We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a very good motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This was a very good motel”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This motel offers free breakfast that's pretty good, reasonable rates, spacious rooms, courteous, friendly staff. My only complaint was that the carpet was very worn and dirty, but they seem to be in the process of removing and replacing them. I would recommend this motel to all.

Room Tip: Spend the little bit extra and opt for a suite, it doesn't cost that much more and gives you ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NenaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    156
    54
    19
    9
See reviews for
168
89
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently using our Club Carlson points. We had a queen room and I was very pleased with how clean the room was when we arrived. The beds were comfortable and overall the hotel was very quiet. We had seamless, efficient service on both check-in and check-out and the staff was friendly.
Two main downsides to this hotel: First, the overall look of the hotel is dated and doesn't give a great first impression...I was nervous (though pleasantly surprised!) about what our room would be like while checking in. Second, while having complimentary continental breakfast is a great feature, it ends early on weekdays (9 am) and we missed it since we had a very late flight arrival the night before. On holidays I don't want to have to set an alarm to make it to breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_in_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Recently spent one night in a King-bed room. I was a little nervous due to other reviews but I must say that overall it was fine. Yes hotel is a bit dated but the room was spotless clean, bed comfortable, and the service was good. We had the breakfast in the morning which was also good. It is not a 5 star - but it is a comfortable 3 star. Free wifi also.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anywherewarm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I have stayed here many times for business and a few times for pleasure. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean. The hotel has been doing some upgrades lately that have not disturbed me as a guest. The hotel is right on Route 90, so it is easy to find and easy to navigate to other parts of the city. This is my hotel of choice when I am visiting Winnipeg.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor in the back have an outside entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed at this property on March 25th with my daughter and friend. It was close to the airport but was located on a busy street which made it hard to sleep. When we had checked in the front desk staff were pleasant. There was a notice up stating that there would be no water for 8 hours as they were switching over the water tank. They never offered bottle water so you could at leat brush your teeth. The sheet on the pull out couch was badly soiled and the pillows were in a zipped bag which was a great idea to keep the dust off, but one of the pillows had pink lipstick all over it. The carpets seem dirty and the decor in the room was dated. Tues. morning we told the maid are room was fine and we left the dnd sign on the door and went down for breakfast. When we came back to our room the maid had bypassed the dnd sign and was in our room after we told her we did not need service today. The second night was a sleepless one as there was noisy guests and security warned them twice and if they didn't keep it down then they would be kicked out. That moring we down for breakfast a little later only to find it all put away early. We were there well before breakfat hours ended. Very disappointed!! On top of all of this when I got home I had bug bites all over the back of my body. My daughter who also shared the King bed with me also had bug bites all over her back. I would have mentioned this to the Front Desk but I didn't know I had this until a couple of days later. We had a bad experience at this hotel and will not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at our hotel. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed one night on the way to Jamaica and one night on the way home from Jamacia.

Great little hotel, front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

Rooms we very clean, beds are comfy, bathroom is a good size with nice little amenities.

Wonderful stopover hotel and they offer a free breakfast. We did not have a chance to have it because we had to be at the airport at 4am but the front desk made up to go bags for us which was really a nice touch.

Free Wifi in the rooms as well.

The hotel itself may be a little older and could use some updating but great place for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a very early morning flight so our stay was very short. The room was small with 2 queen size beds and with 3 of us we were tripping over each other. Otherwise it was quiet, especially when we headed out the door at 4 am.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Although it was a short stay, we're glad to have had the opportunity for you to Be Our Guest. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#28 of 63 in Winnipeg
151 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Address: 730 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#18 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Int’l Airport (1.2 km), the Country Inn & Suites is a short commute to major attractions: Winnipeg Art Gallery (4.8 km), Downtown – The Exchange District (6.7 km), Polo Park Centre (2.3 km), and the Farmer’s Market (7.9 km). With the Winnipeg prairie skies as your backdrop, 75 comfortable and spacious rooms feature a mini fridge, free WiFi, in-room coffee maker and flat-screen TV. Upgrade to a Suite Room to enjoy the addition of an adjoining living room, wet bar and sofa bed. Pet-friendly rooms are available upon request. Rest easy at the Country Inn & Suites. Grab a free cookie and cup of coffee upon check-in and a book from the Read It & Return Lending Library. Complimentary hot breakfast is standard in the lobby each morning. A 24-hour Business Centre is located in the lobby for your convenience. A Fitness Centre, free parking and Coin Laundry are available. Eco-Friendly, rated with 3 Green Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Country Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Country Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing