toilet that is continuously running, it was very dusty and not very clean in general. It is also right next to the highway so it is very loud. The clerks at the front were very rude. All in all the only good thing was the pool.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We have read your review and we are disappointed in the lack of communication with RAMADA when booking your room with one of there Agents. I have spoken with RAMADA about your concern in booking the incorrect room type to ensure that this does not happen again.
Our Front Desk Manager read your review as we were not aware of any of your concerns and wanted to ensure that your remaining days with us are enjoyable.
We are glad that you have enjoyed that last couple of nights with us and have made your stay one to enjoy and will be staying with us again.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I flew in from Vancouver for one night, and found a very good price on this hotel which was super convenient and close to the MTS Centre. I landed at 145pm, arrived at the Viscount at 2 and the front desk agent allowed me to check in an hour before the regular check in time which was 3, she was super friendly and I was happy I had time to relax before the concert. The room was so clean, air conditioner and heating worked perfect, and the beds were SO comfy. The location was easy to get to, and near every necessity you need. I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel if its for a long time, or even just one night :) The check-out girl Sandra was amazing also!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaitlan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are glad you found the Hotel convenient for your visit to Winnipeg. Our location is second to none in proximately to shopping, dinner and entertainment in Winnipeg. We are close to everything Winnipeg has to offer.
Our Professional Staff will do what ever they can to ensure that a Guest can check in early as we know that that little extra time can make a big difference.
I have made our Front Desk Manager aware of your wonderful comment about Sandra.
Thanks you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay here with us.

Sincerely,



Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The room was pleasant, the mattress good for sleeping, secure complimentary parking was good, the WIFI was a bonus except for intermittent speed problems. The 1970's era heater / air conditioner could be on low, on high or off. In other words, the choice was to freeze, or to listen to the fan all night. The sports bar service, beer and pub grub were acceptable. The location was suitably close to downtown, airport, shopping, etc. but then Winnipeg is not a giant metropolis. Both elevators were antiques. The 1970's era psychedelic hall carpeting could do with an upgrade. I would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We appreciate you providing us comments about your recent stay here with us as we take any and all comments very seriously.
we are happy you enjoyed our room and complimentary services we provide in our Hotel.
I have addressed your concern about the air units with our Building Manger to ensure that directions on how to adjust the temperature in our Guest Rooms are visible, so that each Guest can control the temperature in there room.
Again, thank you for providing us your comments.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The reno's are beautiful. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly! We had lunch in the gort dining room, the manager Melissa was very accommodating and our server Ron made out lunch experience even better. Overall great experience! We will be back for sure:)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dez555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I would like to thank you for providing such a wonderful review about our Hotel, as well as the service you received from Melissa our Dining Room Manager and Ron.
Melissa and her Team want to ensure that each and every Guest in our Dining Room enjoy there dining experience.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie

General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked a meeting room at the Ramada Viscount Gort with the knowledgeable Director of Sales. The room was set-up as requested, Refresher served during meeting was delicious, staff was very friendly and on the ball. I would recommend it to all who are looking for meeting or conference rooms.

I will certainly be returning to Ramada Viscoung Gort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We thank you for providing tripadvisor a review about your Meeting at the Hotel. Our Professional Sales and Banquet Department want to ensure that each and every event are looked after and to smallest detail.
We look forward to hosting your next event here with Us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#18 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing