We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Wedding Venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding Venue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our daughter's wedding was this past weekend in the Manitoba Room. We couldn't have asked for better service. Charlene (Director of Sales and Marketing) made sure all our needs were met. The staff helped us set up all our rented decorations; we could have never tied all those chair bows as beautifully as they did. They also set up our candy buffet and the back drop behind the head table. They made sure everything was beautiful. The food was also excellent. We had many comments from our guests on how good everything tasted. The bar tenders were very efficient and worked through the line ups very quickly. Staff members were always around throughout the evening, but never hovering. We really appreciated that the Clarion staff helped us pack up and stored all our rented items until we could pick them up to return them. Many of my family members stayed at the hotel and enjoyed their stay. They loved the fact that they could park their cars and walk over to the mall, and that their children could swim in the pool while they were shopping. A great wedding and an excellent weekend for all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlene00059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Darlene, Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review regarding your experience here at the Clarion! We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations! We take direction from our clients and handle all of the details for you.....from the set up to the decor....from the service to the food...we handle it all with an exceptional attention to detail! We want our clients to show up and enjoy their day...rather than worrying about setup and decor. We take great pride in the quality of our food and service and we are ecstatic to hear that you and your guests noticed our hard work. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and management! We do hope that you will think of us again for any future events that you may be planning! Our Sales Department, with decades of experience, would love the opportunity to work with you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    109
    42
    36
    31
See reviews for
136
61
19
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed one night for my daughters birthday. She had a few friends come swim, staff made us almost feel uncomfortable during check in. I was looking for a bit more fun/ energy - feeling like the staff prefers adult guests. My kids ( including 3 friends) are very well behaved with obvious party gifts/ balloons and cake in hand staff did not as much as acknowledge them or offer a "Have Fun" - Happy Birthday :(
We reserved a standard room.The room was clean a bit small and beds were not the most comfortable but acceptable.
The pool area had towels outside the pool entrance with numerous scattered shoes everywhere. The pool is beautiful with the waterfall and slide was great fun. They have a " spa area" that pool and hotel guests are Not Permitted to Use but is rite there. I feel if they do not want hotel guests to enjoy the salt water tub they should have an entrance only accessible threw the spa ( which is rite outside the pool doors )
Overall an ok stay - not where I would take my family again - maybe as a business stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Denise, Our sincere apologies regarding your recent stay with us! We are so surprised to hear of your experience as we are known for our spacious guestrooms, comfortable beds and friendly and courteous staff. I will be sure to bring your concerns regarding the service you received up with our front desk manager. Please note that our hotel does have a strict policy regarding Birthday Parties in our guestrooms....we do not allow them. This is primarily due to the fact that the guestrooms end up taking quite a beating...such as cake and icing in the carpet and in the bedding. We appreciate the fact that you loved the waterpark! We do want to let you know that our hotel guests do indeed have access to the mineral pool which is why there is an entrance to it from the pool. Guests can purchase access to that area for a minimal fee upon check in and are welcome to enjoy that aspect of the spa. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we do apologize for your experience. We appreciate the fact that you are willing to give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Renovations being done at present but this did not affect our stay. . Rooms are spacious and have wonderfully, comfortable beds. Very clean rooms, very friendly helpful staff and the location is right beside Polo Park. What more could you ask for!

Room Tip: We were in an inside room facing the pool. It was very quiet. However if you prefer some fresh air y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynjolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate the fact that you took the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us! You are correct, we are currently in the process of completing full renovations of the hotel. The guest rooms, the lobby, the parkade, the spa, the meeting space....all on our renovations list. Of course we will do our very best to ensure that this does not cause our guests any discomfort during their stay. We are so excited about what is to come and we know these changes will take us to the next level! Thank you also for mentioning our prime location and our friendly and courteous staff.....we want you to feel at home on each and every one of your stays with us. We look forward to Welcoming you back on your next visit to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Clarion Hotel WPG is an amazing place to stay...... I stay there often because the staff are awesome, rooms clean and quiet and the beds are extremely comfy. Close to shopping, ciniplex, airport, and a ton of restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Not to mention the Pancake House attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeTur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for posting your review. We know that our friendly and courteous service is one of the main reasons why people such as yourself continue to stay with us on an ongoing basis. We are conveniently located as mentioned in your review and we too feel that we are the perfect place to stay while visiting Winnipeg. We look forward to Welcoming to you back on your next visit to the PEG!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Indian Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

As soon as you enter the Clarion Hotel, the first thing you notice is the open plan lounge across from the check-in desk. Its airy and inviting with comfortable couches, bar stools and friendly staff. The desk staff are equally welcoming and check-in is completely painless. The room I had was well appointed with a large desk, queen size beds, HDTV, coffee maker, complimentary packs of coffee, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was spotless with sampler size products of shampoo, conditioner, shoe shiner, and body lotion.
The waterpark complete with hot tub is a welcome amenity for adults and children alike. Spa packages with pretty much any spa type service you may desire are available at reasonable rates. All in all I had a spa-lendid stay at the Clarion Hotel in Winnipeg conveniently located across the street from one of Winnipeg's oldest and largest shopping malls, Polo Park. Handy if are car-less and want to avoid hefty taxi fares.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north away from Portage Avenue are quiter but the southfacing rooms are fine as well. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Jim, Thank you so much for taking a moment to post your review. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us! You obviously had an opportunity to try a few our amenities while you were here such as the spa and the waterpark. We appreciate the fact that you mentioned the friendly and courteous service that our staff provided and we will be sure to pass your sentiments onto them. Once again, Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again one day very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at the Clarion last weekend with my 16 year old granddaughter, Chalsey, and her friend Jessica. The whole trip was amazing from start to finish! The desk staff were extremely professional and accommodating. Melanie went the extra mile to accommodate my disabilities, and I can't even begin to tell you how much I appreciated her kindness. The room was one of the nicest that I've seen. It was extremely comfortable; so much so that I wanted to take the bed & pillow home with me! We ordered room service twice and it exceeded our expectations both times. The girls made full use of the spa services, as well as using the pool and mineral spa. They were delighted with the experience and are already asking to go back. A wonderful weekend in beautiful surroundings with friendly and helpful staff members! What more could you ask for? Definitely 5 stars from me!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive King Suite on the main floor immediately past the desk. It was spacious, q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Tannis, Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We sincerely appreciate the fact the you noted the quality of service provided, along with the clean and comfortable guestrooms. We are so lucky to have such a fabulous spa and mineral pool on site for our guests convenience. We are about to begin full renovations of the hotel in January and if you think we are amazing now...just wait until you see the finished product! We are so excited for what is about to come.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your family back one day very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at the Carion with my husband when he had meetings there. It was one of our best hotel stays ever! The staff are friendly and helpful, the room is clean and comfortable (my husband wanted to steal the bed!) We ordered room service in the morning, and it was fast, fresh and delicious...very very good job!

My husband also said the meeting he attended was well serviced, clean and the staff were all helpful and courtious. There was a young man who was off shift and he STILL helped me with our valet partking and taking our bags to our room. We recommend the Carion, and will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glorian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Glorian, The Clarion sincerely appreciates the time you took to post a review...it makes all of our hard work seem more worth while! You mentioned all of the things that we are proud to offer...a great location, clean and comfortable guestrooms and above all friendly and courteous service! I will be sure to pass your sentiments on to all departments! We so look forward to Welcoming you back to the Clarion one day very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#22 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Property: Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Address: 1445 Portage Ave | Winnipeg Airport / Polo Park, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Winnipeg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get together….reconnect….relax and explore at the Clarion!The Clarion Hotel & Suites is nestled in the hub of Winnipeg’s business, shopping and entertainment district. The Clarion features 139 world class, spacious accommodations, ranging from business suites to family guestrooms, including accessible and pet friendly rooms. Our business suites are considered some of the largest in the city and range from 500 to 800 square feet and feature French glass double sliding doors, a family room, a King size bed, a pull out sofa bed, and a granite wet bar. We also offer family guestrooms which contain two queen size beds, as well as adjoining guestrooms to accommodate every need. Stay with us in any room type and enjoy complimentary parking, local calls, wireless high speed internet, airport shuttle, mini fridge and microwave, iron, ironing board, in room coffee and tea, hair dryer and full length mirror. We also offer complimentary access to our 24 hour state of the art fitness centre, 24 hour business centre and family water park, which is complete with a 2 story waterslide, hot tub, kiddie pool and rock wall with cascading waterfall, which is yours to enjoy from 9AM to 10PM daily. We are located minutes just away from the James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and the downtown centre, and steps away from Winnipeg’s largest shopping mall, Polo Park, SilverCity Cinema’s and numerous restaurants such as the Original Pancake House, Joey, Earls, Moxie’s Classic Grill, Red Lobster Seafood, Olive Garden Italian, Montana’s Cookhouse, Tony Roma’s Steakhouse, Ray and Jerry’s and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winnipeg
Winnipeg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing