We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Room Fiasco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Southington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Complete Room Fiasco”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It's a nice hotel, not far from the airport and near several restaurants and a major mall. But my experience actually getting into a room without issues was beyond belief. I checked in and went out for dinner. Upon my return, I turned on the TV to discover that only 5 channels were functioning. Called the front desk and they sent the maintenance person up there who didn't speak more than 5 words of English. He couldn't fix the problem and said "We replace TV tomorrow." That was an unacceptable response as it was no later than 9 or 10 pm. The front desk sent me to a different room, and in this one, the TV didn't work at all! Back for a third try. My third room was located next to an elevator (I specifically said keep me away from the elevator) and several kids were running up and down the corridor unsupervised. One of the front desk people who had gone up there with me told the kids to go back to their room which led me to believe they were hotel residents. The fourth try was the charm. I got a room that had functioning utilities. Hooray for me!!!

The front desk people were extremely apologetic. I dealt with a lady from England who did everything she could to fix the situation. Told me they were having trouble with the cable TV service in several rooms. It was just a crazy atmosphere -- there was a large musical group staying there and literally dozens of kids. As mentioned, many were running the halls. Made for a miserable arrival.

Upon checkout, I received a paper asking if everything was OK, and if not, could I please talk to the front desk before departure. I did so and the front desk person listened to my concerns. She gave me her email and said I'd get a free night's stay upon my next visit. But after such a miserable experience just trying to watch TV in a quiet room -- something you take for granted in a hotel -- why would I ever go back to this property?

Room Tip: Higher the better .. on one side you get a view of downtown Winnipeg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Hoosier,
Greetings from Fairfield Inn & Suites!!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory as our guests’ feedback and comfort is highly valued.


We are currently conducting a building wide project to fix any short comings as we always want our rooms to be immaculate and everything in the room to be in working condition.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
Patrick Martis
Hotel Manager
pmartis@fairfieldinnwinnipeg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    121
    57
    17
    10
See reviews for
119
58
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I regularly stay at this property while in the city on business. The location is close to the airport, large shopping mall, restaurants, bars etc. The complimentary hot/cold breakfast is one of the better ones I have found in my travels and the room rates are reasonable. Parking is included and they have a complimentary shuttle to/from the airport as well to the shopping mall etc. The Hotel has just expanded their room capacity which shows they must be doing something right! Marriott Rewards loyalty program is one of the better programs as well! See you next Wednesday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packfanq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

First time at the hotel with myself and my two children . The staff were excellent , very accommodating and helpful . The water slide made us all nauseous , for us it was just too much and the chlorine was more than I have ever experienced . My children's face were red and our eyes burned horribly .
The breakfast was decent but definitely needs a second waffle iron, waits were too long . Good experience overall . Hot tub was too hot to use but staff was there to get it fixed and was very friendly and kind . Clean Clean hotel

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Raecheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

It is evident that a lot of thought went into layout and design of this facility. Rooms are good size, bed very comfortable. Amazing FREE breakfast. Staff friendly and courteous. It was clear staff take pride in their work, the place was spotless. Did not go in pool but it appeared to be a hit with the kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel in the past and it has been pretty good. We did encounter a couple of issues this time. The heater cover was loose and falling off. We called and it was fixed, but it must have been noticeable to the cleaning staff. The hot tub element was not working and the foam in the tub was probably 3 inches thick. The wall near the entrance of the room was quite dirty. I had booked the deal with the 25 dollar gas card and on checking in, was told that it would be made available on checkout.....kinda strange, as any other hotel incentive I have received was given at check in. Long story short, after waiting 25 min or so to try to get the gas card at checkout time ( they could not get into the safety deposit box where they kept them) I was told that I would receive a 25 dollar credit on my room.....didn't happen. Luckily I had asked for an e-mail receipt that arrived 2 days later, and NO CREDIT. I had to call back to the hotel and at this time I am waiting to see if the credit will be applied to my Card. This hotel is not cheap, and I have not stayed at it for the last year or so because of construction nearby, but I have seen a definite downturn since my last stay. With so many new hotels in the area, I would suggest trying another one. It is a fairly new place, but is prematurely showing its age.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeavyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Overall, we were happy when we stayed here..its a clean hotel that offers delicious free hot breakfast. Nice spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Lovely pool area for kids. Free shuttle service within 5km of hotel..would come back next time :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audiodrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a quick business trip to Winnipeg. It is obvious that construction is still taking place in parts of the hotel and so you have to deal with that.

My room was very clean and comfortable. It included a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tv, nice desk chair and excellent wifi. Front desk staff were helpful and bill was under my door when I woke up. The breakfast was average and the coffee was okay.

My experience was the staff were eager to serve and working at getting everything up and running smoothly. I would have rated the hotel higher if the construction was finished and I did have a glitch with the tv.

I don't think you can go wrong staying at this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ottawaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#21 of 63 in Winnipeg
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg
Address: 1301 Ellice Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 0N5, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Winnipeg is Manitoba’s first Marriott-branded hotel, featuring 171 generously sized guest rooms and suites. Conveniently located a short distance to Winnipeg International Airport and Winnipeg’s downtown business, sports and entertainment district. On site amenities include complimentary hot buffet breakfast, complimentary shuttle service, complimentary self-parking, and complimentary Wi-Fi. All guests have access to the business centre, walk-in pool with waterslide and whirlpool and a modern fitness centre. All guestrooms are equipped with a fridge and microwave, making this Winnipeg hotel perfect for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing