We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, terrible location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed 15 September 2011

New, clean, quiet, helpful staff and great pool area. Location is pretty bad (train tracks and big box stores), but there is a shuttle that will take you downtown. Perfect location if you're in town for a Blue Bombers game. Rooms are nice but tight--good wifi, comfortable bed, great shower (no tubs!). I was there for a meeting, which was held at the hotel. The comp. breakfast was sufficient for a self-serve, but the catering for the meeting was pretty bad--strange pasta casseroles one day and limp sandwiches the next. And, while the pool area is pretty neat, with a great waterslide, the hot tub wasn't working. Wouldn't choose this hotel myself, due to location, but it was a comfortable stay. And since it's new, the prices are still rather good. Really close to airport--which is handy, but you don't get to enjoy the downtown charm of Winnipeg's boom-town architecture and regrowth.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rtw_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for your candid review, we were pleased to read that you stay was comfortable and enjoyable, and we have taken note of the constructive comments that you made.

We are finding more and more that our location is actually one of our strengths, being so close to an array of restaurants and Polo Park mall; as we are ideally situated between the airport and downtown, guests are never far from most destinations, and our 24hr shuttle will always be happy to take guests to their destinations.

Unfortunately the downtown area of Winnipeg is quickly becoming an area where travellers want to stay away from due to various social and economic problems, and Polo Park is rapidly becoming the new "downtown", until such a time as the city cleans up the downtown core.

Once again thank you for choosing Marriott for your recent stay, and for providing such honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is a fabulous hotel in every way. The front desk clerk Michelle was so nice and helpful and gave me a coupon to a really nice Chinese restaurant. The hotel is 3 months old and it's nice to be one of the first people to sleep on the new beds and use the new showers. The pool is fabulous, with fountains and a slide. Great breakfast, with do-it-yourself waffles. Highly recommend this property. There's a free 24 hr. shuttle that will take you and pick you up anywhere within a 5 km area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LivesInHotelsForWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

We are always pleased to hear that we have still got it right; such great comments, thank you for taking the time to tell our future guests what to expect!

Your comments have been passed along to Michelle and also our breakfast team, and although our breakfast is already very extensive, in October we will be introducing even more choice for our guests, as we are adding more hot items, and it will still be FREE!!!

Come back and see us again soon and experience the changes that are being introduced to add even more value to your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here two nights Thurs, Fri and received a weekend.

The rooms were very nice, clean and crisp looking with white duvets with lime green accents. We have a room with two queen beds but I found it odd that the room did not have a fridge or microwave though.

Pool area - The hotel was not near near capacity when we stayed so my two children 8 and 11 had an excellant time at the pool. My only issue would be if there were alot of families at the pool at one time. For the smaller children they have the walk in area, the vortex pool (spins you around like a whirlpool) could hold a family or two but you may feel uncomfortable being thrown against strangers! and if you didn't want to use the waterslide then there is not really enough area for you to hang out in the pool. The pool is shallow so it is good for smaller children and I'm sure they'd enjoy the fountains, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 309cjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review of our newly opened hotel, constructive comments are always welcome, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

As you experienced, our waterpark has been designed with younger children in mind to maximise their enjoyment and ensure their safety; we have been getting some wonderful comments in relation to the great fountains, waterfalls, lazy river and the waterslide, especially the beach access so that even infants can paddle around and have fun, all while being supervised by parents from the comfort of the hot tub!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Winnipeg, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were very impressed with both the service and the overall appearance of the hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and even helped provide recommendations for activities and places to see during our stay which proved to be places that we may not have chosen on our own but would have been a tragedy to miss.

The room (two queens) was clean, modern and trendy, with useful amenities like an ipod docking alarm clock and ample outlets. We were also impressed with the energy-saving measures we saw in the hotel like sensor lights that turn off in the elevators when it's not in use and low-flow toilets.We had a slight problem with a broken sink stopper upon arrival but called down to the desk before we left for aprox. half an hour and it was fixed before we got back.

The pool was a lot of fun with a waterslide even a few adults could have fun on. With a washroom and changeroom right off the pool area (great for kids), as well as a ramp into the pool, a whirpool and water-spraying towers which could be turned on (or left off) and a medium-sized hot-tub, it was a highlight of our stay.

Finally, the continental breakfast had one of the widest selections I've seen including fresh fruit, muffins, a cereal bar, Jimmy Dean Sandwiches (think egg mc muffin), make-your-own-waffles, hard-boiled eggs. The area you sit to eat is really comfy with padded chairs, tvs, etc. Besides that, there is free coffee available for guests in the lobby 24 hours a day - and it's actually really good coffee!!!!

It may not be right downtown, but is within a 10-15 minute drive to most tourist places (incl. downtown) and offers a free shuttle within a certain distance to the hotel.
Overall, an amazing stay, I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ms_Drivesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Wow, thank you for such a great review!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Winnipeg so much; we are very proud of our brand new hotel, and extremely pleased that you found our service and facilities so pleasurable.

I was sorry to hear that you had a small issue in your bathroom, however was also relieved to see that it was fixed quickly without any drama.

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Winnipeg soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We normally do not stay at the Fairfield level hotels in the Marriott Chain as they do not have all the ammenites we are looking for. This hotel more than met our expectations, it was brand new, clean and nicely furnished. The staff were excellent, breakfast more than adequate for an included feature. We had a Queen suite for family - and a King bedroom - both very nice. Bathrooms had good lighting, nicely finished and a great shower in the King room.
We stayed for two weekend nights and were able to secure an excellent rate.
For anyone with children the pool was great - especially if you have young children, as they can play in a safe shallow, walk in end. Small waterslide for the older ones.
Located close to Mall, other shopping and Assiniboine Park.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Calder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation of our hotel, everyone involved is always very appreciative of such great feedback. As manager of such a great team, I am humbled by the pride that the staff and owners of the hotel put into every aspect of the hotel.

We are all so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to Winnipeg soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My business requires a lot of travel and I prefer to stay in Marriott brand hotels. I am usually rewarded for my loyalty of staying in these hotels for more than 70+ nights a year by getting my frequent traveler requests met. I don't ask for much, just a high floor for safety and a fridge so I don't have to eat all meals out alone in unfamiliar and sometimes unsafe places. I made this reservation 4 months ago for a King bed Ron with a "city view" and when I arrived I was given a 2nd floor (of 6 floors) room next to the elevator, facing/next to the railroad tracks and since it was a handicap accessible room the bathroom was large and the bedroom was small. I asked to be relocated and was told that "ALL other hotel guests have been here for days, all rooms are occupied and we are sold out. Amazingly, when I went online at 6pm I was able to get a reservation for the night...hmmm mm.
While I do not have an issue with getting any room that is advertised I do not appreciate bad customer service and inaccurate/untrue information.
I spoke with the manager and he said he could not do anything. I asked for a fridge for the room (which comes standard in most rooms I have stayed in Marriott chains) and i was granted the request but was charged a rental fee. If I was not loyal to the brand I would have left and found a Hilton or any other hotel/motel in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a candid review of the disappointing experience that you encountered on your first visit to our hotel; I can assure you that we in no way take your comments lightly, and each aspect of your feedback has been discussed at length with our team.

Unfortunately, on the evening you arrived, as I discussed with you, we were 100% full and had also been the evening prior; thus all of our higher floor rooms were already occupied. If you managed to find a room still available for sale then it certainly would have been one of our ground floor rooms.

We always strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests, and pay special attention to those of our loyal Platinum Reward members, and where possible upgrades are always given. However, on this one occassion we could only offer the room type that was booked, and was disappointed to note that you declined a move to a room more suited to your requirements the following day.

We take pride in our high levels of customer service, and if you felt offended that we could not provide facilities above and beyond those which you booked, then I can assure you that this was not our intention, and offer my apologies. Marriott Hotels sincerely appreciate the loyalty that you have shown our company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of July... This is a brand new hotel (IE: opened in May of 2011).

Rooms (Both a double queen suite and regular double queen room): Beautifully appointed, comfortable beds, nice flat screen tv's, ipod docking radio... Large, well light bathroom and excellent heating/cooling system. Not a spot of dirt (as should be expected...) Kind of wondered if anyone else had stayed in that room yet. Not allr ooms had refrigerators yet as the shipment apparently hadn't come in, but wasn't a big deal. Free hi-speed internet worked well, and free parking.

Pool: The pool area itself is more of a mini-waterpark than pool. It has a 2 story enclosed waterslide, vortex pool (the kind that sweeps you around and around) and a couple of those tall water spraying structures (see picture). If you're looking to do laps for excercise, it won't happen... But for the kids it is great. There's also a medium sized hot-tub.

Breakfast (Free Continental): Wide selection of food, including FRESH fruit, make-your-own waffle station and the usual bagals/cereal selections... They also had pre-made Jimmy Bean breakfast sandwiches! (Kind of like egg/sausage mcmuffins from McDonalds)... Overall, very nice!

Area: The hotel is right across from the Cabela's store, behind Polo Park, or about 3 blocks from the football stadium... Multiple restaurants in walking distance.

Workout Room: Excellent! Clean and comfortable... Personal tv's for each treadmill/work out area... Steralized cleaning cloths and water/sweat towels on hand. Bright and clean. 2 thumbs up!

Service: ALL hotel staff from the front desk folk to the cleaners to the breakfast lady were very accomodating and welcoming. They had a brief power interuption for about an hour in the afternoon of our stay, and everyone in the hotel was advised prior (they were doing some electrical work)

Overall, a very positive experience in a beautiful hotel! *two thumbs up*

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Azarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Such an extensive review! Thank you!

We are all very pleased to hear your feedback and read that you enjoyed your time in Winnipeg so much. Our staff have all read your comments, they were such a great moral booster for everyone. When you open a new property you never know if you have got things right, and having read your comments, I feel that we may just have done that!

Thank you again, and please come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#28 of 64 in Winnipeg
161 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg

Address: 1301 Ellice Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 0N5, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range: £84 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Winnipeg is Manitoba’s first Marriott-branded hotel, featuring 171 generously sized guest rooms and suites. Conveniently located a short distance to Winnipeg International Airport and Winnipeg’s downtown business, sports and entertainment district. On site amenities include complimentary hot buffet breakfast, complimentary shuttle service, complimentary self-parking, and complimentary Wi-Fi. All guests have access to the business centre, walk-in pool with waterslide and whirlpool and a modern fitness centre. All guestrooms are equipped with a fridge and microwave, making this Winnipeg hotel perfect for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing