We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing special but good.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A nice place to stay, it was fine and the staff was friendly. Close to the forks, parliament and the downtown area. Generally a good experience. The free breakfast was a nice addition as many hotels often don't have this option.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasktravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    169
    56
    22
    11
See reviews for
185
99
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I am an avid Nascar fan and wanted to watch the race Sunday, October 27. I checked three other hotels to see if they carried the channel and was promptly told "no". When I went into Country Inn & Suites the gal was more than cooperative and showed me the listings. I would have stayed there even if the race was not on because this gal was so helpful and did it all with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, BC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect having never stayed at a hotel near the Winnipeg airport before.

I was pleased to find that there wasn't any noise from planes during the night.

Even though I stayed on two different nights, my stays were short (12am to 6am) and therefore I didn't use the gym or other facilities.

When I first arrived I was pleasantly greeted by the night-shift clerk (Faith). She was quick and friendly as she handed me my pre-printed receipt (I paid online) and my pre-programmed room keys. Very nice not to have to wait and give tonnes of details before checking in.

I was also happy to see the free tea, coffee and cookies they have in the lobby 24/7. A nice cup of tea in the morning and at night really makes a big difference.

Unfortunately, once I left the lobby area (which is very clean, open and welcoming) I was able to see where the renovations stopped - the hallway. The carpets were visibly old, worn and dirty. The elevator up to my floor was reliable but it's older than me for sure. Upon arriving at my floor I noticed that it was in no better condition than the main floor. The hallway was clean but the dark brown doors, poor lighting and dirty carpet were less than welcoming. Some simple light upgrades would make a big difference here.

My room was much better - clearly an older building but it was well maintained. I didn't see any rust, odd stains, missing items, etc. I left my shoes on since I didn't trust the cleanliness of the carpet but the rest was all pretty good. I'll let the photos speak for themselves.

The bed was comfy and big, the room was quiet (as far as outside noise was concerned) and the climate control was easy to find. The chief complaint I have is the HVAC system. The air conditioner was extremely noisy and when I switched it to heat mode, it didn't improve the noise much. However, this is not the only hotel where I've experience that.

The TV(s) are nice, with Shaw cable providing a decent selection of channels.

In the morning I was able to enjoy a nice, well laid-out, plentiful continental breakfast. I runs 6am-9am in the lobby. There's make-your-own waffles (batter dispenser and waffle iron), several juices, milk, tea & coffee, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, cereal...a lot of options. I didn't leave hungry.

Checkout was even simpler - the clerk (Faith) actually brought me my checkout papers as I was eating breakfast so I didn't have to line up to get it.

Great service all around - I didn't meet a single staff member who gave me anything but excellent hospitality.

While the hotel could use some renovations it's definitely somewhere I'd considering staying again purely due to the great experience.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the single king room with a separate bedroom (I stayed in 218). It was much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eye4Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neepawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We always stay here in Winnipeg. The front desk staff is top notch (I forgot to use a discount coupon and the lady credited us on our next visit a couple months later! That is great service.) The rooms are always clean, the morning breakfast is great; more than fills us for the day. On weekdays it could last a hour later, though. Make sure you get a west facing room, as they are much quieter. The first floor rooms have the great feature of the outside door, which makes for much easier access. Wish they still had the free movies from the machine in the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose the west side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

When first seeing the hotel, and the industrial-type setting and cramped parking, I wondered if I had made a mistake in booking this hotel. It was really a pleasant surprise to have extremely friendly staff, a clean and very comfortable room, a great breakfast in the morning, a choice of free newspapers AND free internet for my laptop and our 2 tablets. Even though this is an "airport" location, it was easily accessible to downtown and to the stadium for the Paul McCartney concert (who really rocked, by the way). Recommended...a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This motel offers free breakfast that's pretty good, reasonable rates, spacious rooms, courteous, friendly staff. My only complaint was that the carpet was very worn and dirty, but they seem to be in the process of removing and replacing them. I would recommend this motel to all.

Room Tip: Spend the little bit extra and opt for a suite, it doesn't cost that much more and gives you ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NenaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently using our Club Carlson points. We had a queen room and I was very pleased with how clean the room was when we arrived. The beds were comfortable and overall the hotel was very quiet. We had seamless, efficient service on both check-in and check-out and the staff was friendly.
Two main downsides to this hotel: First, the overall look of the hotel is dated and doesn't give a great first impression...I was nervous (though pleasantly surprised!) about what our room would be like while checking in. Second, while having complimentary continental breakfast is a great feature, it ends early on weekdays (9 am) and we missed it since we had a very late flight arrival the night before. On holidays I don't want to have to set an alarm to make it to breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_in_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#28 of 63 in Winnipeg
158 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Address: 730 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#18 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Int’l Airport (1.2 km), the Country Inn & Suites is a short commute to major attractions: Winnipeg Art Gallery (4.8 km), Downtown – The Exchange District (6.7 km), Polo Park Centre (2.3 km), and the Farmer’s Market (7.9 km). With the Winnipeg prairie skies as your backdrop, 75 comfortable and spacious rooms feature a mini fridge, free WiFi, in-room coffee maker and flat-screen TV. Upgrade to a Suite Room to enjoy the addition of an adjoining living room, wet bar and sofa bed. Pet-friendly rooms are available upon request. Rest easy at the Country Inn & Suites. Grab a free cookie and cup of coffee upon check-in and a book from the Read It & Return Lending Library. Complimentary hot breakfast is standard in the lobby each morning. A 24-hour Business Centre is located in the lobby for your convenience. A Fitness Centre, free parking and Coin Laundry are available. Eco-Friendly, rated with 3 Green Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Country Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Country Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing