We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened??”
Review of Cafe 22

Cafe 22
Ranked #368 of 1,641 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Also called Pizza Hotline
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What happened??”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I agree with all. This has gone from my most favorite place in the world to my worst overnight. It was a cozy, quiet, comfortable bistro with good food, good service and reasonably priced wine. Now the food is mediocre at best (hate the new menu), 2 glasses of wine cost me $30.00, music was loud (what happened to cozy?), service was poor -and what is it with those poor servers having to wear those short tight black dresses? I am telling everyone I know who used to love this place- keep on walking down Corydon- there are a lot better options, better food and better prices just a few steps away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Used to love it - Not going back”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just like flutterby09, we were regulars for years and years. We took all our friends and family. According to the waitress, there is a new chef behind the new menu and new wine list. Only personal-size pizzas now. No more 15-inch. HUGE price jump in the wine because there are no half-liters of house wine any more. The every-topping pizza had one third as many toppings as before. The thin crust wasn't as thin. The pizza tasted very salty and greasy, and the tomato sauce was unpleasantly strong. Too much crust and not enough pizza. The total bill for pizza and wine cost us $20 more than it used to. About 50% more. The waitress was very pleasant. We asked her if a lot of people were complaining about the changes. We weren't surprised with her answer. It used to be a great little restaurant...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lolita a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Upscale changes, are not acceptable”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had been regular customers to Café 22, for over 4 years. But in the middle of May, the management has made some very drastic changes. This was a casual dining spot, where one could build their own pizza, and have a glass of house wine without breaking the bank. Not so anymore, no more building your own pizza, and definitely no more house wine. Then along with the changes in the menu, they have made changes with the serving plates and glasses for beverages. When I finally did get a glass for my beer, it was a stem less wine glass! The pizzas are served on a circular stone platter, without a "lifter". We asked for something to take the pizza from the serving dish onto our plates, and the waitress said that they didn't have anything!!! Too, bad, for the changes, because we used to enjoy our casual evenings on Corydon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flutterby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Place”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The waitresses were too rude. We were waiting for 30 minutes in front of the door for an empty table. Nobody even came to check on us or say Welcome.
Also, I tried to talk to the manager. She refused to tell me her name. I think other servants were calling her “Meghan”. Anyhow, she was too impolite. She did not know that she has no right to talk back and argue with the costumers. The food also was terrible.
Never go there. NEVER!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great veggie pizza”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is our Favourite place from which to get pizza delivered. The thin crust tomato, mushroom, onion and extra cheese is to die for!! We ordered salad once but won't do that again, just lettuce and a couple hard to find tomatoes. In the summer we like to sit on the patio, pretty cramped but who doesn't like to sit on Corydon Ave.? We have eaten in but don't like the dark atmosphere and too closely set tables. But the pizza! we always go back for the veggie pizza!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne12397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 22 also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Cafe 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing