We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Mattress; Noisy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Winnipeg East
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Pros: updated decor compared to most hotels; very comfortable mattress; large flat screen TV; very friendly staff; mini fridge & microwave in room

Cons: not very soundproof - very noisy starting at 6am with all the doors banging in the hallway, we could always hear the hot water tank running, and it is located right next to a major highway and rail yard; tiny bathroom in our room; very confusing heater/air conditioner to figure out that was also loud

Over all would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8 Winnipeg East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

THANK YOU for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We very much appreciate it. We are pleased to hear you liked our comfy Mattresses and decor. I look forward to discussing the noise issues with our Maintenance team and hope you can trust we will resolve this issue as best we can. We look forward to seeing you again! :)
Theressa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Nichol W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8 Winnipeg East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8 Winnipeg East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I were very impressed wth the renovations that were done to the Super 8 Winnipeg hotel located on the highway just coming into the city. The rooms had been redocorated--everything modern. Beds were very comfortable. Keurig machine in room. The staff were excellent and very accommodating. I was going into the city for surgery from Northern Ontario. We got there a little early (before check-in time) and told them our purpose in wanting to check in early and they allowed us to check into our room early. We really appreciated that since we drove a long way. The cleaning staff were very accommodating as well when we requested a couple of extra things--blanket, pillow, extra coffees and facecloths. It was very quiet during my recuperation there. I had to spend several nights in the hotel after my surgery. The front staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the real cutlery and dishes used for the breakfast--a very nice touch. Overall, we would recommend this to anyone who wants a hotel and doesn't care if there is a pool or not. It was a great experience and one we will definitely repeat! I'm writing this as a business review--although it was medical-but no choice option for that.Thank you Super 8 for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable and we didn't have any complaint to make.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8 Winnipeg East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

I'm so glad you chose the Super 8 Winnipeg for recuperating in! Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay. We greatly value hearing from you.

I'm excited to hear that all of our staff were able to have such a positive impact on your time in Winnipeg. I'm also happy that our renovations helped make for an enjoyable stay. We will continue to improve upon our facility and staff to remain your choice of accommodations when in town.

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8 Winnipeg East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Robcyr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8 Winnipeg East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel, in town for a friends funeral. We only stayed 2 nights but the three front desk staff members that we met were unbelievably fantastic…..what an awesome group!! All very friendly and most helpful. When we arrived and one of our parties reservation was "missing", (booked through one of those pop-up generic web sites), the staff made a few phone calls and straightened it out ASAP. When we needed a printer and help with our lap top (because we are techno-challenged) they stepped up and helped us out. When we needed directions or info on area merchants they were happy to help us out. All done in a genuine friendly manner with smiles on their faces……not the typical indifference you get with a lot of hotel staff. In fact my wife and I were sitting in the "coffee room" off the entrance of the hotel, we were going over our speeches for the funeral the next day…..when Monique, the front desk attendant, was finishing her shift. On her way out she purposely came over and asked if we "needed anything else", said that "it was nice meeting us and hoped that we enjoyed our stay." Now she didn't know why we were in Winnipeg, but the fact that she went out of her way to acknowledge us in a friendly manner was really decent of her……she didn't just "bolt to the front door" as most staff people do when they finish their shifts. Its the little things like this that can make the difference in the overall experience and "memory" of a hotel……Its rare that you come across this "added touch" in customer service these days. As far as the rooms were concerned they were also quite decent. We knew we weren't staying at the Taj Mahal, but hey, the beds were comfy and the bathrooms were clean…..what more do you want! Breakfast provided was also decent……again here the staff was great at refilling items and keeping the eating area clean. For us the location was awesome too……easy to find, right off the Transcanada when travelling from the east heading into Winnipeg……no GPS needed, you can see the hotel right from the highway! As you can imagine, travelling out of town for a funeral is never easy, but we have to give a big shout out to Alan, Monique and Brittany (the front desk staff) for making a "rough trip" easier for us……thanks guys!!…..you deserve a raise….make sure your owner/manager reads this! Alan, I told you I was going to write Super8 corporate and tell them you deserve a raise…..and I'm doing it right now!! Thanks again guys!

Peter and Carol Macdonald
Thunder Bay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8 Winnipeg East, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

I can't express how proud I am to read reviews like this! Thank you so much.
Our goal here is to be the very best economy hotel in Winnipeg, and the surest way to achieve that goal is by having staff who create memorable stays. I am overjoyed that we were able to do just that for you during your trip here.
I'll be sure to pass on your encouraging words to Monique, Brittany, Alan and the rest of the team they represent.
We sincerely hope you'll visit us again under happier circumstances!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#2 of 63 in Winnipeg
229 reviews
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#26 of 63 in Winnipeg
740 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#25 of 63 in Winnipeg
514 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Winnipeg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Winnipeg East

Address: 1485 Niakwa Rd E, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 3T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#21 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: £51 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Winnipeg East 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest hotel in Winnipeg, Super 8 Winnipeg East is now officially re-opened! Come enjoy a swim in our beautiful pool, rest in one of our double pillow-top mattresses, entertain yourself with our 50" HD Smart TVs, and eat from our amazing selection in our SuperStart breakfast! Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Winnipeg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hotel Winnipeg
Super 8 Winnipeg
Winnipeg Super Eight
Winnipeg Super 8
Super Eight Winnipeg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing