We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family rv resort”

Sandy Hook RV Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winnipeg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Hook RV Resort
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been at this resort for over ten years and have found Management are striving to always improve services and facilities at this park. We also find Management very friendly and helpful. From our experience when we required major assistance in moving and repositioning our RV, Management willingly came with the needed heavy equipment to do the job and spent many hours helping us.
This park is very family oriented. It was only a few years ago that Management built a new heavy wooden play stucture for the children. There is also a soccer pitch for the kids at the front of the park. The pool is very well maintained and geared toward the children. What more can you ask for. Many activities are planned for both the children and adults.
Child safety is a priority at this park. There are security gates to prevent random traffic from entering the park and endangering the children. Speed bumps are also an asset at this park to ensure drivers maintain slow speed as the children are everywhere.
Please ignore any negative reviews about this park as party goers and rule breakers can always go somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Hook RV Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This will be our fourth year as a seasonal resident at Sandy Hook RV Park. The gated entrance and vehicle restriction to residents only and the low speed limit gives us as grandparent’s peace of mind, knowing that our grandchildren (3 to 12 years) are free to cycle, play chase etc and move around the whole site freely. Residents are extremely friendly, helpful and keep an eye on the safety of all.
The treed lots come in various sizes, fully serviced, reasonably priced with ongoing upgrades. Play area, heated pool, volleyball and kid’s football area. Most weekends have entertainment such as Bandt Fireworks, Annual Golf Tournament and Pig Roast (dinner), Kids Weekend, Banjo Bowl and a favorite with all is Halloween in the Park.
The usual campsite regulations are no different than Provincial or any other campsite and are enforced. Just south of the park is Winnipeg Beach, Gimli to the north, which has a hospital and main name stores.
Come have a look, it takes us 1hr 15min from the south side of the city and believe me, if it wasn’t good, we would not be here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Davmar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

One of the best places. A safe place to bring your children. A perfect place to plan your next get away. The people that you meet there will not just be your friends, but by the end of your stay you will consider them to be your lake family.A place that you will miss every winter and count down to get back to. The beautiful relaxing surroundings, children's games and movies in the park, live music, Bomber games in the park and fireworks are some of the activities that are organized every season. The volleyball games and the pool are wonderful ways to enjoy yourself too. I truly miss it there. If you get the chance, I would highly recommend that you check it out.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GRuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have been coming to Sandy Hook RV resort for many years. I am still amazed by the wonderful group of people who continue to spend their summers here, year after year. You will find young families with small children enjoying many activities in the area but especially the park, the pool and the gated security that ensures no racing cars will be coming through the park. You will find families with teenagers that are playing volleyball or throwing footballs around and spending time at the near by beach and arcade. You will find those that have finished raising their children and are just relaxing...walking with their dogs, visiting with their neighbors, golfing at the near by golf course and enjoying sunsets on the pier down the street. Its peaceful, the lots are private and lots of trees. It is a paradise away from the city.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
11  Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a great family orientated park with some residents calling this place home for over 30 years with a mix of young and old, couples and families. The park is a very safe and secure place for kids to play. They have regular activities such as a kids carnival, golf tourney, fireworks just to name a few. There is a pool that is cleaned daily the park is kept neat and tidy. Like any campground or RV park there are rules, but these are no different then what you would see in a provincial park so if you are looking for a party atmosphere this isn't the place.

There are plenty of sights to see in and around Sandy Hook/Winnipeg Beach, Gimli is only 10min away, lots of beaches, golf and restaurants.

Sandy Hook RV Resort is worth the stay, whether it's a night, a weekend or as a long term resident. The people here are friendly and always willing to lend a hand, not sure if you could find a better atmosphere to spend your summers.

We are happy to be apart of this community!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shaggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Sandy Hook RV Resort, Where do I start; if you are thinking of going here, I would do your self a favor and spend your hard earned money somewhere else. I have never seen owes of a business treat people so disrespectful (especially if you’re a women) the things I have seen, as well as herd, make me want to throw up. They deactivate your card when you have broken there rules to make you go find them to figure out why your card isn't working. Just so they can give you the how to, what not for finger. Like really are we 2? The campers are friendly, but the owners need to learn how to treat humans.

They say as per there web site they are members of the Manitoba Associations of Campgrounds & Parks (MACAP). If you go on MACAPs web site you will find this to be false. If they can’t tell the truth on there website, what else are they lying about?

Camping is to be a family activity, but here there fees are based on a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children. That meaning if you have 3 or 4 kids you will have to pay an extra $100 per child for the year, as that can really hurt a lot of families to have to come up with an extra $100 to $200 on top of there yearly fees. It almost seems you’re getting punished for having a large family. It’s kind of sad, apically when blended families are becoming more common these days. This campground also charges there guest to stay the night. I visit friends in other campground and stay the night for free, so I find this not to be a normal practice but a money grab for the owners.

The owners want you to have newer trailers and have nice lots witch is a good thing to make the park look nice, but when the public restrooms are grouse and paint falling of the door, as well as the kids play ground not maintained. I find it unfair to the people that are spending there hard earned money to make there lots look good and you don’t even own it.

There is a culvert on the road that has metal showing with a hole in it for the last couple of years that has not been fix, just waiting for some little kid to get there foot or whatever caught in it and possibly causing a serious injury.I look at this every time I visit.

I think you get the point. If you want a place where you can have fun, and don't have to worried about wondering if your card will work to enter the park, thinking I wonder if i did something wrong, go somewhere else as Manitoba has plenty of wonderful campgrounds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WinnipegWinters219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The 2011 year was Well traveled this year and spent a lot of time enjoying the spring and summer now its time to write reviews.
The rv park that I'm writing about today is sandy hook rv camp and resort.
My first impression I got was turning off the hi way and going,"this look like its going to be a one nighter stay",but man was I wrong,I loved the gate entrance,the office was well organized and the manager"lady" is very well versed in the knowledge of true camp fever,she impressed me. this is a fully treed camp ground with power water and sewer,trails run thru out the camp,leading to different areas"a hidden adventure".
The activities are wonderful,halloween at a decent time for the kids as well as live entertainment,seasonal people that I talked too loved the atmosphere and continue enjoying the peace full surroundings,you can actually feel a presents of "family"in the air.
People in this resort are very out going,a smile at every turn of a bush,and if you get lost you can ask with out feeling bad."Then they invite you in for a drink or two"and then send you on your way.
This resort was a true surprise and a joy to stay at,I can see why they have a wait list to get in for seasonal spots,fyi I put my name down.
You won't be disappointed. Tips his hat off at sandy hook.

20  Thank truthshallsetufree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnipeg
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#1 of 64 in Winnipeg
188 reviews
Park West Inn
#54 of 64 in Winnipeg
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Hook RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Hook RV Resort

Address: | Sandy Hook, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Winnipeg
Number of rooms: 240

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing