We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better properties in Winnipeg, Fairmont Standards are excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Winnipeg
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of the better properties in Winnipeg, Fairmont Standards are excellent”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Having stayed just one night at the Fairmont Winnipeg recently, however have frequently stayed at the Delta Winnipeg, I can compare them both.

Fairmont Winnipeg has a nice newer lobby, however was kinda unimpressed with the speed of check in for a Fairmont President's Club member, took around 7-10 mins. As a Delta Privilege member its always under 2 mins. The elevators are nicer at the Fairmont, though smaller, which would pose a problem on busy days with plenty of luggage.

I had a chance to try out the leisure center at the Fairmont. Gorgeous views up on the 21st floor, new gym equipment, nice salt water pool. Hot tub however was wayyyy too small, it only could fit about 3 people comfortably. The Delta Winnipeg has a massive health club, a hot tub for around 10-12 people and a massive lap pool.

Fairmont gets the nod on nicer rooms. Though from what I could see last time at the Delta Winnipeg, their rooms will be getting renovated. New LCD's are on the way according to management, a nice touch. Fairmont rooms are very nice though, new bathrooms and carpets, very nice.

Fairmont Winnipeg is an excellent location, but in terms of restaurants and such within walking distance somewhat lacking. The biggest annoyance that the Fairmont lacks is a convenience store or sundries stand, I wanted a chocolate bar, and was informed that the closest store to get it was 30 minutes walking away....a little silly in my opinion.

Overall, a very comfortable stay, no one should hesitate to stay at the Fairmont Winnipeg, its quiet, renovated, and a good option in Winnipeg, but could use some minor changes to be great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    255
    89
    48
    28
See reviews for
112
196
50
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I stayed there for only a night. They were nice to upgrade me to Gold service. The Gold lounge was great, with free coffee, tea, alcholic drinks, light refershments, etc. and there is a computer and a board room for use. Dave, the manager, game me a warm welcome and gave me a tour of the lounge. Great so far but...

There is no hot water in my room. I have to trun the tap on for over 15 minutes and the water then is a little warm. The sent an engineer to check it and admit they were having a problem. I was totally suprised that they did not offer to change room for me. I can't imagine the hotel being full in April.

Before you book this hotel, call and make sure they have hot water.....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drgmobile
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This hotel is nothing pretty to look at, with a typically 70s concrete design. Inside, the interior is generally quite nice although the public restrooms could use an upgrade. I had a nice Fairmont Gold room with a large bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Passing through Winnipeg with my girlfriend on a business trip, I wanted to take her somewhere nice ecause we were going to be there for her birthday. I didn't have the budget for The Mariaggi, which sounds amazing. I picked The Fairmont over the Fort Garry because The Fairmont listed a salt water pool, hot tub and steam room, and Fort Garry's spa is only accessible with treatment purchases.

The Fairmont was pretty nice, especially for the price. We got a Fairmont King suite, and the room and bed were nice. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is right next to a really busy highway onramp, and that is the main downside to the hotel, for me. On the way in we drove past the Fort Garry, which is really picturesque and quaintly located. So the irst appearance of The Fairmont was a let down, especially having seen the Fairmonts in Calgary and Edmonton, which look like castles perched on hillsides with beautiful views. However, I picked the Winnipeg Fairmont for the salt water pool and hot tub, and they didn't disappoint. The pool area is located on the top floor and has a broad view of the downtown area. The steam room is big and actually gets very hot and steamy, unlike many steam rooms. And the salt water pool and hot tub are excellent- indoo pools with no chlorine are a real luxury. There is also a very well appointed workout room. The lighting in the pool area ia a little bit outdated, but it's still nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would enjoy the swimming and spa amenities.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This hotel has to be one of the best that I have ever stayed at. The food and service was unbeatable. This was really true value for my money. And the hotel was very nice to the whole family and took them in open arms.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertaman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

However, there were a few 'surprises':

- 'Hair on my soap' www.thecynicalcustomer.com/2010/01/hair-on-my-soap-hotel-bathroom.html
-'Lipstick, ketchup or blood' www.thecynicalcustomer.com/2010/02/lipstick-ketchup-or-blood.html

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank the_cynical_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

All the staff I encountered at the Fairmont were very pleasant and obliging. Connection to the Main underground arcade means most downtown offices can be reached without facing Winnipeg's cold. Although the lobby and public areas are quite swish, the rooms are a real letdown. Even the vigilant housekeeping service cannot make up for the 80's decor. Think lots of brass and pastels. The bathrooms are particularly dated. The TV in my room was tiny and the cable reception was very poor. Many channels did not work at all and those that did were very fuzzy. The internet service was also problematic. In spite of the hotel's exemplary staff, I will be looking for alternatives next time I visit Winnipeg.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jer21xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Winnipeg

Property: The Fairmont Winnipeg
Address: 2 Lombard Pl, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#7 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Winnipeg 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Winnipeg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing