We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Winnipeg
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was very impressed with the cleanliness and appointment of the modern room I had on the eighth floor. Not much of a view. It's not necessarily the hotel's fault per se, but there is very little open after seven PM in terms of shops or stores near the hotel. It's right at portage and main, but this is Winnipeg and that's the kind of downtown you have here. My one major complaint however is with Internet connectivity. First, the hotel charges $25 a day which is outrageous and indefensible. You can get complimentary internet if you are a member of the President's club. However, despite a strong signal, the wifi pipe is so small the service was unusable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gone911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies for the weak wi-fi signal. We are currently working with our ownership group to improve the issue. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly at Pascale.rocher@fairmont.com.
Sincerely,
Pascale Rocher
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    244
    88
    48
    27
See reviews for
111
191
50
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here in June. Close to where we were going. Room was clean and everything was perfect. Doormen were very professional. Always there to get you a cab or arrange whatever you needed. Counter staff were very good. Great business hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Right at the crossroads of portage and main. Close to the arena as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It sounds like you have a wonderful visit during your recent business trip to Winnipeg. We are fortunate to have such a prime location in the city with direct access to several of the major meeting and convention sites.
Warm regards,
Pascale Rocher
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Housekeeping standards in my room and the general condition of the room left a lot to be desired.
I was very disappointed and this was certainly not what I expected from this leading hotel chain.

Unfortunately not HRH approved

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IsItHRHApproved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback in regards to our rooms. We are excited about our upcoming renovations and the improvements to our rooms. Please feel free to contact me directly at Pascale.rocher@fairmont.com when you next visit and I will be happy to discuss your concerns and ensure you have a comfortable stay.
Sincerely,
Pascale Rocher
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The staff of The Fairmont Winnipeg made our stay memorable. Don't miss out on dining at The Velvet Glove. Our meals there were wonderful and wait staff are amazing. We highly recommend this hotel!A+++++



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I’m delighted you an A+ experience! This is certainly what we aim to provide our guests.
Kind regards,
Pascale Rocher
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have to say this is the best hotel that my family has ever stayed at and we have travelled North America extensively. The staff are amazing from the valet, the front desk, the dining room, to the cleaning staff. We went to the Velvet Gove for lunch on Saturday afternoon and found it to be closed. Rather than eat in the lounge with my ten year old daughter, MARIA seated us in the restaurant and treated my daughter like a princess. It was our very own private dining room. The valets are friendly, happy, and know your name every single time! NEM is wonderful. He welcomed us with open arms - literally. I love the way you are made to feel special at The Fairmont Winnipeg. The rooms and pillows are amazing...great sleep.

Room Tip: !1th floor rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TdHCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We always enjoy hearing about unique experiences our guests have had at the hotel. Thank you for sharing this story and I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable lunch with your daughter, due in parts to the efforts of Maria. I will be certain to share these comments with the rest of our team.
Warm regards,
Pascale Rocher
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A great conference hotel and comfortable place to stay with the family. The view form the pool is great. The food at the restaurant was excellent but the breakfast was a little pricey. Great staff at the hotel more than make up for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on recent conference stay at the hotel. At The Fairmont Winnipeg it is our aim to provide warm, sincere and engaging service. I am delighted you were able to experience this service from our colleagues.
Warm regards,
Pascale Rocher
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
532 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Speaking at a conference there recently.

Had booked a Corner King room. Arrived, admittedly, early around 10.30 am on a Friday. None of those rooms available. Couldn't tell me when a room would be available because "Housekeeping doesn't like it when we pressure them. They've all been assigned their rooms ... " Very disappointing from a Fairmont to a President Club member. Ended up taking a regular room. It was OK nothing at all special. Furniture looked worn as did finishes though I was told it was a renovated room. Workspace was OK. As a President Club member I got free internet. Sleep was great, comfy bed, nice and quiet.

Meeting spaces were a disappointment although, again, apparently recently renovated. Couldn't find anyone to adjust the lighting. Need more fresh air.

Didn't get my promised paper in the morning ... probably because I had preregistered online for the King Corner and then they moved me. In-room dining for breakfast was great and the fellow who delivered went and got a Globe and Mail for me, apologizing for the mixup ... good recovery. The 2 eggs breakfast with breakfast potatoes, toast, coffee and juice was excellent, though pricey.

I was speaking all morning, past checkout, so decided to check out before 8. Couldn't get the TV checkout to work. Then happened to check email and spotted the "No time to check out? No worries." from the Fairmont. Pretty much one click checkout. Excellent. They promptly emailed the final invoice. Done. Great feature. One that more hotels should be using.

So, next time in Winnipeg, might go for the Fairmont again ... good central location right near the Exchange and the rest of Downtown. Though the Fort Garry has always been nice, and an easy walk to The Forks, and now the new Canadian Museum of Human Rights that opens Sept 2014.

Room Tip: Try for a King Corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TO_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry for the frustration you experienced during your check in and I will be following up internally to ensure this sort of experience does not occur again. Should your travels bring you to Winnipeg again, please contact me at Pascale.rocher@fairmont.com so I can ensure you stay is flawless.
Sincerely,
Pascale Rocher
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,073 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
759 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Winnipeg

Property: The Fairmont Winnipeg
Address: 2 Lombard Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#7 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Winnipeg 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Winnipeg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing