We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Country Inn & Suites has long been a favorite stopping place for us. Most are "dog" friendly in case we are traveling with our Lab. They usually have a very good breakfast. The rooms are good size and clean with nice bedding. We like them so much that we got a book listing their locations when we went on a nine week tour of western U.S. and Canada a few years ago. Sadly, they had no locations where we ended up. Guess they need to expand west. Most locations have a separate room for breakfast. This must be an older location as there was no separate room. Instead, tables and chairs filled the lobby. Notwithstanding the somewhat strange facility for breakfast the food was excellent and we rated it among the best of our trip. They had oatmeal that was very good plus they also had cinnamon rolls.
The sausage was excellent as well. I did not have time to use the exercise room but it is very small and contained only three machines plus free weights. That is all one really needs so it is quite good. The hotel is near the airport and appears to attract a lot of business people. There are nicer hotels around but the value is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Our accessible room was on the third floor. Try to reserve one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neblud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Amazing gem of a place in Winnipeg of all places. Walked into the room and was blown away. Copious amounts of towels, lovely pillows, extra blankets. A book nook and laundry room to boot!. Best breakfast, hands down.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

It really is still one of the best places to stay in Winnipeg, especially for the price.
Very clean, beds are comfortable, complimentary breakfast was great.
Quiet and staff were pleasant.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank golfer09Sask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Its very comfortable. Me and my family always stay there when come to the city. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Even though this little hotel may seem small and crowded but its simply fantastic. This is not a joke. Quiet and Affordable are the words.

Room Tip: Be respectful so you can get the same respect back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kicking_Playa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed here after a 27 hour train ride from Ontario. We arrived early in the morning. The lady at the desk noted how tired we were and made an extra effort to get a room ready for us. We had breakfast and by the time we were done our room was ready. It was clean and comfortable. We couldn\t have asked for anything more. It is a great location and the breakfast was good.
We would definitely stay here again.
We were exhausted--Thank you to the lady fot helping us out as quickly as she could.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zr9000x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

First time I stayed on the second floor of this motel - almost died from an asthma attack due to the heavily sprayed room freshener/deodorizer.
I did not notice this when I stayed on the lower floor the week before. That room had door opening to the parking lot.
Hotels are going to have to come to terms with the fact that if the rooms smell and have to be so heavily deodorized, they are going to have to have adequate air exchange.
I had to take pillows and blanket and sleep on the couch in the lobby, The night desk clerk was more than kind and tried to show me to a second room on the second floor, but it was also heavily deodorized/sprayed. And he attempted to set me up with an air cleaner of some type. In the morning when I asked to speak to the Manager, the desk staff reported was away for the holiday season.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Our family of four stayed in this hotel for a one night stop in WInnipeg while travelling across Canada. It is in a good location for the airport, although we were taking a road trip. It is located in a more industrial area. Check-in was easy and the front desk personnel were friendly. Room was clean, bedding was comfortable, and the hotel was very quiet. Appreciated the use of the free computer in the lobby. The lobby is very homey and includes a lending library of books in good condition which one can borrow and return to another hotel in the same chain along the way. Breakfast was served from 6 am to 9 am on the Monday morning and was all set out and ready to go right at 6:00. It included the usual fruit, muffins, yogurt, juices, etc. and also a waffle maker for making your own waffles. No trouble finding a spot to sit and the breakfast area was very clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
333 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#29 of 63 in Winnipeg
163 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB

Address: 730 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#6 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#18 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: £68 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Int’l Airport (1.2 km), the Country Inn & Suites is a short commute to major attractions: Winnipeg Art Gallery (4.8 km), Downtown – The Exchange District (6.7 km), Polo Park Centre (2.3 km), and the Farmer’s Market (7.9 km). With the Winnipeg prairie skies as your backdrop, 75 comfortable and spacious rooms feature a mini fridge, free WiFi, in-room coffee maker and flat-screen TV. Upgrade to a Suite Room to enjoy the addition of an adjoining living room, wet bar and sofa bed. Pet-friendly rooms are available upon request. Rest easy at the Country Inn & Suites. Grab a free cookie and cup of coffee upon check-in and a book from the Read It & Return Lending Library. Complimentary hot breakfast is standard in the lobby each morning. A 24-hour Business Centre is located in the lobby for your convenience. A Fitness Centre, free parking and Coin Laundry are available. Eco-Friendly, rated with 3 Green Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Country Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Country Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing