We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manitoba Museum

Manitoba Museum
Ranked #6 of 183 things to do in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum provides ­a unique journey through the province of Manitoba, the world and the universe. Explore diverse ecological environments and blast off on an interactive tour of the current night sky.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pretty interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've been to several natural history museums. This was pretty good. I wish we had a little more time to spend because the majority of the museum is about natural history and the end is about human history (which I find more interesting). I could park for only 2 hours so we had to leave early. We probably could've spent 3 hours there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreatLakesTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    152
    37
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The only thing I dislike is the parking, its hard tk get to and doesnt take visa/debit cards. We love the big ship and even come in twice a year and the kids never get bored of the displays

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Magnificet Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our favorite things to do when traveling is not shopping or dining, but visiting local museums. The Manitoba Museum was very interesting and in some cases, eye opening. It is very well organized in that going from section to section made a lot of historic sense. The displays and exhibits were very well presented and the explanations were very complete while still being concise. There is a good mixture of historical and biological exhibits, but the most impressive is a full size sailing ship that is so large and complete that they built the ship beside the museum and then built the room around it. It was made by hand by craftsman in the exact same building techniques of the era. You can enter the ship and walk around on it. This is a great museum that would be enjoyed by any age level.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great museum to visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've been to Winnipeg on a multiple trips and was taken to this museum during one of our stays. This museum is amazing! Just getting the history of Manitoba is worth the price of admission. We've been to a few museums in the U.S., but this was the first one that lets you interact with a lot of the exhibits (i.e. walking onto the ship and exploring). It was only us adults that went during this visit, but I would definitely come back here when in Winnipeg again and bring our kids, I know they would love it and we would get to see it through their eyes this time. A definite must see if you are visiting in Winnipeg!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great introduction of Manitoba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great and interesting exhibits in the museum. Showcase history of Manitoba. Has a big replica of a ship. Museum is not that big. About 2 hours to fully walk though all the exhibits and read all the information.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahber79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manitoba Museum also viewed

 

Been to Manitoba Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing